Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

DAGDROM

by Ditto - Compo Entry

A video game.

Play with it.

<3
Ditto

ps.
I messed up the theme kinda, thought I was adding enemies but I didn't.. Woops, sue me~

pppppsssss. Clarification on the controls, the game tells you arrows and backspace, but WASD and R works equally good, probably better. I just thought arrows and backspace made for nicer aesthetics for the text. Lol. I thought people tried pressing buttons when they play games :)

PPPPPPPSSSSSSSSS. I just got reports that the game looks worse if you play on higher graphics options. So set it to "good" in the launcher please <3

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Overall4.30
#4Fun4.24
#11Mood4.29
#17Innovation4.23
#17Graphics4.48
#29Audio4.07
#290Humor3.24
#363Theme3.57
#1713Coolness39%

Comments

Zanzlanz says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:27am

Hey look, an amazing game! You did a perfect job at introducing mechanics without instructions... and without making the player get frustrated. The puzzles were fun and filled with eye candy. <3

PaperBlurt says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:30am

You know I love your stuff.
This is as per usual amazeballs.
And I like that you keep using swedish words for title.
Why aren't you rich yet? (or are you?)

local minimum says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:40am

Stunning game! Most fantastic. I did get stuck on the part where it said something about trusting your abilities. Maybe same place as you have your primary screen-shot from. So apart from that the novel mechanics there that I didn't get that could have been introduced in a kinder way, I really enjoyed the game. The introduction of how to play, the difficulty and its progression. Maybe add a white ring or some other distinct color around the slime level indicator since it doesn't look like a UI element when empty. I was wondering what that black dot that was following me was doing.

Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:49am

Beautiful looking game with a great mechanic. Liked the use of text in setting the mood and the way the mouse and keys were incorporated worked really well. Did take me a second to figure out the jump shoot boost but liked that you left it to the player to figure out.

ryguydavis says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:34pm

This was such a quality experience. Some of the puzzles were pretty tough, but I'm glad I stuck with it to the end. It was like a brilliant, nauseating, existential rainbow. Great work, Ditto.

Kep says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:48pm

Very well done.

Paint gun is certainly an unconventional tool in games. It never felt like a weapon, but I liked the game, so I didn't care about the theme.

I only found the right-click 'grenade' by accident, more than half way through.

Thanks!

TomBoogaart says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:30pm

this rocks my socks

nuprahtor says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:47pm

Is "The End" really the end? It took me some time to understand this "trust" pun, I thought I was stuck at that level.
I really like the juicy graphics and quite mystical music/sfx. I'm not a big fan of puzzle platformers, but this one I was able to beat, so it's a good puzzle platformer for me!

danidre14 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:54pm

Nice, enjoyed your game.

The last level was difficult though, until I tried to fly upwards and coloured the face XD.

This game sort of reminded me of hets, then I realized you made hets :P

Really clueless game if you ask me. Well I mean, clueless as in what am I there for. :3
Thanks you for participating!

madameberry says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:18pm

I didn't realize you could propel yourself by shooting down until someone else pointed it out to me.
Everything is so squishy though! I love the sounds!

Hyoga-3D says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:21pm

Oh yeah, very crazy game, Did I played was a chicken ?

ianburnette says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:12pm

Had a really nice Floor is Jelly vibe to it!

vandriver says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:13am

Looks, sounds, and plays great. You can get through the whole game just using left click. I get that left is good for spraying and right for moving, but I wish there was more distinct uses for the right click(and maybe some hint that it's there - it really makes the game much more enjoyable).

The level where you're climbing up was my favorite. You turned the thing that gives you power into a punishment for falling. Frustrating in a very satisfying way. (also totally avoidable but damned if I didn't keep dropping right on that son of a bitch)

Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:35am

Well that was lovely. Very beautiful, well thought out mechanic. When I figured something out I felt like a genius, even though it was designed for that. It really was fantastic.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:26am

MMMM, MMMMMMM

That music is awesome. Everyone has already gone on about how awesome it looks and plays, so I'm sure you're bored of hearing about that.

This already feels pretty much finished, but I'd pay for a full game if you were to make it so.

Avant-Marde says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:06am

Fantastic graphics, animations and atmosphere. The sound design was pretty cool too. Running animation and sound together made me think of Makar from Wind Waker.

