Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

An Unconventional Weapon

by hypp - Compo Entry

An Unconventional Weapon

Background:
FACT: The worlds reserve of fossil fuels is depleting.
FACT: As you most likely have heard, fossil fuels consists of dead dinosaurs.
FACT: The only living relative to the dinosaurs are the birds.
CONCLUSION: Logically, to refill the reserve, you must kill as many birds as possible.

Instructions:
The exhausts from your car will make the birds sick so they fly lower.
When they fly low enough you can run over them with your car.
But if you go to fast you use up more of the worlds fuel reserve.

Use arrow keys to control the car.

--------------------------

This time I decided early on that I wanted to do an Outrun-style racing game,
using techniques from the 8-bit/16-bit era. So that is what I did,
there is no 3d in the game, just the illusion of 3d.

You need a fast computer and a fast browser.

* Tested on Windows with latest Chrome, Firefox and Internet Explorer.
(Internet Explorer runs slooooow).

* Tested on OSX with latest Chrome and Safari.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#62Humor3.88
#321Audio3.13
#562Mood2.92
#564Theme3.32
#670Innovation2.92
#693Overall3.03
#696Fun2.89
#901Graphics2.44

Comments

dreadzilla says ...
Apr 19, 2015 @ 11:20pm

Nice music and sound effects! Plus it's a car game! Thumbs up!

Mano says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:01pm

Not that unique weapon, but A+ on the humor.

Jakob37 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:02pm

I really liked the humour in this game. I smiled the whole way through it. The visuals might be the weaker part of the game, but they still made their job well. Nice job, I liked this!

thumbgarden says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:03pm

Funny little game. Nice work

Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:06pm

C64. Outrun. Flashbacks from my childhood. Nice. :)

tanjent says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:53pm

"This sure does look like outrun!" #thingsinmyhead ... Plays one round of the game and reads text below, sure enough there it is!! I thought I should avoid the birds so I only got 3 kills :) For a real clone there should be the "world map" with splitting levels and a goal at the end... probably something oil related :P

Tommislav says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:23pm

I couldn't play the game embedded on this page (if I try to speed up the web page just scrolls away), but the link works fine.

I love the way you managed to capture the feeling of the wind blowing in your hair... only the coughing, the fumes and the bumpy road makes it a bit less glamorous. A bit. =D

Anshul Goyal says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:27am

*cough... cough... cough*... I am such a horrible person... *cough... cough... cough*

suppi says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:31pm

you made me kill innocent birds. i hope you are happy with yourself.

fleegle2000 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:01pm

Bit hard on the birds, no? Funny game, audio is pretty good, though I found the way the birds moved in relation to the road a bit unusual, and I wasn't sure that my accelerating was actually helping me get any closer to the birds. First car game I've played this competition - not sure that a car is all that unconventional a weapon, but hey. Anyway, good work!

Apr 24, 2015 @ 12:20pm

Unconventional weapon indeed. Great voice (cough) acting BTW. :-)

gillyadrien says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 5:53am

Nice music, and fun game! I'm loving the *cough* sounds.
Good work!

celisoft says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 9:14am

Love the game, it reminds me Lotus / Crazy Cars on my Amiga !!

grillaface says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 7:55pm

Haha yeah stupid birds come get some!

hunttis says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 7:56pm

The logic is infallible in the description! Nice work on the road-illusion. Reminded me of outrun!

Cough cough :D

coderitual says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 7:59pm

Super graphics style but as a bird, I have some doubts about the mechanics :)

OnlySlightly says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 6:15am

The perspective made me nostalgic for old racing games. Even though the subject matter was kind of gruesome it was kind of pleasant driving in the summer day, to no destination in particular. I appreciated all the particle effects, the smoke and blood. And cute touch with the coughing along with the smoke :) Great job!

Nilq says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 5:30pm

Woah. Nice! It's pretty satisfying, to run the birdish thing over. x3

muumeroinen says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 5:38pm

Cough cough cough

May 7, 2015 @ 11:17pm

Quite a strange game you have.
The idea is interesting and the programmer art is lovely.
I would critic that the gameplay is quite repetitive and the kill sound feels like someone is knoking on the door.
Anyway nice implementation on the old school racing games map.

Druid says ...
May 8, 2015 @ 10:37am

Really interesting idea!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]