Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Get'em Princess!

by Boberro - Compo Entry

There is a boy, chased by the balloon army. The boy is defenseless, but fortunately he knows Princess - a pig who just loves apples.

LMB - Throw an apple. There are 8 spots where apples (and enemies can) spawn.

Survive as long as you can.

DISCLAIMER: At the time of submission I had problems with textures in compiled version. It appears to be a problem with outlined shader, so I had to change shaders in all objects. Another thing I changed was deleting of unused assets, as it turned out that unity compiled even things unused in the project.
Another problem, as it turned out later, was inability to play after death, this too was fixed.
Uploaded binaries are of the fixed version.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness69%
#639Humor2.56
#783Audio2.03
#806Theme3.03
#931Mood2.37
#940Innovation2.49
#976Graphics2.26
#1065Fun2.14
#1112Overall2.29

Comments

Demy says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 8:44am

I can't open Unity Player link and/or is there any option to play the game from windows 32?

Apr 26, 2015 @ 9:37am

Played it for just a little bit. The infinitely spawning mobs sort of discouraged me from playing to be honest, as they generally seem like a cheap way to ramp up difficulty over time until the odds are ridiculously unfair.

I have to admit, the silent green "balloons" (they really don't seem like balloons to me) were actually pretty creepy. I think it's just the fact that they move towards you at a constant not too fast but not slow either rate... and they just make no noise. They're completely ominous and void of any... anything! Running up a stairway and seeing them pour up onto the rooftop with you actually evoked a bit of tension for me haha. And jumping off to escape felt pretty cool.



The level structure reminds me of a mario kart 64 stage, though it's such an old game I think my memory is just a tad fuzzy haha. Here's a reference in case you were curious of what I'm talking about:
http://mariokart.wikia.com/wiki/Block_Fort

Running up the stairs was sometimes problematic. It seemed sort of easy to get hung up on their geometry and I needed to jump in order to continue up them properly.

It's somewhat similar but slightly more complex and intertwined.

The visuals were fairly nice and did the job. The grass in particular has a nice effect when light hits it a certain way.

I think overall you got the basics down pretty well (aside from the stairs). The movement and general motion seems normal. The footstep sounds give a sense of weight to walking around. Good move adding those in, they give a lot to the feel of the game (consider adding in more audio, it really rounds out the experience).

I think the main thing that discouraged me was just the endless factor. Some people may not have as much of an issue with that aspect, but for me it's kind of an instant turn off in a game where I know the enemies will spawn forever without limit no matter what I do. Or, at least I'm pretty sure how it works. There sure were a lot of them.

MJaawa says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 9:41am

Good effort, with more work this could be a really fun game, the balloons are really creepy enemies :)

Boberro says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 9:54am

Changed it to x86 build :)

coderkeith says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 11:21am

A good effort - keep trying! Looking forward to the Princess's next adventure.

Apr 26, 2015 @ 11:22am

Ballons are really creepy

runvs says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 4:40pm

Nice entry!

SimianLogic says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 8:44pm

Good start! I wasn't super clear on whether or not I could kill the balloons with my apples or not (though the pig sure seemed to like them). There seems to be something off with the turn sensitivity -- I would often find my mouse cursor outside the window and then clicking would de-focus instead of firing an apple. Would definitely recommend turning up the look sensitivity.

crazya02 says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 10:50pm

The balloons were surprisingly creepy! Loved the atmosphere, though, it got a bit frustrating after awhile.

Boberro says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 10:22am

Well, the plan was to make a level with actual goal, but time constrains made me move into arena style one

DarkMeatGames says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 5:54pm

Cool idea, but controls were a bit unforgiving. Was hard to get princess to go where I wanted. Also, lack of mouse capture on the webplayer made it hard to play.

calavera says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 6:00pm

had to download it because the web player wouldn't lock my mouse. Had a lot of fun though!

zwartraider says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 12:18pm

I love the piggie princess! The balloons are pretty eerie :O

ZQMony says ...
May 2, 2015 @ 9:19pm

Nice job, but there are way too many enemies.

May 6, 2015 @ 9:24pm

Walking around your level felt nice. The enemy interaction was a bit punishing though. Would have appreciated a health bar that allowed you to take multiple hits.

rburema says ...
May 7, 2015 @ 6:39pm

thoughts:
- Those things are creepy enough on their own, but then your weapon is very indirect! (Which is a good thing, since that was the whole idea...) Being almost defenseless like that is pretty scary. Kind of like a reverse escort mission now that I think of it.
- I, too, had some problems with the stairs. Maybe you could try to make the collision-box a slope?

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]