Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Throw Junk at Aliens

by jwin - Compo Entry

Aliens have invaded, but you don't have any weapons! Grab whatever you can and fling it at the invaders until there are no more left!

Controls:
- WASD to move around, mouse to aim.
- Left click to pick up nearby things. You must face objects to pick them up. (They turn blue when you can pick them up).
- Left click again to throw. Hold down left click to charge up and throw farther.
- Right click to rotate camera (Post-Compo only).

Tips:
- You can pick up nearly everything, so give it a try!
- Some very heavy objects do more damage than lighter ones.
- You can also get hit by flying objects, so watch out.
- You move faster when you aren't holding anything, which is useful for dodging lasers.


Post-Compo Version:
This update adds a bunch of things I wanted to do originally as well as addressing some of the feedback I've gotten. If you've already played the compo version, check out all the improvements!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#38Fun3.94
#76Overall3.85
#86Theme4.01
#92Humor3.76
#93Graphics4.04
#224Innovation3.62
#277Mood3.27
#589Audio2.62

Comments

ManicMiner says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:16am

Pretty damn impressive for 48 hours - very nice!

Wasn't sure you were going to let me pick up the cars but was pleased you did

benmcnelly says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:14pm

Needs a goat mode. Loved this, and congrats for making something this polished in the allotted time.

pixzleone says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:01pm

Nice game, but hard. Could use some music. GJ.

MightyToast says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:07pm

Wow, very impressive! Graphics are great, physics are hilarious, and the concept is pretty zany.

knarf2011 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:42am

Great game. The most enjoyable part was amassing a large group of aliens on my tail and throwing houses at them. My only qualm is that some objects didn't appear to block lasers.

Humanoid says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:24am

Yes! I can throw aliens at aliens! (A little bit disappointed I can't throw houses, though)

Ourson says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:33am

Now i'm prepared for alien invasion!
Thanks "throw junk at aliens"!
Everything i need is a house. House is op.

garygreen says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:52pm

Fun idea and well polished too. :-)

jmborden says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:37am

Damn the web version crashed my OS X 10.9.5 system on Safari =(.

ndebruyn says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:40am

Hey very nice. All feels very good except when controlling the character. I think you should have made him walk in the direction he is facing. It is just my opinion.
Other than that it is awesome.
PS: We had the same idea. Mine is just 2D and about zombies....

Bitterdeath says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 5:28am

AWESOME! Great graphics, and it's very fun. The fact you can pick up the dead aliens, cars and even houses is great.

Apr 23, 2015 @ 5:28am

Threw junk at aliens until there was no more junk to throw.

Had a mental breakdown.

Would recommend.

Cryotube says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 3:07am

Really amazing for 48 hours, utilizing physics and picking up almost any object to chuck at aliens felt satisfying! I think the game would be amazing with a bit more polish (no objects falling out of the world, faster-paced gameplay)

SmilingCat says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 3:09am

This was a blast! I liked how you could even pick up the houses. Great job!

EwChap says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 3:12am

Very well put together. Love the look and feel. Was so happy when I picked up a house and knocked a guy out with it.

gruhn says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 3:15am

An interesting idea, and a beautiful game.
The first thing I tried to do was lift the house and when worked I won my night!

haveric says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 3:17am

Impressively well put together game. The art style is excellent and the gameplay is unique and fun. My only complaint is that the sounds are a bit harsh.

Pat Kemp says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 3:56am

Haha, hilarious theme, and fun to play! I like the graphical style-- especially the depth of field. I laughed out loud when I figured out I could pick up the house. Great job!

lucentbeam says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 6:07am

Core mechanic is pretty satisfying. Sound effects are annoying.

BMacIntosh says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 7:08am

Delivers exactly what it promises.

cnoel says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 10:20pm

Brilliant! Gameplay is smooth and simple, and a lot of fun. Picking up buildings is ludicrous and perfect for the theme.
I found myself soon figuring out ways to climb buildings by lining things up. Alien > car> house> store. I was close to grab the saucer from the sky.

jackrugile says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 2:18am

Haha, I love so much that I can throw the houses and the alien corpses ;) Nice job.

