Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Toasted

by JPatrick - Compo Entry

Toasted is a tower defense where the towers don't shoot bullets or lasers. Instead they shoot house-hold objects.

Have you ever wondered how long you could stop 50 bad guys from reaching the other side of the level with a turret that shoots toasters? How about one that shoots spoons? Toasted allows you to answer this question

Includes 3 levels, and 4 different type of enemy, each new one more powerful than the last.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#317Fun3.35
#599Overall3.12
#660Theme3.21
#695Mood2.75
#709Humor2.42
#759Audio2.13
#908Graphics2.43
#1044Innovation2.17
#1634Coolness41%

Comments

Apr 19, 2015 @ 11:33pm

Very cool! Pink guys threw me for a loop when they went racing by! Not used to these games so took me a bit to upgrade my towers :-p

Awesome job!

JPatrick says ...
Apr 19, 2015 @ 11:46pm

Thank you :)

Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:12am

Pretty cool game! :-) At first I wasn't expecting such fast moving enemies, but I soon upgraded my toaster towers to the max and built a huge swarm of them right at the start. Now the enemies don't stand a chance.

bradur says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:27am

Well, this was fun!
I played it for some while on both the easy and hard modes:
My impenetrable fortresses:
Easy: http://i.imgur.com/yxP5D3C.jpg
Hard: http://i.imgur.com/F8UBqkD.png

[+] Well executed idea
[+] Fun to play
[+] Everything works well (targetting, enemy pathing)

[-] Balance is not very good, the game gets quite easy when you learn to play
* It's not too bad for such a limited time though
[-] Some minor issues with the UI
* Some hover states would be nice, or any other kind of visual feedback
[-] More sounds would be nice
* I only found two: When an enemy gets through and when you try to place a tower to an illegal spot
[-] The graphics are a little on the rough side
* Nice flowers though :)!

All in all, a nice little game.

zzForrest says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:34pm

Interesting idea, and while I was initially thrown off by the below average art, and lack of sound entirely, I was somewhat surprised that I continued to play for longer than I intended. Surprisingly fun, but the UI felt very clunky and unresponsive. The towers had a tendency to miss, which was frustrating but I got used to it eventually.

TeamCalcium says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 11:53am

Nice Tower defense Game! Graphics were lacking something that the gameplay couldnt make up for. Still a solid entry!

Zayron says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 11:56am

Nice job I had fun playing this. :)

maunovaha says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 6:02pm

Enjoyed playing this. And I rarely do, when it comes to tower defenses! :)

morokiane says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 6:08pm

Good game.

breadstix says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 9:43pm

I love tower defense games and I enjoyed playing yours. One thing I noticed was that if I was moving my mouse at all the game paused. I can see how this might have been intended but it was a bit annoying sometimes and if it WAS intended I didn't like it. Overall, though, I really liked it and you should be proud of your effort.

UrbanHelsing says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 6:53pm

Nice TD, well packaged

Exeneva says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 9:38am

Fun game, although it's very challenging from the get-go and so it's easy to get frustrated early on.

Sim says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 7:54pm

This is quite a well done tower defence game. It plays well and the idea is pretty funny. The interface did feel a bit unresponsive at times and it would've been nice to have hotkeys for the towers. Some more spinning spoons and sounds of household objects bashing into things would've made it sillier too :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]