Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Ring Retorter

by zatyka - Compo Entry

Step into the ring to face off in a battle of wits. Do you have the intellect to become the champ?

Controls:

Mouse click to progress the text and make selections.
Mouse wheel scrolls through selections.
M to toggle audio.


Inspired by The Secret of Monkey Island.
Music generated with cgMusic.
Sound effects generated with bfxr.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness85%
#9Humor4.25
#41Theme4.19
#103Fun3.76
#137Overall3.70
#170Mood3.49
#272Graphics3.56
#276Audio3.21
#518Innovation3.15

Comments

ManicMiner says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:11am

Love it - a great reminder of just how good that mechanic from Monkey Island was! A very enjoyable game

brennen says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:13am

I like the sprites, but the options for comebacks where limiting. I feel like it be nice to know what comeback the game was looking for to make the right move.

mcmahoniel says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:18am

I love the art. The pace was a little slow, and the retorts were a little confusing, but overall a really cool idea.

Armanky says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:09pm

Gotta love insult sword-fighting! I really like that every comeback corresponded to different insults. It really made you have to think about it every time. The dialogue's pretty funny too. Good job!

BraindeadGeo says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:15pm

Nice Monkey Island homage!

MacMC says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:17pm

clever idea, and it was executed well. Good job!

micahcowan says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:42pm

Fun play, good interpretation of the theme. Over too quick :)

The idea reminds me of the idea behind my game for LD 30, "Friendly Baubles". Had to connect friends from your different "worlds" by matching up their dialog and shooting them at each other. (Dumb game, but the idea was fun to work on, anyway.)

DKoding says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:08pm

If you have played Monkey Island 1 this will look very familiar. Loved it anyway, but one star for innovation. :-)

Celt says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:08pm

♥ ♥ ♥

ccglp says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:27pm

How appropriate. You fight like a cow.

igorfelga says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:54pm

Nice game!!!

helekopeter says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:28pm

Best use of theme i have seen so far.

jordyadan says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:55pm

Liked the idea, art and gameplay! Great game.

fserb says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:39pm

LOVED IT. Good job.

ryguydavis says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:13am

Nice mechanic, well executed. Amazingly simple concept for how engaging it was.

llamaguy says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:57pm

Hahaha, The graphics, the music and the insults made me laugh and laugh!! The insult fight is an art.

Mekuri says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:07pm

haha, this was sooo Monkey Island-ish :P
I loved that the insult wasn't a 1 to 1 ratio. Some of them could be used against several remarks- Nice touch!
I could play this for hours if it had more enemies :P I had great fun (And maybe you earn a few cheap points from the nostalgia rush I got from it :P )

Great job!

Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:23pm

Really fun entry, it made me smile a lot. It was great when you found the perfect response. Is it possible to get 100% right I wonder?

Kyatric says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:32pm

Ha the good old Monkey Island insults.
It is a good idea using insults as weapons and I contemplated doing it in my game. I'm glad I didn't so I could enjoy all the more your own game.

It's almost a shame there are only 3 opponents, but it was really a fun time playing for me.
I even saw what you did with the blue/yellow dress on your coach ^^

I believe, some of the comments about the retorts come from the language barrier. I knew what you meant, because we share French, but I also knew some of them weren't correctly spelled or written (You're =/ Your, etc...)

It is also, I guess, a matter of personal preference, when sometime I chose an insult, saw I was getting pounded for it, and yet thought "I liked my answer/retort though" ^^

Mechanically otherwise, I believe everything was there, it was clear whether the retort hit the mark or not and what was the situation in the fight.

I managed a 12/16 retorts in my first try which made me enjoy the game all the more.

Good job in making that entry in 48 hours, don't forget to post about it in your own topic in the forums ;)

colludium says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:34pm

Great idea. I found myself failing to adhere to the "5 second rule" of when a good retort should be delivered... I liked the options; good fun!

Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:44am

Fun! I rather liked the insults here, and the coach's reward for losing was cute. :-)

xbcw says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:12am

Solid game. Really fun.

atrodo says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:21am

It's great to see someone went with this idea. It was really well done.

zillix says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:32am

fantastic and well-executed! it was really fun to play and is a great use of the theme. awesome job :)

randoman says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:15am

11/18 Sucessful Retorts! Couldn't stop playing!

wg_phancock says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:24am

Guybrush would be proud. You must have had fun coming up with the insult pairs.

oranebeast says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:26am

Haha. I loved it.

Kizler says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:09am

I enjoyed this little throw back. :)

Manou says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:16am

I played Monkey Island 2, but in french! So I can't understand the jokes as my english is limited. Good job anyway.

Tuism says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:06am

Excellent writing. I love the writing, it's all wit, but the mechanics themselves required a bit more attention to make the experience more fun. Maybe if there are only three answers and all are on screen at a time, and the list gets longer against stronger opponents... A timer.. (I hate timers in general but it fits in a boxing sense).

Did you listen to the Frog Fractions soundtrack? The bit about the History of Boxing? It fits this *perfectly* :) https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qIlTJIJS8p0

Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:51am

Really nice overall. Very clever usage of good ole' fighting with words. The sounds and art used all tie in nicely together too.

The background music stopped at one point though, perhaps it wasn't looping? I was fiddling with my phone while playing the game, so I'm not sure how long I was sitting there. (I liked that you didn't add additional pressure with time limits btw) felt appropriate given how many options were present.