I did however get stuck within minutes of playing, I'm afraid. Tried everything, but there wasn't much to try really. It was a pretty empty place and I really couldn't figure out what I was supposed to do. Oh, well.

Besides that, my only complaint would be the controllers. They were downright awful, TBH. The seem to be assuming three hands. Not sure how I'm supposed to access mouse, space, backspace and arrows/WASD all at once.

Not sure how it fits the theme, even by abstract or stretched definitions of the word 'weapon' applied to anything I saw in the game.

Nonetheless, ignoring all of that, a fantastic concept. Really beautiful. Could be amazing if turned into a full game. Maybe you can steal some of it for Planeter!

(Also, pet peeve: why do no Swedes know to use OE instead of O in place of Ö? Germans, Danes and Norwegians all do!)

Great job!

Awpteamoose says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:12am

AMAZING!

Avant-Marde says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:18am

Okay, after reading the comments I realised that right-clicking was an option! Finished the game now. Good stuff.

Simon says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:51am

This is so beautiful I just wanted to wander and play with colors!

Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:49pm

Beautiful and fun to play, had a great time with it, and loved how the game taught me how to play it.

Raiyumi says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:02pm

Amazing game! I love the mechanic and the overall feel this game has. It's really polished and fun. :)

TijmenTio says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:29pm

The audio is the best part. How did you even make it? It sounds like you smashed your on computer.

Sheepolution says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:45am

An overall fun game. There isn't really anything to point out that is wrong. My only complaint would be the lack of levels, and their difficulty.

01010111 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:05pm

Really remarkable art style, great audio design, I loved the juiciness of the paint.

I feel like analog controls would throw this over the top for me - I had a lot of trouble platforming. I also think some more juicy music would have made me stick with it longer.

The art direction is just so solid though, amazing work!

SonnyBone says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 6:21am

This game is way too short.

If the game was crap, then I wouldn't say that. I want more. I feel like the difficulty really spikes during the long climb without much buildup to it, then the game ends soon after. And this is my only criticism with the game. Length and pacing.

The controls are wonderful, but I would like to have up open doors (since there is no area where jumps are placed near doors). The music is so awesome (especially after learning how you made it) and brings an uneasy feeling to an otherwise happy feeling game. The art is ditto. (It's going to be a term in art books one day, just wait.)

As far as the game itself goes, it's great. Needs more content, but that's always the case for nearly every jam game.

But yeah the theme connection is really missing and that's a shame because I know what you were originally going for and it was aimed perfectly at the theme. If there was an actual boss to fight at the end, then your connection to theme would be great. But with just that floating face that doesn't fight back, it feels less like an enemy and more like a puzzle element. I want a rad paint flinging swooping splooshy squishy boss fight!

I feel like you're becoming the Keith Haring of gamedev. I just hope you never die.

calavera says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 9:05am

beautiful!

phi6 says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:26pm

All I have to say is, this is Absolute Perfection. I don't mind telling you got 5 stars in every category. As someone who created a platformer/Metroidvania himself, this is a fantastic study to learn from. Bravo!

Enol says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 9:57am

It's just a really really great job you did here. Perfect introduction of mechanics and enjoyable gameplay !

iSamurai says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 2:51pm

Five star game!
Very creative mechanics and smart level design.
Control feels solid.
Love the art styles, background music, and sound effect.

Apr 24, 2015 @ 4:00pm

Pssst - You are in todays Ludum Dare to Believe! - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ez58OGO7BXQ

mar3k says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 4:26pm

Amazing! You could totally make this into a real game and put it like on steam!

broknecho says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 4:38pm

Wow this was cool. Platforming controls could possibly be a little tighter but overall great entry.

Great job for 48 hours!!

Lukbebalduke says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 4:47pm

Nice art style and cool gameplay =)

DragonXVI says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 5:44pm

Well that's just superb :D Lovely presentation, nice unique mechanics. Found the WASD + space + Mouse controls a bit tricky to handle when trying to wall jump, but overall really good compo entry!

Also cheers to the Button Masher Bros for pointin' me to this one :D

sararyCow says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 10:25pm

You made a very good game here! I like the painting mechanic, somehow it reminded me some mario sunshine vibe! I liked how to solve some off the platform puzzles very much! Awesome job!