BIZM says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 5:08am

Hahahaha, this was hilarious. I always wanted to do this. The graphics were really polished, and the mechanics were solid. Great job! :D

handkor says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 5:18am

This is really nice, good job

Crowbeak says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 5:47am

I enjoy the graphics and throwing everything in sight is definitely fun, but the mouse cursor was difficult to keep track of when there was a lot going on.

oinariman says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 6:10am

I love the rolling of standing-at-attention style alien corpses.

FeniX says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 7:01am

I love it! Great idea, I was smiling all the time while playing. :D One thing you should add for sure is a background music.

AlcoTk says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 8:09am

The web version was pretty glitched

Demy says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 8:51am

Home, sweet home... I mean, hose, my sweet house, you're my best weapon so far!
Very nice idea. The game is hard and you very easily get into situation where you don't have any chances. May be some healing objects or more hit points could help player to survive.
Anyway, this game is fun to play and fits theme perfectly. Well done.

resty says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 9:39am

Very good! Love everything in the game~

coderitual says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 11:56am

Interesting idea but game might be more optimized. Pretty good graphics.

Apr 26, 2015 @ 12:37pm

Awesome!

Tuism says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 12:56pm

Fantastic! I can really appreciate a modular approach to the game in which everything is everything :) Being able to pick up dead enemies is a nice touch :)

There are only a few things I think would improve the experience:
1. Holding down the mouse button to throw could have been displayed a bit more obviously.
2. The need to point your mouse at the thing you're picking up seems unnecessary, it feels like if you're by the object, or walking into it with directional controls, it should be clear enough that you want to pick it up.
3. Being able to see some kind of trajectory to your throw would have been nice. Especially when the enemy is behind the fence.
4. A bit more intelligence/variety to the enemies would have been great. The single-minded Crimsonland zombies get old fast.

Fantastic! :D

Tuism says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 12:57pm

Oh and really appreciated the depth of field effect you had there. Nice touch :)

reiknight says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 2:24pm

I was killed by my own house hahaha.

The game is really fun, the only downside is the lack of music.

rogueNoodle says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 2:50pm

Very fun entry! I think I might've preferred a little more speed when holding objects, as it gets very difficult to dodge lasers - maybe increase the speed of the player overall? Aliens seemed to be able to shoot lasers through the larger buildings on the right of the map as well (the ones that can't be picked up)

Hectigo says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 4:10pm

Throwing stuff at the alies is fun, the game would be a lot better with some music though. Also the aiming cursor isn't as visible as I'd like, I sometimes lost it while playing. Making it bigger or higher-contrast (like using a black/white sprite) would be better.

Zarkith says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 1:32pm

This was very satisfying to play. You really nailed the player feedback. I would've liked it to be a bit faster paced though.

tanjent says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 7:59pm

Love the animations. Just wished that the aliens looked a bit more ... alien :)

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 8, 2015 @ 1:27am

that was pretty awesome - love the idea

tppr2046 says ...
May 8, 2015 @ 1:44am

Impressive!! This game reminds me "Katamari Tamashi", and the concept is more simple and fun!!

Horsed says ...
May 8, 2015 @ 6:48am

What makes this idea so great is that it's absurd and hilarious! Really creative. Movement could be faster and sound could be richer, but otherwise it's a funny thing to play from time to time.

Pietdagamer says ...
May 8, 2015 @ 8:29am

Great gameplay, started off a little easy but it became a lot harder once I got a little further. The audio needs some work though.

ThirdMoon says ...
May 8, 2015 @ 12:14pm

Great Game! a bit difficult to control the character but still great! :D

recursor says ...
May 8, 2015 @ 1:16pm

Love the graphics!

tmpxyz says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 3:55am

Kinda hard to throw small things, but throwing house is fun and effective.

Marek Lisý says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 9:24am

Amazing game, although Unity is damn slow. I would say one of the best I played here. It's amazing to be able to throw anything I want :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]