Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

With Kindness

by cdgugler - Compo Entry

- A lonely astronaut must make new friends by hugging them.


Just barely made it with a mostly playable game. Thought I could get more done, but oh well! Missing audio and explosions. Could always use more explosions.

WASD or Arrow keys to move around, F key to initiate hug, continue pressing F to hug even harder!

The game was built with:
HTML5/JavaScript
Phaser.js - Phaser is an awesome HTML5 game framework.
Gimp & Inkscape for graphics
Didn't have time for audio.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness77%
#87Theme4.00
#128Humor3.66
#418Fun3.20
#518Innovation3.15
#620Overall3.10
#621Graphics2.95
#701Mood2.74

Comments

FerraWare says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:42am

Yay! 24 new friends! Cool game, but why do the aliens fall down when I hug them so much? :(

PaperBlurt says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:34am

This is my kind of design.
So easy to understand and fun to play.

Noxfadh says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:27pm

Really nice idea :D

Garris says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:28pm

This game was quite silly, and that was a good thing. Hugging was a very unconventional way to fight, but I liked it. Very nice.

cgmorton says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:46pm

This would be the second game I've seen where hugging is the weapon, except that in your case it's not so much 'hug' as 'crush to death with bare hands'. I like it.

sugarbyte says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:14am

Made me laugh and laugh, great job!

gene-z says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:32am

Good Work,, love this game

shimage says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:41am

Very funny! Animation is cute. Did I make friends really??

Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:13am

Theme matched, fun to play!

Caio Varalta says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:59am

Fun game, mate!

gruhn says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:37pm

A good and funny concept, which was well implemented.

As a suggestion, the attacks of the enemies might have a way to defend ...

DaveCarlile says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:33pm

Love this. Simple and fun and humorous.

sorlok says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:13pm

Really funny take on the theme! I think you should be able to block their bullets while hugging, but either way, cool game!

Jakob37 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:08pm

Fun and lighthearted in a sinister way. I really liked it :) I like sorloks idea to be able to block the bullets using your newly found friends!

cdgugler says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:58am

Thanks for the feedback everyone! @sorlok, that's a great idea, I'll have to add that in post-compo.

GAFBlizzard says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 5:58am

Being able to hold down F instead of buttom mash would make my hands thank you. :P Funny idea though. It looked like the astronaut was dancing while killing the aliens.

Also I didn't hear audio -- if you didn't finish it, did you mean to submit without audio as a rating category?

suppi says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 11:37am

This is a really cute idea! love it! too bad you didn't have the time to add audio :)

syawqy says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 12:51pm

why do they shoot me? I just want to hug them

elpaulo says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 2:33pm

Is this hug or strangulation ? :-)
Good job making a game with Phaser, mine was made it with too.

lvoursl says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 2:53pm

simple, but beatiful idea and gameplay:)

Shimone says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 2:57pm

Thank you! I have never got so many friends in such a short time!

lucidsheep says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 3:11am

Cute! Great application of theme.

Jezzamon says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 3:45am

Not bad. The enemies appeared faster than I could kill them, so I could see that I wasn't going to survive for long.

I would've liked it if they absorbed the bullets depending on which way you were facing.

The game mechanic did feel a little uninteresting, because if you just think about the mechanics without any of the graphics or the game's context then really it's just the enemies are attacking you with range attacks and you have a close-ranged attack that you have to press the button a lot to use. Perhaps that would've been remedied by the music, sound effects and visual effects (e.g. explosions). OR maybe it would be cool if instead of dying the enemies actually became your friend and fought off the bad guys?

tikilittle says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 5:19am

I liked hugging them aliens. I expected that my alien buddy was a bullet sponge, but I still took damage. That ability would allow the player to play with another mechanic. Try to think of other mechanics you could add on. Another thing is that you could build in an indicator to keep pressing F (like a QTE).

Larry says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 3:45pm

My highest score is 11 friends. I do like the graphics and animation. Audio of the alien struggling would enhance the experience.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]