Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Polarity

by Moraleidahgo - Jam Entry

When facing yourself, time is your only weapon! That and lasers. A lot of lasers.
Polarity is 3D top down dodgeball style shooter where you must face all your previous selves every round. Shoot, dodge, defend and attack to beat the mistakes and successes of your past.

-> W, A, S, D to move
-> Aim with the mouse
-> Shoot with the left mouse button, hold to charge
-> Shield by holding the right mouse button

Any feedback is welcome! Thanks!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#145Audio(Jam)3.63
#207Fun(Jam)3.50
#255Graphics(Jam)3.80
#285Innovation(Jam)3.45
#288Mood(Jam)3.39
#313Overall(Jam)3.45
#843Humor(Jam)2.13
#1022Theme(Jam)2.09
#1856Coolness35%

Comments

diiq says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:13pm

The sound and feeling of the laser bolts are very, very satisfying -- maybe not unconventional, but very satisfying :)

Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:15pm

Interesting mechanics, but I had trouble moving. Great aesthetics. Good job!

Airrrick says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:16am

Exciting, fast paced game! Made it to lv 18!

noxuma says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:44am

Very good, I really like the effects, Its a little hard to tell when my weapon is re-charged and ready to go, a little power charge bar might help but very nice, love the sound and graphics.

ChronusZ says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:48am

I didn't realize the concept until after I finished playing and read the description. That's an amazing concept! I loved it, very fun and great art/music :-)

djfariel says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:49am

It was all very well done, but the difficulty sort of exploded after round 6. I spent 5-10 minutes trying to get one hit on the enemy once he started using his shield. Really cool idea anyway.

MiniBobbo says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:56am

I think the Windows download contains the Mac build.

Holy cow I am bad at this. Great theme and execution!

dyfer says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:06am

probably good if it was finished ... the main idea was good

CamRFWhite says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:10am

Such a great concept! Super innovative. Web build I couldn't move at all, or replay the game. Weapon wasn't unconventional necessarily, but totally made up for it with the unique mechanics.

SilentNight says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:15am

I'm really digging the game. It plays really well and is fun. I wish there were a couple more gimmicks added but its fun regardless.

gillyadrien says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:51am

Very fun game. I kept firing left and right the first time, before realizing that it would make the clones do the same to me. My second play through was definitely better.

Nicely done!

DaniDK says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:04pm

Wow... I loved the concept that you find yourself, also the game is super complete. Feels awesome. Good Job

Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:07pm

Nice game, very complete! Not actually fit into the theme though - the laser weapon is very conventional. Apart from that, very polished, cool music and graphics!

rmc says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:59pm

I don't think it's right on the spot of the theme, apart from that, the game is really well made, there is some sharp corners, like the absence of a indication when you could shoot again, and some variation of the "gun" or mechanics.
Good job.

Floko says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 4:28am

I CAN'T MOVE D:
For some weird reason,I was unable to walk.But I still managed to survive 11 rounds just by starting the round by shooting to the side,then blasting to the front untill all my clones were dead, haha.

The idea is pretty awesome,and the graphics/audio are pretty good ,too bad it didn't work for me x)

Apr 24, 2015 @ 6:06pm

Really fun game with an interesting concept. Graphics and sound were great as well.

Blunt says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 2:36pm

great little concept.

epiplon says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 4:46am

Great graphics, good idea and mood... I think it would be suited for two players. AI experience was kinda frustrating, lots of random shots and blind spots.
Nice entry btw

ohsqueezy says ...
May 9, 2015 @ 5:40am

speed of light

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]