Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Super Vegetables

by Yakka - Compo Entry

You are a farmer harvesting organic vegetables. They are robots from the food industry.

It's time to defend your farm.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#232Fun3.48
#276Overall3.48
#322Innovation3.44
#372Theme3.56
#384Humor3.04
#597Audio2.59
#901Graphics2.44
#1305Coolness49%

Comments

Zylann says ...
Apr 19, 2015 @ 11:08pm

I did 110 points! Wished there was more different vegetables to throw or more enemies, when you level up. I'm a polygon <3

AgentParsec says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:27am

310 was my best.

marinalucio says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:00am

I couldn't play the game but it looks awesome. I wanna play with super vegetables. :)

Yakka says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:15am

Oups, the link was broken, it's fixed now :)

SpringCabal says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:06pm

Was fun, a few more features & maybe seeing some of what the future holds would be nice.

phi says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:06pm

I don't mind that the behavior of the enemies is so predictable, but the choices the player gets for the weapon sometimes don't allow for a "creative" strategy; most of the time there's one logically better weapon, and sometimes there's no way to escape death. I like the arrows that show who's involved in an attack, they are quite helpful. :)

2kah says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:09pm

Nice idea, I got 151 points :)

Agram says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:13pm

this game is as efficient as simplist. I like this !

eott says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:51pm

111 points, because that's a nice number to lose to. Interesting concept, nice game.

mantis says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:55pm

Really liking it :)

shrapx says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 12:15pm

its a fun design! i got 88 points so far. Looks like i had better learn my vegetables.

Psyho says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 4:42pm

Seems that the game can be cheated by always going for health and/or shield when they're available, and then increasing max health for reduced variance.

Still, I actually found it quite fun. Minimalistic music actually fits nicely with graphics and gameplay. Having more cards and potentially maybe more characters (several lines), adding possibility for saving cards, changing positions/items, and few others, could make a decent time-killer mobile app.

syncxzoz says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 10:41pm

the enemies are too many.. help..

gruhn says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 1:00am

A good concept and mechanic.

Pierrec says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 1:52pm

Great mechanics. I want to play it again after the rating rush. Graphics and music could be improved, but it's already nice to play.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]