Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Miyu

by SecondDimension - Jam Entry

Here is our Jam Entry Miyu, it's a fairly relaxed game about moving through and exploring a moonrise kingdom. There are some light challenge elements, but we mainly wanted it to set a nice mood.

All gameplay, graphics and music were created from scratch over the 3 day weekend. The 3 person team was made up of 1 programmer/musician and 2 artists/designers.

The game has instructions and a tutorial, as well as 360 gamepad support. Pro Tip: When herding the creatures, don't hold the 'go faster' button. It's easier when you move slowly.

(PS. Apologies for the long loading time, there are a few large mp3s & sprites. It will load eventually we promise!)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#5Mood(Jam)4.44
#14Audio(Jam)4.27
#31Overall(Jam)4.05
#37Graphics(Jam)4.52
#174Innovation(Jam)3.66
#320Fun(Jam)3.31
#462Theme(Jam)3.43

Comments

Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:49am

Hi all! Just a note on the theme; we went away from it a bit, which was not really intentional. The original idea was to collect plants and use them as a sort of lasso to catch dangerous enemies. Then we decided we wanted it to be a bit more relaxed, and also the lasso thing was super difficult. So the unconventional weapons are still the plants and animals in the environment, but they evolved over the weekend to not really be weapons. Hope you can forgive us, thanks for playing

Ash K says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:06am

This is really cute! I occasionally found it a little frustrating trying to herd enemies, but the soothing music and pretty visuals more than made up for that.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:36am

Very polished, great art and music!

kabutakogames says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:11pm

I know its weirdly specific but I love the way you pull off clouds with style

remmy says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:25pm

I can't believe you did all this in just 3 days, it's really amazing and cute!

gene-z says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:58pm

Too much pretty good game

EwChap says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:05pm

Best total package I have played so far. The art is beautiful and the feeling and sense of space is spot on. I love the unusual herding/portals mechanic, Really top notch job for 3 days folks.

TeamCalcium says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:06pm

Very good, relaxing Game! The music was comforting and the controls were very smooth. The art was beautiful and the Graphics were cool. It was a great experience!

CowShark says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:07pm

Really liked the ambiance of this little game. Coulda used some sort of indicator for how many sun sprites were left.

Music and the sound design were lovely and relaxing.

AdamW says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:10pm

So far the best game I've seen!

Kyatric says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:18pm

Very nicely made entry.
As usual, your team has its own world, its own pace and its own flair !

The game in itself isn't really what I would call fun.
But it was a soothing experience enjoying the music (special note on that, pun intended or not ;) ) and finding the little background surprises as I was "gathering the flock" in this different world.

Everything written in the instructions made sense, relax and explore and that's what the game is about.
From a mechanical standpoint, it would be likely better to be able to make several spritis fly through a single portal instead of having to look for them one by one, but it would be a different experience.

I believe you managed in making what you set out to do.

Good job to you and your team making this experience in 72hours !

TheMeorch says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:51pm

Absolutely lovely audio/visual presentation. Having the sound effects in key with the music just makes it all come together! Herding enemies can be a bit frustrating when they end up clustered along the edges of the screen. Maybe having the edges of the screen loop together would help with that?

Pixel_Reaper says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:51pm

Wow great polish! very soothing and relaxed. I like your art and sprites. had a very distinctive mood throughout. Well done!

nightlord says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:51pm

Best game i played so far. amazingly moody. love the story, love the graphics. love the music. one slightly problematic piece for me was the controls (I played with a mouse). didn't feel very tactile, which plays well with the story but still. GREAT GAME

HotBoxGames says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:52pm

Aw man, this was beautiful!

Love the art, the animation, the colours, it all fits and looks great! The music has a great feel, then the additions from interactions makes it sound amazing. Great work.

Havacore says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:53pm

That was really good. I would have liked a smaller level, as it got annoying at the end to find the last spirit. Besides that, I liked everything about it.

trappytrap92 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:53pm

Love the start, the graphics and the sound, but the game is a little slow (i think that this is what you were searching for), but you should consider to make the player move a little faster. Btw really nice idea, keep working on it, you can get a really nice product.

elpaulo says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:54pm

Smooth, very relaxing. Nice game man.

kyyrma says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:55pm

Like you said in the description, very relaxing. I like the fact that there was no real sense of urgency or danger. Nice visuals and music as well. An all around solid entry!

ManicMiner says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:59pm

Very releaxing and quite lovely really - bit slow paced for me but I recognise quality work when I see it :)

nassi says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:03pm

Reminds me of Windosill. Less variety but also a lot shorter so I think I prefer this one. Solid entry all around, good job. Too bad I didn't have tea while playing this.

MasterOfNaN says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:30pm

Amazing visuals and great sound. I really enjoyed the chilled vibe, thanks!

