Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

EDDA

by madameberry - Compo Entry

when you encounter
one of your kind
you must use their own
weapons against them

wise, humerous
sensitive, ancient.
four types of poets.
can you best them all?

[FIX: The game would crash if open for more than a few minutes. I /think/ I fixed it. Please let me know if it still crashes.]
[PORT: Ported to HTML5. You can play it directly on itch.io now!]
[POST-COMPO Version: The HTML5 version is now the Post-Compo version. If you would like to rate my COMPO version, please download.]

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness56%
#5Innovation4.51
#15Theme4.34
#27Mood4.02
#35Graphics4.33
#50Audio3.89
#85Overall3.83
#191Humor3.46
#356Fun3.30

Comments

Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:28pm

You've won me over. The art style is perfect, the concept took me back to Beowulf, and the results of mad-libbing Norse poetry has never been better. Congratulations on making an amazingly simple, fascinating, and creative work.

drludos says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:45pm

Excellent idea, I love your take on the theme! The game has an incredibly relaxing mood, with beautiful art and good music.

My only complaint would be the lack of feedback. I "beat" two poets, but during the game it's sometimes hard to see if you did an interesting poem or not (the crowd is cheerful sometimes, but maybe they should "boo" at bad poems too?)

Any very innovative and creative entry, congratulations!

local minimum says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:47pm

Fabulous! Such poems I constructed. I didn't fully read or understand what made a poem good or bad according to the crowd, but that didn't really matter so much. Most fun was in the poetry slam itself anyhow.

The text was a bit hard to read though. If the font had had some border around its characters to make them stand out a bit better and maybe collect the completed lines float up to the top so you could easily read them without being covered of the next line's composition alternatives.

It should also come with a handy screen-shot button if a poem turns out particularly good. Also, if there was a place for the best poem ever written according to the games metric...

generic_ghost says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:48pm

Wow! Fantastic graphics and concept. I had a lot of fun putting together the poems but I was no match for my second competitor. A great game worth expanding and adding a story to.

Cheshyr says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:42pm

i am confused and enthralled. music and graphics were great, and i'm still trying to figure out some of the poetry. :-p great game.

Ludipe says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:59pm

Hi there fellow Construct dev! ^^

I thought the idea was very original and the art is lovely. I think it's not clear enough how to make "good" or "bad" poems, and that's something that should be pointed out.

The art is great and sets up the mood, but maybe the text should be a bit bigger, you have a lot of empty space on the screen and you could use some of it to make the text clearer.

Good work!

MightyToast says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:15pm

I love the take on the theme. Very original! The aesthetic and setting are spot on, and the crowd's reactions were fun every time you got your poem right.

ManicMiner says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:18pm

I'd love to know how it actually rates the poems - I get that you are supposed to match the "style" of your rival, but I'm intrigued to know how clever the system really is...

Either way, the reason I am so fascinated is because I just played the game for about an hour - it's absolutely glorious!

Lukbebalduke says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:45pm

Cool art style and music =). But it is a little bit hard to those that don't have a good english.

TobiasNL says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:51pm

def one of the more interesting concepts,too bad it wasn't that strong in communicating it by having a bit buggy rhymesystem. OVerall nice atmosphere, would recommend for a play.

graebor says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:58am

Very cool, love the concept! Constructing little poems in this way was a lot of fun, regardless of whether or not they were "successful". My only real complaint is that it's a bit hard to read small white text on that part of the background.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:17am

As one commenter put it, it's kind of great to "mad-lib" poetry. Loved the art style and the music. My only complaint, if Had one to give, was that the font in the title screen was bit hard for me to read? Other than that, perfection.

micahcowan says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:10am

Managed to beat two, but still had no real idea what I was doing.

Great, ambient music and graphics!

UndertakerInf says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:08pm

This was great! I'd keep playing if I understood the rules more clearly.
Also, the verse options are covering the previous verse and I'd like to see the full verse before accepting it (sometimes it was not what I expected).
I'd play this again, definitely, if I could tell how I was doing. I didn't best any poet, but there was some hollering after a couple of my verses, specially the ones which were good, so I guess I won those.

DrPrettyPatty says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:28pm

Didn't crash for me (Web player in Firefox on Windows), and great entry! Very clever idea, nice music, nice graphics, and interesting verses! Like others said it would be nice to get more immediate feedback if your poem was bad, but when you realize the crowd just remains silent you can use that as a clue. Awesome job!

commodoreKid says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:54pm

The idea is great but I think it could be realized much better. Feedback is missing and I didn't even know what I do to win actually. Style is nice though.

madameberry says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:16pm

Post-jam version updated! Thank you for the feedback! http://madameberry.itch.io/edda

dallonf says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 1:05am

I have no idea how well I was doing, but somehow I didn't care. The charm and personality here is off the charts.

kabutakogames says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 9:05am

Beautiful pixels - I feel our games are a kind of soulmate ;)

Apr 27, 2015 @ 8:46pm

Really beautiful graphics, great concept! It took me a minute to understand, but I enjoyed it! I included it in part 6 of my Ludum Dare 32 compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/Q11RJey0954

May 6, 2015 @ 10:11pm

Very interesting and innovative idea.
Nice take on the theme.
The problem is that I have no clue of how well or bad am I doing, and I don't have any idea of how am I suposed to construct the poems.
I'm no native english speaker so my intuition for the right word combinations is unexistent

May 7, 2015 @ 4:56am

Intriguing, but I didn't really understand if I was making a good poem or not (they at least sounded good to me though).

tikilittle says ...
May 8, 2015 @ 1:32am

Poetry Slamming with the big dogs. I really enjoy throwing down some mad stanzas and going toe-to-toe with a competitor. It would be cool to have the option to fight off with a human player.

yuigoto says ...
May 9, 2015 @ 4:00am

This is pretty unconventional, but it's great!

Loved the mood, the graphics, the music, the crowd!

I'm no match for this! :P

mathmadlen says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 1:43am

A joy to play, very creative, beautiful and wistful - loved it!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]