Apr 25, 2015 @ 12:04am

I got that little "thirst of the curious few" message, and I felt special for a little bit. Great game! The controls could use a little itty bit of modification, but over all it is a nice polished experience. I also enjoyed the walking sound very much.

kabutakogames says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 3:52am

This was a great little game - the colours were awesome. I just wish the text stuck around a little longer

Horsed says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 8:46pm

An incredibly good looking and good feeling game.

joe40001 says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 10:01pm

Great game, great visuals, W/Up being jump was about the only annoying thing. I wanted to keep playing. Really good work.

ChuiGum says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 4:08am

One of the best LD's I've played! Yes 5 star graphics just for all the juicy colors! Loved the art style, and loved the innovation. I had a really fun time, well done!

SteveSalmond says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 8:07am

Oh man, I loved this! A real pleasure to play, and one of the few I have had the patience to finish. Loved the level design. Congratulations on an awesome game.

StefanDJagers says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 1:20pm

Best...

That's all I have to say...
I mean like... THIS IS AMAZING!!!

Sanguine says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 3:00pm

Juiced and coloured out! I enjoyed it a lot! The boost from the paint gun felt just right. Some people enjoyed the climbing level, but for me it was mostly just frustrating, because my jumps kept being slightly off. It'd be cool if the transitions between various levels would be a bit smoother to make it a more cohesive experience in general.

mildmojo says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 6:55pm

Too beautiful. The sound design works so fluidly (ha!) with the gameplay. Sounds like it's mostly mouth sounds, including the music, but the organicness fits with the paint dripping everywhere and the squishiness of the wall jumping. The twinkles where the paint can stick are a top-notch touch.

It took a while to discover the paint-as-thrust. Maybe that could be introduced in a spot where the paint pushes you off a tiny platform into the void, communicating that there's force coming from the expulsion of paint?

Split82 says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 7:14pm

Perfect!

phi6 says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 11:40pm

Hey, I liked this entry so much I included the game as part of my Top 10 Platformers of Ludum Dare 32:
http://ludumdare.com/compo/2015/04/27/my-top-10-platformer-games-of-ludum-dare-32/

Apr 28, 2015 @ 2:50am

Wow. Just wow. this is a cool idea and perfectly executed. the wall jumping feels a little weird, but its not that bad. Very solid. i want more.

SaintHeiser says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 3:01am

Very good entry! Like the mechanics, visuals and puzzles. I'll beat it when I have some time, thanks! Good job!

Snicklodocus says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 3:54am

This is really cool. The graphics are great. I liked the writing too. Maybe it's just me, but I didn't realize I could right-click for a while, but I did eventually figure it out. Good job!

Apr 28, 2015 @ 4:15am

Really wonderful mechanic, even if not truly a weapon. Really love the way the graphics and sound support it. Wasn't quite sure what happened at the end because I just kept clicking and all of a sudden it said the end. But I really enjoyed it all the way through.

Anikki says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 9:57am

Absolutely brilliant. This is headed for a commercial release in my opinion.

Clavus says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 11:31am

One of the most polished games I've played this jam. Great presentation and solid gameplay. Lovely art, well executed!

sputnik says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 12:40pm

Simply the best.... Bravo!

The-Force says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 2:04pm

Cute and fun little game. Nice physics also, loved the wall and recoil jumps.

Embalaje says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 3:18pm

Brilliant game. Overall perfekt.
Great sound, great animations and feeling.

Marcus316 says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 2:02am

Fun mechanic, but I got lost a number of times not knowing what to do next. The controls also sometimes weren't as responsive as I'd like.

But those are minor things. Nice work!

OddballDave says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 3:37pm

Excellent graphics, audio, and mood in this one for me. The controls were a little fiddly at times. It might be good to play with a gamepad. Great entry. Good stuff.

MrShoestore says ...
May 1, 2015 @ 2:50pm

ok. its my favorite.

beautiful design, graphically and gameplay. and I want to drive around to that music.

so good.



so good.

Rubel says ...
May 1, 2015 @ 10:06pm

It's my favorite game of ld32 at now! Very hope you are the winner! Excellent work

joekinley says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 6:04pm

So hard, but good job.

micahcowan says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 4:28am

Holy wow.

The mechanics are fantastically fun. The trippy and dynamic graphics are great. I want to have this game's babies.

