Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Power of Djent

by Rubsrub - Compo Entry

The game about a djent guitarist who wants to get the summit of glory with own great music band. Help him to achive dreams!

Control:
* move - cursor left/right, A/D;
* play awesome riffs - J/Z/ctrl;
* jump - K/W/cursor up.

Used:
* coding - flashdevelop/flashpunk;
* art - graphicsGale/Gamemaker editor;
* music/sounds - renoise/audacity.

Gameplay and level design very simple. I did not, because a lot of time spent on the random generation of music.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#27Audio4.09
#249Theme3.72
#287Humor3.25
#381Mood3.13
#526Overall3.20
#529Graphics3.09
#618Innovation3.00
#621Fun2.96

Comments

red__hara says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:57am

Great interpretation of theme!
And nice sound, I must say.
Unfortunately enemies don't reset when the protagonist die.

tomdeal says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:29am

Really like this idea. Everything is better with metal ;-) One complaint: When I use the riffkey, it doesnt always spawn a riff-projectile. This makes the game a bit unresponsive and frustrating, if you cant shoot at the enemy when you press the button.

Skywilly says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:30am

Too bad : the pattern of enemies is really annoying. But the game is cool and i love the music ;)

Borkleby says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:46pm

There were a couple problems with the game, for instance I couldn't kill a single monster because the dang guitar hardly shoots at all and the controls screw up every time I die. HOWEVER: I actually scored this game really high because I love the idea, the music, the art... all the decoration. With a little tuning up, (heh heh) this might be my favorite game so far!

GTA LUDUM V says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:05pm

Great idea and music
(-) enemy spawn to fast

GTA LUDUM V says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:05pm

Great idea and music
(-) enemy spawn to0 fast

ChrisGaudino says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:07pm

Love it. Reminds me of a game I did for mini LD 43 called Brutal Billy: http://ludumdare.com/compo/minild-43/comment-page-1/?action=preview&uid=21246

Marcus316 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:16pm

I enjoyed playing this game. It was a lot of fun, and attacking zombies with guitar riffs is amusing.

It was a little frustrating in some areas the zombies spawned and came constantly, with no way to hit them before they dropped on top of me. There were a number of places where my only option was to take a hit and run through without killing the zombies (and I REALLY wanted to kill the zombies).

texdata says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:50pm

DJENT!!!!!! uaaaa. fun but hard to play !

Nomys_Tempar says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:20pm

I found it to play cause of the zombies's patterns but nice sounds and musics. Globally it feels very well done.

Ludipe says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:39pm

It's a fun game, perhaps the most urgent thing that needs to be improved is enemy AI and enemy spawn, which can be quite frustrating.

I liked your take on the theme and the sound is pretty cool ^^

AlexDJones says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:38pm

Neat entry. I really liked the implementation of music in the gameplay. Criticisms are that the enemies don't reset upon player death, and that the controls felt clumsy sometimes.

fluidvolt says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:06am

Hehe, great. Love the rave effect in the background when I get a certain powerup -- I'm not sure what it does! Cool interpretation of the theme, I like all of the metal related sfx, and it was fun getting all the way to the top. Nice one.

shatley123 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:08pm

Awesome game! Good platforming, good sound, good mood, great all around game. I don't have many criticisms but maybe in a post-ld version you could limit the amount of enemies on a screen at a time, and have them reset when you die. I had to restart the game a couple times because I kept dying as a result of there being to many enemies and when I respawn there's only more enemies.

wooltech says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:55pm

Very short, and I wasn't really sure what the collectables were, but I had fun even though I died. A lot!

It looks great and you can't go wrong with metal. \m/

Gunzil says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 5:59am

The platforming was more difficult than it should be, and enemies would keep respawning in greater numbers if I didn't take care of them. They'd also only track me by x direction so they'd fall down directly on my head.

Drummer for checkpoint is cool, the guitar riffs integrated with the background music and attacks is neat as well. I'm a sucker for music integration with regular gameplay.

Apr 26, 2015 @ 9:37am

Feel like the combat system could use some work, I felt it was too short range. maybe some sort of aim mechanic? music was pretty great.

GarethIW says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 9:51am

Okay, you *have* to make this into a full game. The platforming and unresponsiveness of the attacks needs improvement, but as you say it wasn't your main focus. Nail that and you could have a winner. \m/

Pinpickle says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 7:53pm

It seemed really fluid, except for how difficult it was to get riffs to come out of the guitar sometimes. The animations were nice and the music fit the scene very well.

Omiya Games says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 3:59am

The checkpoints forgiving, which helps because the controls are ridiculously slippery. In fact, the game feels incredibly unforgiving due to its poor platforming and attacking controls. I'd like to see more improvement in tightening them.

kipelovets says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 10:26am

You rock! And everyone playing this game rocks too! \m/

MrRoboman says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 1:58pm

Solid game! The sound was great. The graphics were good. Loved the drummer check points. There was a point, though, at the second drummer where hordes of baddies were spawning and I thought it was impossible, but then I just took a little damage and guitared their faces.
Good game!

gnx says ...
May 1, 2015 @ 10:20pm

I enjoyed this entry. The graphics and music aspect is very well done and it appears a lot of effort was put into it sounding like actual music :) One obvious problem with the gameplay programming is that enemies keep spawning even as you respawn, so dying results in enemies swamping the whole level quite quickly :) Good effort!

HeffJoker says ...
May 1, 2015 @ 10:41pm

Very clever!! I loved the use of colors and the sprites. Some feedback:

- It'd be nice if you could attack in air so aerial movement and fights are easier.
- I like the random riffs, but it should start with a small riff as soon as you press the key.

Keep up the great work!

leafo says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 6:13am

Nicely done

MrShoestore says ...
May 8, 2015 @ 10:57pm

I like the sprites a lot, and the metal theme. but the way the enemies are I could not play this for too long. way too difficult to get past some stuff. great idea though

yuigoto says ...
May 9, 2015 @ 4:28am

Using riffs as a projectile? That's cool! :P Great sound and concept! :D

Controls feel a little bit slow to respond and the way enemies spawn is a bit annoying, though, as it makes it hard to progress through the game. :/

Anyway, nice idea! :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]