Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Faux News

by Loginaut - Jam Entry

Run a weekly news station broadcast. Increase your ratings, but don't cause too much damage to the world...

Select which 10 news stories to air each week. After submitting your choices press the orange "Next Week" button to continue. The buttons don't look clickable, but they are!


There may be an issue loading the stories.txt file on mac, if so it may need to be moved into the app folder. Let us know!


Music:
"Local Forecast - Slower" Kevin MacLeod (incompetech.com)
Licensed under Creative Commons: By Attribution 3.0
http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/3.0/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#6Humor(Jam)4.40
#358Mood(Jam)3.29
#446Innovation(Jam)3.20
#522Fun(Jam)3.05
#743Overall(Jam)2.95
#751Theme(Jam)3.00
#850Graphics(Jam)2.50
#1856Coolness35%

Comments

roving-stone says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:15am

It won't run on my mac, it just says "The application “Faux News.app” can’t be opened."

racarate says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:28am

this is my favorite game so far. i didnt realize the buttons were buttons though and i thought it was a statement to subject the player to an infinite loop of what they programmed.

hissssssssss says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:36am

I loved the headlines that kept popping up.
It didn't seem to make much of a difference which headlines I picked, though. My ratings never changed, the world state never changed, and my credibility just kept going up.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:20pm

I laughed so much on how true this game is. Even though there wasn't much game play it's still a good little time waster!

Clavus says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:25pm

Loved the headlines, but I'm still not sure how I reached the "You win" screen. Didn't quite see how it was possible to mess up the schedule, I just inserted things randomly.

Reis Mahnic says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:52pm

Fun concept, especially for the theme. Very funny writing!

UrbanHelsing says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:52pm

Funny stories, but not so much gameplay

BabaJaga says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:02pm

Really funny concept, I liked the headlines. And the music and the mood were very good. I felt though game lacked some kind of feedback, I didn't really know what is happening and whether my choices of news are good or bad.

PS: I don't think that the .7z format is the best one for publishing your LD entry. Broader your audience is the better for you :)

jojocanard says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:57pm

Funny but I don't understand the mechanic

TeamCalcium says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 12:48pm

Funny Game! Enjoyed playing it!

Apr 23, 2015 @ 1:14pm

Interesting little game, but I'll have to echo what everyone else is saying and ask for more feedback. I wasn't sure whether I was actually having any effect at all...

AinoraZ says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 7:51pm

Very out of theme, but still a pretty funny game! Good job!

TeamQuadratic says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 11:03pm

I honestly didn't really understand how to play. The headlines and concept were hilarious though. Good work.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]