Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Porcupine Dogfight

by BMacIntosh - Compo Entry

Battle your friends to become top gu...er, quill, in Porcupine Dogfight!

Porcupine Dogfight is a 2-player battle game - so grab a friend if you can! (1 player versus AI is also available). Your goal: pop your opponent's balloon by launching your spiky porcupine self at it, before they do the same to you.

=== Controls ===

The ideal control scheme is an XBox 360 controller per player.
XBox Controls (Chrome Only): Left Stick to move. Right Stick to aim. Triggers to fire. Left Stick to glide as porcupine.

Alternatively, you may use keyboard controls:
Player 1: WASD to move. QE to shoot. AD to glide as porcupine.
Player 2: IJKL to move. UO to shoot. JL to glide as porcupine.

=== Thanks! ===

Uses the excellent three.js for graphics.
Also uses Box2D, originally by Eric Catto, ported to Javascript by Alon Zakai.
Thanks to Justin Britch for invaluable playtesting.

UPDATE 26 April 2015: no gameplay changes, moved many images to an atlas for better load times

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness83%
#33Theme4.23
#85Innovation3.91
#125Overall3.73
#145Humor3.61
#147Fun3.66
#240Mood3.34
#263Graphics3.58
#365Audio3.05

Comments

FireSlash says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:07am

Took a few suicides to realize I could control the flight (I skimmed the instructions, sorry D: )

Controls feel solid and it's very polished. Great work!

morgondag says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:08am

Good sfx!

Yamzho says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:09am

Haha, love the game ! Well done !

resty says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:41am

Lovely game, beat AI at the first time!

BifDog says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:36pm

This is great! Love the concept, well done.

Garris says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:52am

Nice looking graphics and cute sounds. I would have liked some music accompaniment, but the concept was good (and hilarious) and a lot of fun. Good use of theme too.

Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:36am

It was a little hard to get the controls down, but then it was pretty fun. The computer AI was made well. The SFX were great, would have loved some music

PushmePullyu says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:37am

The controls feel a bit floaty but overall a nice concept!

EwChap says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:39am

was tough to figure out how to fly around after you fling yourself. Very fun and well functioning overall.

Bemmu says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:18am

Really fun game that I could imagine coming back to try with a friend later on.

The little sounds in this game are really good. Tiny high pitched quips the animals make are funny and remind me of Worms. The sound of hitting a balloon and launching are pretty much perfect. Only thing keeping this from being five stars for audio is the lack of any music.

The opening menu is really nicely done. The artwork is top notch, the hedgehog sprites are cute and balloons (especially the target practice one) are nicely drawn. Physics works really well, that must have required a lot of tweaking to get right.

agilejoshua says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:43am

Great fun to play - good use of the theme.

bazld says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:28am

This is very original + fun! Controlling the shot is a little tricky, but thats also part of the charm.

Tusoalsob says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:43am

a realy cool game :) had mutsh fun with the 2 player mode :)

Good use of the theme and nice working grafics.

I mostly love the case of no instand death so the fight f eels a bit longer and that you can turn it around with 1 or 22 good manovers.

suppi says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:09am

very fun game! the start screen is also really cool :)

GarethIW says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:41pm

nice graphics and original idea.

coderitual says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 10:28pm

Sweet graphics and mechanics :) Maybe gameplay should be less random but I like it though.

Chris M says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 4:46am

Got to be one of my favourites of LD32 so far. Fits the theme perfectly, some really novel and dynamic gameplay with heaps of potential. Love how at one level the player is forced to decide between which 'mode' to play, and at another has to perform technically to out manoeuvre their opponent.

At the moment there is an unfortunate dominant game strategy (position your balloon above the other and force it down), but with more work this could be something very special.

Frozenfire92 says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 7:10pm

Awesome game! Really fun and innovative. Took a while to get used to the controls, but after a few deaths I was soaring around popping holes! Keep on going with this one!

lucentbeam says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 5:15am

Played with the XBox 360 controller, but still found the control scheme a little opaque. I'd prefer it if I could just point in a direction and the porcupine would do what it takes to get there, rather than having to switch over to a flight-sim-like scheme whenever I exit my balloon. Otherwise, I really liked the concept, pace, and artwork. Nice job!

WeaselZone says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 3:22am

Haha, I love the sounds and a great take on the theme :)

IDidGame says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 5:31pm

really fun once you get the hang of it

Modoc73 says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 12:32am

Quite fun to play, good controls. Difficult at first but you get used to it. Well donee!

TetraQuad says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 11:26pm

Nice gameplay haha :)

k0j0 says ...
May 9, 2015 @ 11:11pm

One of my new favorite things in the world

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]