ChronoDK says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 6:15am

Beautiful! Lovely graphics and mood. I got stuck a few levels into the game sadly :´(

duon44 says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 11:45am

amazing game, only criticism is that there's maybe a little too much screenshake and the walljumping was kinda tricky sometimes

Alex Rose says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 2:03pm

So, to start: Audio was fantastic.

I find it hard to give a lot of feedback on stuff like this because it's a tight game and it seems you achieved everything you set out to. It looks great, the colour swapping of the palette is cool, you've made a great transition to Unity.

With the easter eggs.. I felt like I was missing something. Like the bit where you jump on a platform underneath. There's text there but it would've been nice to find some more remote platforms I could fly to in the middle of nowhere. Or maybe they exist and I'm just dumb and missed them. Also I would've liked the bit where I shoot at the blob and charge him up to have lasted longer, it felt like I might have skipped something because it went from charging him to instantly the heart screen.

Also the falling paint felt like it should recharge me.

There was one section where I got frustrated with the walljumping. I feel like I shouldn't have to hold down the direction towards the wall to keep ready to walljump, but I guess that's part of the engine, pushing you back from the wall? I found that frustrating when I was trying to jump right off a left wall or vice versa or on very thing platforms trying to be delicate and not overshoot.

But all those are minor gripes, it's a fantastic game as I'm sure you're already aware, and the sweat throwing system is very cool. Nice one.

mildmojo says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 8:08pm

I noticed this other game, Ink, that released recently. Ink's paint reminds me of this game, though the super-hard platforming makes it a different sort of experience.

https://twitter.com/ZackBellGames/status/595670929574866944

Nate says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 10:25pm

I love the way the little guy walks and the sounds he makes! XD

renatopp says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 3:17pm

This is amazing, 5/5!

cowboycolor says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 10:30pm

Great work! I really enjoy all the subtle camera stuff you did it makes a huge difference. I had a blast playing it and as always I love the wiggly movement to your art. Love you!

Atmospherium says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 11:45pm

This game probably has my favorite audio so far in LD32. It's not the most complex or impressive music, but it absolutely NAILS the quirky vibe of the game and makes everything feel just a bit unsettling (in a good way). The graphics are obviously awesome and give a lot of character to the game.

Gameplay was solid, although a few of the less-obvious mechanics made some sections a bit frustrating. The game ended right as I felt that I was getting the hang of what the character was capable of doing, so I definitely want to see you develop this into a full game.

Pinpickle says ...
May 7, 2015 @ 5:13am

That was really good, everything about it felt so fluid (em, pun intended?). Great work.

foolmoron says ...
May 8, 2015 @ 2:34am

Everything about the sweat is great. The rainbow colors contrasted with the flat background/platform graphics is really satisfying. The awesome screenshake when spraying sweat feels good every single time you click. The wet sounds and the dripping physics really convey how this strange material feels.

Level design was great - the tutorialization was nice and simple with the popup messages, and it quickly escalated into more interesting levels using the sweat "jet" ability and such. Although some of the levels had too much basic climbing where you jump up and sweat down to create a new platform. I'm glad you're continuing the game because there's a lot of cool stuff you can do with it.

The music and sounds were really great. The weird chanting was amazing and surprising for an LD game. Added a lot to that weird somber dreamlike atmosphere. In general, I'm pretty sick of these platformers with vague, spooky messages popping up as you run around, but this was done well enough that I still enjoyed the narrative.

The one thing that really annoyed me was the run cycle. I wish it was more squishy and sloppy like the rest of the graphics instead of this snappy 2-frame South Park style thing.

flummox3d says ...
May 9, 2015 @ 10:27am

Really awesome work! The sound effects, the art, the mechanics, ohmygod. So good! ^^

Skiddings says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 10:27pm

I really like this! It's movement and core mechanics were really well done and fun!

Jezzamon says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 11:17pm

Sick one! Obviously the visual polish and atmospheric sounds made a big difference to this game!

I felt like it was missing something though... some extra way to use the mechanic? There's obviously a big focus on polish, which is probably the most important thing for Ludum Dare games, but I would've liked to see something extra.

5/5 overall though! Excellent game.

wademcgillis says ...
May 12, 2015 @ 12:42am

so fun! wall jumping is difficult for me though.

Norgg says ...
May 15, 2015 @ 4:06pm

<3

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]