Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

MEDIUM

by SaintHeiser - Compo Entry

This stealth game is about monk who has unconventional mind weapon. Purpose is capture MEDIUM.
NOTE: Some of player solutions may make the game unbeatable.Prepare yourself for restarting.

KEYBOARD
Arrows - move
Z - create illusion if picked up. (NOTE: Hold <<Z>> then press direction key). Also use this key for interaction (capture car =) )
X - enslave minds if picked up. (NOTE: Hold <<X>> then choose target with direction keys, release <<X>> to enslave nearest target, hold <<X>> key while control to release victim)
+/- keys allows change GAMMA if image on display too dark or too bright.
F4 - fullscreen

XBOX controller
Left stick - move
A - create illusions (see KEYBOARD actions for details)
X - enslave minds (see KEYBOARD actions for details)

Fixes after deadline:
- critical bug which allows player walk through lasers
- critical bug with surfaces after changing fullscreen
- corrected mines offset
- more clear instructions for abilities
- fixed texts layer
- fixed some texts with typos
- added gamma correction with + and - buttons
- added switching window/fullscreen with F4 key
- added some info on title screen
- changed game icon and loading screen

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness63%
#4Mood4.49
#29Graphics4.37
#42Overall3.98
#76Audio3.76
#125Theme3.93
#198Innovation3.67
#282Fun3.38

Comments

generic_ghost says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:21am

Great graphics and mood. You get a real specific feeling for it. But I couldn't figure out how to play. When I pressed X and Z nothing seemed to happen.

SaintHeiser says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:04am

@generic_ghost
You should find and pick up abilities to use them.

Kep says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:27pm

Nice art, mood, and plot.
I almost rage quit many times, but I got through it. Maybe a longer range on the illusion would make it less frustrating.

Lots of good ideas here, best of luck.

SilentNight says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:48am

Holy Moly this game looks and feels gorgeous. Really digging the game as a whole, very cohesive experience!!

Ilseroth says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:56am

I was going to stick it out because I liked the style and the concept was interesting. But I decided to give up when I started getting attacked while going through a screen transition on a regular basis.

Going back to a checkpoint because there is a guy who attacks me before the screen even transitions is just silly.

Concept is solid, graphics and audio are good, execution could use some fine tuning.

Phil Strahl says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:59am

A very very stylish entry. The graphics and the sound convey the dark mood perfectly, the movement is fast and precise and it evoked memories of playing Shadowrun on the SNES in me for unknown reasons.

Alas, I never found any ability and grudgingly gave up after my umpteenth screen death. Everything killed me, dudes with machine guns on the gate, dudes with dons on the right and left screen, sometimes I stepped on some very hard to see booby-trap and storming past them resulted in an instant death in the following screen.

And one last thing: I use a German keyboard layout and we silly German speakers have the Y and Z keys switched so you might take this into account for your next game (fun fact: The universal keybinding of "undo" to Ctrl+Z made extending my fingers awkwardly second nature over the years, but that's a while different story).

In any case: Really solid entry from what I can tell, very fitting mood and style, only too hard for me to grasp.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:59am

Really REALLY love the graphics and tone of this game, it's very top notch. Plus I actually love the gameplay, picking up those powerups to creature illusions was really interesting. Only gripe I have is when you die, the audio was super loud and high pitched which hurt me ears! (Other than that, everything was great!)

hexdie says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:00am

Very awesome game! I like the take on the theme and the execution is great! There's some good puzzle solving and "a-ha!" moments. Plus the graphics and sound are good as well. Nice work!

NIGIC says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:16am

Killing yourself while controlling another character creates a strange glitch where you're controlling both characters at once.

Stopped after getting the key, as I couldn't figure out what to do with it -- the glitch happened around that time, so I may have simply broken something.

Anyway, from what I've played, it's a nice game. Enemy placement could be better, but there's a nice variety and figuring out how to deal with each one was pretty fun. Nice use of monochrome, and pretty good atmosphere. Good job!

huminaboz says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:01pm

This is fantastic, favorite game I've reviewed.

nihilaleph says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:04pm

Nice game! Loved the art and the mood! But I got stuck after getting the key too >.<

sawyerWeld says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:05pm

love it!!!1

SaintHeiser says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:05pm

I've fixed glitch with death. The key is needed to drive car.

talecrafter says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:11pm

Great art style and atmosphere.
Didn't understand the mechanics at first. Would probably avoid misunderstanding if message at the beginning would be "Find the mind weapon".

Uruca Games says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:14pm

The art and ambience of the game is great!!! i like very much!!!! Congratulations!!!

Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:18pm

Looks gorgeous, with all the subtle animations and transitions. Sounds OK, some sounds are a bit jarring, but overall it really does create the right atmosphere. The puzzles are quite good, although I didn't get very far. Great work!

nihilaleph says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:42pm

Oh I feel so stupid now... Beat it now! Thanks! And great work!

Ludonaut says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:33pm

Great atmosphere and amazing graphics. I really love this, it might be the best entry I've seen so far!

VDZ says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:28pm

Amazing game as always.

Only the music wasn't as good as I usually expect from one of your games. Link to the theme also seemed nonexistent.

Minor nitpicks:
- The hitbox of the alien's spotlight (or whatever the blue thing is) is larger than it looks, causing frustrating unexpected deaths.
- Killing other enemies while controlling an enemy is too easy and therefore somewhat boring. It might be more interesting if enemies start attacking the traitor once you start attacking enemies.

Hjalte500 says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:37am

I really liked the mood in the game. Everything fits together so nice. Amazing that you got this done in just 24 hours. You couldve made it a little more obvious how to get the abilities or maybe just get them early on. Anyways I liked it alot keep it up.

MSiddeek says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 1:14pm

This is awesome!

HuvaaKoodia says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 3:25pm

The mood and the graphics are great, but the gameplay is a bit lacking.

* Creating an illusion, possessing a mind and shooting a weapon would all be much easier and fluid with mouse aiming.
* The beginning, before the player has any powers, is the hardest and most annoying part of the whole game. Consider allowing the player to restart in the room that they died in or just increasing the amount of checkpoints.
* +1 for enemies reacting to being shot!

OnlySlightly says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 3:43am

That was incredible! You have made such a complete and solid game. The stealth aspects were nerve wracking which made it all the more exciting when gaining the powers. Once I realized I could possess people I used them to clear out any paths by killing all the other guides. Thank you so much for those tid bits of text to explain. I hardly ever got stuck and never felt frustrated. The graphics, mood, and atmosphere was great! You are amazing! Thank you so much for making this.

Apr 28, 2015 @ 11:20pm

I found it a bit too frustrating to engage with, honestly. Still loved the graphics and mood.

ChronusZ says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 1:24am

The level design is more on the "frustrating" scale rather than the "difficult" scale, but the concept and aesthetics are appealing.

Nate says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 10:14pm

I couldn't figure out how to play. Z and X didn't work. Nice job on the mood though.

awestsecurity says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 10:28pm

It is incredible you were able to accomplish this in such a short time. Everything was really well done. I would have liked some more context, at least at the end. I'm not sure finding medium was a good thing.

SteveSalmond says ...
May 8, 2015 @ 9:21am

Cool idea! I found the illusion a bit annoying to use - it tended to block my intended path more often than not. Might be worth experimenting with an illusion that slowly walks in the direction you release it? Just a random thought..

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]