Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Suri and Jeferex

by muromets - Jam Entry

Suri and Jeferex
First Ludum Dare for all of us !


Suri is a girl who likes to play with JefeRex, her GrowMonster toy. Some boys start making fun of her, and there she realizes that JefeRex is actually alive. All she need's to do is to get him in water and he will grow, allowing her to run and jump higher and he also attacks those who try to harm her.

* Step into the water to make "JefeRex" (the dinosaur toy) grow, allowing you to reach higher places
* Watch your water level, if it passes 10 "JefeRex" will get smaller
* Beware of the sand and salt on your path, for they dry "JefeRex"
* Get close to the bullys to let "JefeRex" attack them

The level is REALLY short, had to work on monday, no time to finish it :(

The game was made using the Unity Engine V.5, i've created the EXE file, and included it with the resources needed on a ZIP file that u can download

Our team consist of:

Edith Rios : Art and animations (mostly Photoshop)
Carlos Rabago : Sounds and Music (Audacity)
Andres Garcia : GUI elements
Anton Ortega : Coding (Unity3D, C#)

Hope u enjoy this little game

*************************************************************************
PSA: Unity Player is no longer compatible with Chrome
As of Chrome 42 (released April 14th), Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will no longer work in Chrome (i.e. NPAPI plugins).

If you select to play the game trough the WEB link, please do so in Internet Explorer
*************************************************************************

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness81%
#177Graphics(Jam)4.00
#209Audio(Jam)3.43
#217Mood(Jam)3.49
#346Overall(Jam)3.41
#362Fun(Jam)3.26
#395Innovation(Jam)3.27
#488Humor(Jam)2.92
#612Theme(Jam)3.23

Comments

10FingerArmy says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:17am

This was so cool. It took me a while to figure out when the balloon explodes but after that I marvelled at the level and the mechanics. The girl is so cute and the air pump idea rocks. Love it!

skylerWithAnE says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:07am

You forced me to learn the game's key mechanic with the level design and that was a really good thing since I didn't read the description. Kudos! I think I played it to the end, I didn't really get a reward or credit screen.

muromets says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:30am

Thnx guys, the level is really short, i didn't had time to finish it (had to go to work today), but we are going to continue developing this idea during the next months

Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:17am

Great art and a cool central mechanic. The physics made it hard to move through the level for me. But good stuff!

sararyCow says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:22am

Beatiful and colorful game. I love the soundtrack as well. Mechanics are working, the shame is the level wasn't longer.

Supernovadx says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:31am

Wow. I did not know what was going on at first, then I ran into the blue puddle at the end and saw the balloon blow up. So great. Excellent level design. Great artwork. Music could be better. Overall great job.

benjamck says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:54am

That was a delightful little game. I loved the artwork. Clever mechanic too. This could be a fun game to develop a little further.

vvolis says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:55am

Interesting mechanic and very very nice animations. The game feels very alive. The movement (especially jumping) feels a bit forced, might be because of gravitiy, but otherwise awesome entry! :)

ruerob says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:42am

Nice little game. Hope to see more of it in the future, because the level was a little short. Short but excellent! Thank you for your entry!

Fabraz says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:54pm

Gosh darn adorable. Simple, but adorable.

IamAcoconut says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:10am

Cool game! Super cute! I really liked the music and graphics!

andrewjoy says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:12am

Awesome game and great art.

Reis Mahnic says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:17am

Wow! So cool! The visuals and animation in particular were very impressive- the way the girl would nervously look behind her as the dinosaur shrunk- and the gameplay was very solid and with a novel idea that tied directly into its narrative powering it to boot!

Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:19am

Wow, Newgrounds... that takes me back! Great little game and really impressive that you did it in 48 hours. Loved your take on the unconventional weapon theme

P.S. Thanks for the review

nonetheless says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:40pm

I really like the idea. And the animations are nice :)

richiebranson says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:52pm

I love the art design and how the girl gets happier as the dinosaur grows. Solid work!

Huo-cuo says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 4:08am

Very original idea and well prepared level. Good game.

rodobodolfo says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 1:48am

Good job, very nice game!

WeaselZone says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 2:50pm

Took me a moment to realize what to do, since I didn't read any instructions or comments but then I got it - super cute and unique mechanic. Could see some really interesting levels and gameplay with this mechanic.

Mechamew says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 9:00pm

Great entry. Loved the art and music. Loved the pink dino! Would have been nice to have a bit more feedback with things like taking damage or attacking, but given the timeframe, this is a great achievement!

Prowler says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 9:27pm

Such a great idea! I realy love your art style and the cuteness of your drawings. This is a great game!

Yoon says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 11:25am

I am impressed by the animation's quality, the audio, and overall coolness.
Definitely adding "GrowMonster toy" to my birthday wishlist !

You could improve the jump's physics and add extra SFX. But one badass feature would be to customize Jeferex. He's so cute.

ohsqueezy says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 1:44am

The bullies are classic foes

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]