Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Super missile controle deluxe

by grifdail - Jam Entry

Hi everyone
-----------

Here is super Missile Controle Deluxe, a game where you will control a ... you guessed it... missile.

Use the arrow key to move arroud and space to shoot.

Saddly I did'nt had a lot of time for this ludum dare (I could'nt code on sunday and most of my saturday, this is pretty much a jam entry, with less time than a compo's one) but i was able to make this cool prototype based on the raycast engine i was working on.
Right now, the game still need a lot of things (more feedback, more graphics, more gameplay situation, juicyness) but i wanted to finish something for the jam so I could get feedback. Should I continue working on that ? I think the concept is really cool.

I also used Kenney CC0 assets, mostly because of the time limit.

I'll hope you'll have fun.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness67%
#561Innovation(Jam)3.03
#760Fun(Jam)2.69
#817Mood(Jam)2.61
#826Overall(Jam)2.84
#885Theme(Jam)2.69

Comments

Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:41am

The controls are quite fast. Second missile was very hard. Nice concept though

gatinmnsok says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:42am

The concept is indeed quite interesting, maybe make it only possible to move by shooting (not with up arrow).
Considering the time spent I think it looks very good.
I would suggest to skip the first level, there is not really anything to do there now.

grifdail says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:29am

Thank you very much for the usefull and constructive feedback @gatinmnsok !

trappytrap92 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:55pm

Nice idea, hard, fast and old style! Love it, the only thing i missed is a little music on the background. Good job!

MaesK says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:58pm

Nice idea, looks like a mix of Wolfenstein with Metal Gear Solid's Nikita weapon. It was hard, but interesting, good work.

adsilcott says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:02pm

I played all the way through and I would have played more. :)
Very fun and cool!

BabaJaga says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:10pm

kudos to your engine, most webgl entries are either laggy or make a frying pan out of my notebook, this feels like a native application.

I would criticise not having different soundeffects for good vs wrong hit, but it boils down to your lack of time for your entry. It's ironic, because of lack of any tutorial, you have to explore the world around and learn how it works yourself. It's really intuitive and I like that much better than reading some wall of text explaining it.

Anyway I'm rating this as I would rate a compo entry

leo_p_mahon says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:23pm

Interesting concept, I didn't quite realize what was happening when I fired the missile for the first time, maybe an overlay on the screen? But I guess I should have worked it out from the title! I would love to see an expansion of this idea.

camlang says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:23pm

I think it would have been better to destroy something (hey, you're a missle right?) not just hit the switches. But anyway nice little game considering the time spent.

Diventurer says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 10:13am

Really liked the idea, and it could probably be a very fun game if it was more polished.

Ogniok says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 10:14am

The concept is pretty great. As higlyinteractive said - second missile was very hard. It would be great to see post-compo version of this game.

sentendo says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 9:33am

quite hard to play, but really nice concept! :)

AlcoTk says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 8:28am

The concept was really well thought of, not bad :)

Apr 26, 2015 @ 6:08am

A neat little entry. A bit trial and error in places, but I really like the idea and had a lot of fun.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]