JoshuaBurr says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:45pm

I love the art and the sound. The whole thing feels great! I couldn't get it to work with an xbox controller.

Goutye says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:35pm

Beuatiful music and art. But it's really hard to capture the yellow monster :O Thanks for this game!

muromets says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:19am

A very relaxing a cute game, it was kind of difficult to herd the spirits but it was a nice experience

micahcowan says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:04am

Very relaxing, pretty art. I hope you guys continue working on it!

colludium says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:20am

I thought that was a beautifully presented and very well laid out game. Quite challenging, and with a great atmosphere!

pythong says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:37pm

interesting game, and i like the art style as well as all the small subtle movements. but as you said yourself, it wasn't much of a 'game'-game

psychonull says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:46pm

Great experience! Loved the atmosphere.

dyfer says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:01pm

very nice, I really loved it !

Pinpickle says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:43pm

The graphics are beautiful and the relaxed gameplay is really nice, I just wanted to explore as opposed to reaching the goal and herding (which was quite difficult). I think you still fit the theme very nicely.

zatyka says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 1:48am

The gameplay was a bit bland, but the experience was lovely. The audio, graphics, and even object motions path all came together to give texture to the little world. Very nice entry.

Mechamew says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:26am

Wow I loved this! So relaxing, the music and sounds are beautiful. All the little interactions in the world really bought it to life! (My favorite was the animating background) I didn't really like the herding mechanic, I think I'd prefer it if the spirits were just attracted if a moon was near by

lody says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:40am

very cute and smooth playing game - it was hard to understand how to hurd at first, but i really loved the game :)

ryguydavis says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:10pm

I loved how the world insisted on surprising me. The mood and interactions were really great. I found the controls really difficult, which was a shame. I played with the mouse, but I don't know if the gamepad would have been any different.

knarf2011 says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 8:22pm

Thanks for developing the game, it was really cute! ^_^ <3

killako says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 8:25pm

Great graphics and mood. I experienced some text bugs during my play through. Herding the spirits felt more frustrating than relaxing. I didn't feel compelled to get them through the portals.

PinkIndian says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 8:26pm

Amazing. Perfect game just to relax and enjoy the beautiful visuals and music. You did a great job creating this.

badlydrawnrod says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 8:35pm

A beautiful atmospheric entry.

Blunt says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 3:11pm

I really enjoyed playing your chilled out game. All pretty much well made, nothing I could fault. Would have played more.

goerp says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 10:15am

Lovely!
You really succeeded in creating a mood. Sound, music, graphics, the speed of play all enhanced the mood.

It shows that designers worked on the graphics.

hexagore says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 9:49pm

What a pleasant world you've made. Truly lovely. Thank you!

gruhn says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 10:04pm

Whoa! What a beautiful game.
I really enjoyed the mechanic and the experience.

Pixelcyborg says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 10:20pm

Fantastic art and atmosphere!

sathorn says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 11:33pm

Everything in this game comes together as an awesome experience. Great job! Only problem is that the actual gameplay is rather boring.

Plustech says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 4:02am

Greatly appreciate the xbox controller option!
Man oh man! this entry is so cute, pretty and in some way, very relaxing. I enjoyed greatly even though the controls were a little funky and sometimes had trouble killing those yellow enemies. I think the change of direction was a problem for me in particular, I know that you are trying to achieve this space kind of movement but I wish there was a build just with 0 inertia just to try it out!
Besides that super personal opinion on the controls, I loved the art and music. The sfx when you were discovering those easter eggs on the BG were great. Really nice experience overall. If you find a way to polish this even further, I think it could be a great game!
Nice job, congratz to the team!

Junber says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 6:04am

Nice and relaxing game. Looked and sounded very good.

GarethIW says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 10:14am

This was an outstanding entry. Audio, art, mood all top notch. Very relaxing to just explore, and I loved all the little touches with the background elements. Thank you!

Stending says ...
May 2, 2015 @ 9:46pm

Most relaxing game I played this LD! Amazing mood, sound and graphics!

May 2, 2015 @ 11:30pm

Amazing! Well done guys!

Xanjos says ...
May 2, 2015 @ 11:50pm

This was a rather nice relaxing entry plus I really liked the mechanics.

lizard455 says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 3:27am

Neat game! I like the mood.

MrShoestore says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 10:54pm

simply beautiful.

FrozenCow says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 9:44pm

You are forgiven. Relax experience and overall weird (in a GOOD way!). I liked finding all the strange stuff like mountain opening in background and the 'enemies' twitching eyes. Nicely done!

Omiya Games says ...
May 8, 2015 @ 12:18am

Loved this a lot! Reminds me a lot of Vectorpark's games, particularly Windowsill. I love all the minor animations you've added in. I actively searched for all of them, just because it was fun to find each one of them. Would like to see more from you guys.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]