Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Graze

by Merigrim - Compo Entry

So I guess you could say I actually managed to finish this time. Though I would've liked to add more stuff and polish the mechanics and graphics, it's playable at least. I'm pretty satisfied though, since I spent most of the first day just trying to come up with an idea.

Graze is a bullet hell-style game where your goal is to destroy all your enemies, except you can't just shoot them.

In order to be able to fire your weapon, you need to absorb energy from the enemies' bullets, which is done by getting as close to the bullets as possible without getting hit. The closer you are, the faster your energy bar will fill up!

Once fully charged, you can fire a homing bullet that will hit the closest enemy. The faster you clear waves, the more points you will get.

There are currently 8 waves of enemies, after which the game will start over (however, the difficulty will still continue to increase for every wave you defeat).

Some bugs are present, and if I have time I will try to fix them. As far as I know they are very minor though (like a sound effect sometimes not playing when it should).

Controls:
Arrow keys/WASD - Move
Z - Roll
X - Fire weapon once fully charged
Escape - Return to title/close the game

Tools used:
Engine: Unity 5 (This was the first game I ever made in Unity, so the source code is very, very ugly. :P)
Graphics: Paint.NET
Music: Autotracker
Sound effects: sfxr
Map editor: Tiled

NOTE: I have tried to build an HTML5 version, but so far I have been unsuccessful. I will try to make one available tomorrow. Also, since I only have access to Windows at the moment, I cannot guarantee that the OSX and Linux version work properly.

Small update: Adjusted volume of bullet sounds as more enemies spawn, since the sound effects became really loud as the game progressed. I also removed the pillars in the corner which allowed the player to completely ignore the mechanics of the game. (I hope this falls under minor bug fixes.)

Old version:
Windows: https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/55495248/LD32/Graze.zip
Linux: https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/55495248/LD32/Graze_Linux.zip
OS X: https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/55495248/LD32/Graze.app.zip
Source: https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/55495248/LD32/Graze_Source.zip

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#295Innovation3.48
#344Overall3.40
#371Fun3.28
#393Audio3.00
#546Graphics3.06
#701Mood2.74
#891Theme2.84
#906Humor1.89

Comments

doitle says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:21am

This is a pretty unique concept and very hard. I'm not sure if there was a mechanic I was missing but it was near impossible to line up a shot on the enemies without getting shot yourself. I did manage it twice so it is possible, just difficult. Otherwise it seems pretty polished, graphics look good and it's very responsive. Well done.

redding says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:23am

The game is very hard, and I like it. I just wish it had some sort of checkpoint system.

FireCamp says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:23am

The game is nice overall. Like the idea !
In the execution, like you gain a lot at once when close to some bullets, and you can gain power being behind walls. the sound of bullets is a bit loud i think. Otherwise cool idea, but so hard !

Uruca Games says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:37am

The ideia is great. because the enemies are standing at the same place, you can find a point on the pilasters and stay the whole game just stopped killing them. This leaves the less challenging game.

Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:38am

Controls felt good, fun to play. Good level progression. Liked the audio/music as well. Didn't seem to have anything to do with the theme this time around? Would have liked to see the controls mentioned inside the game/on the start screen.

Ludipe says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:43am

I think I made it to round 5.

I thought the main mechanic was pretty clever and interesting. Usually in bullet hells you try to stay as far as possible from the bullets, however, here you're rewarded for being near them, that's pretty neat! :D

Sadly it's easy to use the columns to trick the enemies, but I'm sure it can be fixed easily.

Good work!^^

shyupuff says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:49am

Wow this is really hard. I like the music and the charging mechanic. And that roll is great. Nice job!

Kahztein says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:52am

It is a great game, it's original, music is catchy, and I was able to replay it a few times, good job!

Leon75 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:55am

Very fun game, I love bullet hell games. Only issue is that the shooting audio gets really loud over time, should probably lower it.

Neonlare says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:07am

Nice feel to the game, it's very hard to dodge and does get pretty hectic, if the hitbox of the character was smaller like other Danmaku inspired games it'd be a lot easier to graze bullets for energy. Digging this on all fronts, good job!

fleegle2000 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:19am

Interesting mechanic. I wasn't quite sure what was going on at first but that was just because I didn't read the instructions :) I only made it to the second level - it is quite challenging. Graphics and audio are nice! Good work!

TheBigShot says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:20am

Veyr nice idea. It a very nice game, but the execution is a bit flawed. After a while the audio became anoying. But I am a fan of these kinds of games. And its pretty good :)

Matsuki says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:24am

Game was pretty hard, but once I figured out how to charge your weapon (and the name became super obvious afterwards) it was pretty fun

sydan says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:36am

This was good fun :) it reminds me of times when games were much harder, not sure if that's good or bad. I did find that I could break the game by standing behind a pyramid near a corner and soaking up energy.

Danman9914 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:00am

The concept of recharging when you are near enemy projectiles is extremely compelling! Well done. In my opinion it is undermined slightly by the ability to shoot through walls. High points for fun and innovation!

Fanttum says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:15am

I didn't really get it at first, but then my mind was blown, haha. Great way to challenge the player. I thought it looked good too.

sally_anne says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:56am

From looking at the comments I worked out the key to playing but it was too difficult to be engaging for me.

ErikU says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:11am

Slick title! Agree with the others, it is quite hard and a checkpoint system would be nice. But otherwise it's a really nice little shooter. The roll really comes in handy.

KedumeBits says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:41am

Original weapon.

DragonXVI says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:51pm

Interesting twist, reminds me a bit of Bangai-O where the closer you are to enemy bullets, the more missiles you fire. Simple enough to play.

Newt_ says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:31pm

Very nice work! It was a little too hard for me, but everything seems very polished!

sugarbyte says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:58pm

Nice job!

johnnwfs says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:46am

I liked this one - it is crazy hard and I do think the bullets were relatively too loud vs. the music. Wasn't annoyed by the music but then I gave up after not getting past level 3 in 5 tries :-D Good overall job. If anything moving the pylons between levels might have been a good changeup.

43iscoding says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:13pm

Interesting concept, I don't think I have seen this one earlier. Graphics and sounds are simple, but looks neat together. The game looks pretty polished.

And I liked the game's hardcore difficulty :D

Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:18pm

I got 5,000,000 points and beat every level twice! Am I the high-scoring player?

I really enjoyed this game, but probably not in the way you intended. Here is some somewhat thoughtful feedback:

http://arrogantgamer.tumblr.com/post/117027640379/graze-will-never-be-the-queen-of-arena-fighters-a

Merigrim says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:25am

Thanks for the feedback everyone :)
I have fixed the gamebreaking exploit and adjusted the volume of bullets in later stages.

RoryD says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:53am

Cool idea. Game was too hard for me though. Need to start off with a more forgiving level so players can get a chance to learn the game mechanic.

Blunt says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:10pm

Great concept.

Horsed says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:51pm

Man, that's a hard game for me! I like it. It misses some more effects though.

Ludonaut says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:52pm

Cool idea, very hard game. You should try to juice it up a bit. :)

Apr 24, 2015 @ 8:27pm

Very fun game with an interesting mechanic, was a fun challenge.

Geckoo1337 says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 9:46pm

Interesting concept. I like it. All works well. I think that this project can be improved by adding some features, but it's good enough. Well done ++

MrShoestore says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 2:15am

I really like this because it focuses on one aspect of bullet hell shoot-em-ups that I personally struggle with... dodging. i suck at dodging, so i like seeing games where that is your main tool.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]