I also liked the decision to keep all the potential responses in a list and just have you choose from them. Since there weren't a ridiculous amount of them, it was manageable to choose from, and I also found it interesting how certain lines were re-usable.

I also loved how smoothly the narrative transitioned when I lost my second fight. It all felt very natural moving along to the next fight (winning btw) and then getting the final results.

I honestly don't have much to gripe about with this game. It's very well executed overall and literally the only problem I noticed was the background music cutting out after sitting there for who knows how many minutes.

If you were to expand on this concept and add more content THEN you might need to consider pairing down the selection list of options to a handful for each retort, randomizing the "wrong" options.

I also just realized this was a Compo entry, jeez man great job. Very clean execution for such a tight deadline.

joe40001 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:12am

I'm the come back king!

Fun innovative game. Also has a distinct but good style. Well done.

ruerob says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:51am

What a great entry it reminds me of good old monkey island! Well done!

drschizzo says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:39am

the influence of monkey island is obvious but it is still very well done. You manage to keep the spirit in the writing and in the graphics. nice game

natalye says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:06am

Very nice!
The insults were funny and so was the rest of the dialog. Tutorial sequence was great.
I did notice some of the retorts were too similar to the MI ones.
It was hard to tell if you got the right insult or not (the visual cue of moving slightly forward wasn't strong enough).

By the way, I also made a game inspired by this MI puzzle, and I think your dialogs are better, good work :)

AlexDJones says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:31pm

Really great entry - nice implementation of the core mechanic!

ghenoroc says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:53pm

Very well done. If only it could be longer.

sputnik says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:16pm

Love it!

TheMeorch says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 6:42am

Always good to see the classic Monkey Island gag. Well done, I enjoyed the art and some of the retorts are quite witty.

Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:28pm

Brilliant homage to a great game mechanic. I just wish there was more!

shadow64 says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 9:01pm

A fun idea and a great concept. I enjoyed the music and the sprite art. The writing is solid, but for the sake of clarity, maybe try having really specific lines.

In further testing, if you found that a retort could work for a few different insults, then maybe give that one partial credit, so that the player doesn't feel like they're just trying to figure out your thought process.

Thanks for sharing and congrats on finishing! :)

LandoSystems says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 12:19am

Woot! I'm the "Come back king". Very nice job.

ianburnette says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 12:19am

Very well done. Nothing wrong with borrowing from the greats. Didn't love the use of the word bitch - seemed unnecessary and needlessly vulgar. Obviously what words you use is up to you, but I was sorta in Monkey Island mode, so I was expecting that pg rating :)

zatyka says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 12:44am

@ianburnette

Point taken, and I was on the fence about it. I only put the "bitch" retort in there to be a response to an insult referencing a dog. Otherwise, I would not have included it. Thanks for playing.

psychonull says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 3:52am

This entry is really solid-clean-polished! I'm a big fan of the insult fights. Cannot complain about anything really, just wanted more. Liked the blue dress.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 4:05am

great idea for the theme - nice graphics and sounds - great job

hexdie says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 3:18am

I loved it! Very nice work! Original idea with good execution. I enjoyed the artwork as well!

Enneract says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 4:06am

Fantastic game! I think it's my favourite use of the theme so far :D

panurge says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 2:04pm

Great job, really took me back to the Good Ole Days of playing Monkey Island on my Amiga. You even included that neat 'now use the same retorts in a different context' trick.

Graphics, audio and gameplay all complement each other very nicely and I enjoyed this a lot.

syncxzoz says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 2:54pm

nice game..... lol...

Erkberg says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 10:40pm

That dress in the end :)
Really fun and funny game, gotta love some insult battles, good job!

igoramendola says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 7:49am

As a Monkey Island fan, I have loved to play your entry. Obviously, I played it more than once to try different answers haha... and I finally won with 3/0!
Interesting use of the theme. Great entry :))

norwalnate13 says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 12:31am

Wits are sharper than any sword!

ajopart says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 8:09am

Oh that was great ! Thanks for your timelaps. I would have missed this hilarious entry otherwise

SoftCoconuts says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 1:43pm

Hahahah very nice! Very complete game, with instructions, cool graphics, great sound effects and reusable lines. I LOVE IT! :)

polegar says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 1:31pm

Perfect idea and realisation, had a really fun time playing. Maybe you should reduce a bit the choice for each punchline. It was far more entertaining than the "fight of the century" ;)

May 4, 2015 @ 5:26pm

I loved it! Nice tribute to Monkey Island! I thought about making something like this, but ended up making a typing game.
The art and music are awesome too! :D

MrShoestore says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 1:28am

i like it. simple but silly, wish there was a bit more audio, the beginning was silent.

ekun says ...
May 7, 2015 @ 4:35am

Loved it!

I have fond memories playing The Secret of Monkey Island, you managed to capture to sword-fighting mechanics perfectly.

Omiya Games says ...
May 7, 2015 @ 11:54pm

I kind of wished that the retorts would add on top of each other, so that you bruise your opponent more. Example:

Guy 1: "You fight like a dairy farmer."
Guy 2: "How convenient: you fight like a cow."
Guy 3: "Yikes, Guy 1 is sucking more than usual."

Maybe that way, your decisions has more weight on them.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]