Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

slappy the frog goes to town

by rubna - Jam Entry

slappy the frog goes to town and needs to find some stuff? slap your way through countless enemies and towards new companions!!

arrows + space
--
misses a lot of sounds and not very fun, sorry. did the jam because I ran out of time.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Humor(Jam)4.70
#5Fun(Jam)4.28
#8Overall(Jam)4.35
#9Theme(Jam)4.39
#15Innovation(Jam)4.24
#21Graphics(Jam)4.61
#38Mood(Jam)4.06
#296Audio(Jam)3.25
#1713Coolness39%

Comments

Rscar says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:41am

Ahhh I love it so much!!

Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:52am

I'm not 100% sure what I just played,but I enjoyed it. Very cute animation style.

matestinha says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:03am

I'll admit I didn't quite get it but I liked it. Is it right?

Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:11am

OH MY GOD THAT WAS SOOOO GOOOOD

CamRFWhite says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:19am

Hahaa! Those gifs sold me right away. Oh my god the tongue... That's amazing, art is awesome!

GFM says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:24am

...

What did I just play?

That ending... .______.

The game was great! Really cute! :)
I really loved the frog sfx!

Zanzlanz says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:52am

Very nice work! Great art and puzzle design. I wasn't expecting that ending - and it was perfect! Character design was well done, also. :)

My only negative comment would be that the movement sound got obnoxious. It was still funny though xD

Managore says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:20am

Definitely my favourite game so far! The text is fantastic, the graphics are so damn good and my only complaint is I wish it were longer so I didn't have to finish so soon! Holy crap, congratulations!

okacat says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:04am

This is great, I love it. That slapping sound haha

monstersauce says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:12am

That was the strangest thing I've played all day. I love it.

TijmenTio says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:58pm

So glad to see it finished :) It's amazing work, even if you think it's not what you wanted it to be. Dude you have some real talent!

TomBoogaart says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:03pm

^

! gonna check this out after another round of shombies

TomBoogaart says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:09pm

jahaha the ending!!! loved it , the frog sound got a bit tedious after a while though, talking sounds were dope !

TomBoogaart says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:10pm

other sounds were good too

YM says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:32pm

ew groossss

Darek Greenly says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:57pm

The most humorous game so far :D

Dege says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:49pm

A bit difficult to grab the key (it keeps pointing at eyes), and a bit difficult to throw it onto the gate. Anyway really really fun. Sounds are good, I enjoyed especially the one used when people (?) talks. I liked graphics too. the ending is quick, hilarious and unexpected XD

cowboycolor says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:11pm

Rubna. I lov u. I love the squishiness of the objects, the physics of the tongue, the windwaker bomb explosions, the humor, the eggnogs, and pretty much everything else about it, per usual. The slap of the tongue against things is so satisfying omg. I'm gonna make u more valentine's e-cards cuz I lov u wow. 5 across the board

poohshoes says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:49am

I had trouble getting the key into the lock.

This is my favourite entry so far, so good.

psychomonster says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:01am

Love this game.... really good animation, its so cute and colorful. Good work

Ludipe says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 12:12am

Awesome entry! The art is simply beautiful O_o
Just wanted to point out two small issues:
a)It was really hard to get the key in the lock
b)The frog sound gets too repetitive way too soon

But the tongue-mechanic felt really good, character design and dialogue was top-notch and the art left me speechless. Great job! ^^

flyingbear says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 1:53am

This game brought a huge smile to my face! =D There's really something appealing about that frog's simple character design. Made it to the end, and I'd totally play more of this.

Sanguine says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 8:16am

The tongue physics are amazing! I really enjoyed slapping things with my tongue. The dialogues were also way cool. It's a bit short though and I'm sure a lot of more mechanics could be explored with the tongue slapping, but that's hard in the short amount of time. Overall, very solid entry :)

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 2:13am

oh man - what the hell did i just play - it was awesome!

Noah Ratcliff says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 8:08pm

blork/blork

BIZM says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 5:21pm

Wow, this game looks so finished already! I love how weird it is and you already have such great, quirky characters. Really great job on this! Also the sounds are so funny!

jmborden says ...
May 2, 2015 @ 9:32pm

Cute game... though I would have preferred better control over the frog tongue. Good job!

ChronoDK says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 6:27am

Our two game have some similarities actually - similar physics, but applied to very different bodyparts :-p

Sweet game too - loved the ending, and the almost Zelda-style boss battle. Very good work!

siryakko says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 10:28am

Nice game and humor, just a bit tricky for the key to work, loved it

Embalaje says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 4:16pm

Lovely amazing! Funny graphics, sound, story...Made me smyle for a while. Thanks!

Ditto says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 4:20pm

GOD FUCKING DAMNIT RUBNA <3

LeetLeaf says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 5:55pm

Best love story ever

sputnik says ...
May 7, 2015 @ 2:06am

Delightful, pure and simple fun! As the song goes: Every thing is Awesome!

FrederickK says ...
May 7, 2015 @ 2:53am

If Banjo Kazooie and Katamari could have a baby, it would be your game!
Well, that's truth, not much of gameplay, but the concept is really great!
Be proud! :D

lochmann-apps says ...
May 7, 2015 @ 12:54pm

This was so fun. I would love to see more Levels!

Jezzamon says ...
May 9, 2015 @ 1:13am

Awesome!!

This is a great example to other Ludum Darers of what makes a good jam game!

The art style and the way everything bounced around was super great, so was the way your tongue wiggled about. It's such a cute way to interact with the world! I think the only thing that I would add would be some quiet music in the background.

I loved... being the frog...... and the all the 'b's ... and ... the ending.... Wowo

ruerob says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 3:54pm

What an ending!!! Epic! Nice game! I like your art style! Nice little game!

wademcgillis says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 6:13pm

hebbo

i luv game

yuigoto says ...
May 12, 2015 @ 9:02pm

How come I didn't see this game while rating was on?! Nice entry, nice work with GM:S! :)

Rustam says ...
Apr 28, 2017 @ 5:51am

You can switch to the help interactive mode by clicking the question mark next to the clock tab. http://getwarezfrommyblog.blogspot.com Liebe Nutzer von PROSPEKTPIRATEN,vielen Dank fr das positive und konstruktive Feedback!nderungen in dieser Version:- Performanceverbesserung.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]