Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Makeshift Defense

by bvanschooten - Compo Entry

Keep the humans from reaching the other side by using any weapons that you can get your hands on. Click on an item to use it.

Press the full-screen button or follow the link to get a larger window. This will make it easier to select the weapons.

Features 9 weapons and 12 levels. Also plays nicely on a tablet.

Written in jgame.js using WebGL.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#165Fun3.62
#205Innovation3.66
#219Overall3.56
#266Theme3.70
#305Humor3.20
#469Mood3.03
#576Graphics3.02
#593Audio2.61
#1634Coolness41%

Comments

stray says ...
Apr 19, 2015 @ 10:25am

Pretty cool. I enjoyed it. I think lvl 2 is easier than lvl 1

ironleonem says ...
Apr 19, 2015 @ 10:55am

Looks really good! I don't know what system you're using, but it looks like your enemies are rotating when they ascend the ladder.

Apr 19, 2015 @ 11:45am

I like it, it's a fun game.

Jaloko says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:41am

Simple yet fun game. The difficulty ramps up nicely. Well done.

scumbly says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:30am

Fun! Levels get more and more interesting as the game goes on. Combo system is great.

jmborden says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:04am

Interesting game.. kind of the opposite of Lemmings.

gnx says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 5:23am

This is a fun spin on tower defense, that has a nice mix of reflex and strategy. The animations and sounds are a big bonus, as they make the gameplay really satisfying.

Missing some music :)

Sundr0 says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 10:41pm

Really nice concept, very fun game !

SamH says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 10:45pm

Great overall: nice graphics, the game mechanics are not boring. I had some trouble estimating the crossbow angles, though. The levels are challenging but well balanced. I played with a mouse but a touchscreen would be great for this.

lucentbeam says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 11:05pm

Really interesting game, with very clever mechanics. I seem to be pretty bad at it :)

DKoding says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 9:52am

Too hard to hit the weapon you want to use.

TeamQuadratic says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 11:14pm

Brilliant game, awesome concept! My only complaint is that level one was pretty... boring. I feel like you should have introduced the ground spring things first as they were much more interesting and would definitely have caught my interest more.

pinkrobopanda says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 11:16pm

Interesting concept! I like it!

SimianLogic says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 8:55pm

Pretty good idea for a game! I also enjoyed L2 a lot more than the first once I figured out you could combo the bouncy platforms (ditto for L3 -- much easier to use the bounce plates than the arrows).

kunzbe says ...
May 2, 2015 @ 1:37pm

Great job! Great fun. Every level brings something new, I really loved that.

May 4, 2015 @ 10:53am

Brilliant idea. I would have loved to see more level layouts.

May 4, 2015 @ 11:25am

This game is so much fun! I played through every level and really enjoyed it. Level 9 was the most difficult I think. Very good job!

Crefossus says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 11:26am

Innovative, sort of like a tower defense. You're onto something here. I like the energy of the animations and chaining deaths. If you could set that up yourself (like a weight above the ladder so they all die)

I think you could gain some inspiration from play some of the popular ones. Maybe you could place some of the traps yourself? The pacing seems a little slow/tedious.

The balls are hard to control. The weight picking is off - I think it should drop if you click anywhere on it (String or weight) as it's a bit finicky as is.

siryakko says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 11:36am

Really fun game, loved it

Madball says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 1:05pm

I liked the combo aspect, it's making you think about every action. I find it a bit difficult to look at the entire level, I usually end up killing enemies in front only.

I don't really like the graphics. Background seems random. If it's a pixelart game, why would it have high-res background and font?

Clicking seems a bit buggy, sometimes it takes a lot of clicks to use a defence unit, and one time I found myself letting loose all the frogs on a floor by simply hovering my mouse over them.

I liked the weapon variation, but I didn't like the (lack of) level variation. You could create levels with multiple lanes, or levels with several areas with unique weapons.

The difficulty of this game is well-balanced, and I had a lot of fun. Maybe you should've made the last level a bit more difficult, I completed it barely using the second floor.

May 4, 2015 @ 2:21pm

It took me several minutes to realize I wasn't controlling the little creatures but was actually supposed to kill them XD. Pretty original and fun! I wouldn't say no to more music though =).

OrangeeZ says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 3:30pm

The concept is definitely interesting, but I agree with those who mentioned that lvl1 is boring - I almost dismissed the game because of it, but things really get more fun afterwards. Well done :)

Krunoslav says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 4:05pm

Really fun gam! I love it! It is nice to kill marios!

Andy Gainey says ...
May 8, 2015 @ 4:39am

Pretty cool. The possibilities of using different types of weapons in combination with each other for effects not achievable by a single weapon type on its own is promising. The windmill + 10 ton weight was the best example of sort of effect that I saw in the levels I played.

Gravitation felt a little weak, but maybe I just wanted objects to fall more quickly thereby making the game easier. :-) Sometimes clicks didn't seem to register, though, which was slightly frustrating. Might have been only when I was trying to use multiple weapons one after the other quickly; is there a cooldown?

The level with the zombie potions defeated me. I found myself wishing the zombies would last longer before they faded. There was very little chance of getting a significant chain of zombie infections. Maybe with windmills I could have gotten more. Crowd control is what it's all about.

Finally, sometimes the weapons would get placed in completely useless positions, such as bows pointing in directions where an enemy will never travel. Minor, but made me sad when things came down to the wire and I only had a few weapons left, and most of them were incapable of achieving anything.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]