Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Tuba Knight

by dalbinblue - Compo Entry

Note you will need to install the XNA Redistributable to play this entry. You can get it from the link below. The game can be played with the keyboard or an XBox controller. Finally, there are three hidden treasures in the game. See if you can find them all.

You are Tuba Knight! The Mad conductor has stolen the symphony of solace, and plunged the land in to complete discord, survive his lair with your trusty horn by sucking in and blowing out enemies or other objects to break through barriers and destroy other enemies.

Controls (Keyboard)
-------------------
Arrow keys - Move player
Left Alt or X - Play tuba (sucks in or blows depend on whether or not you've captured something.
Left Ctrl or Z - Jump
Escape - Exit game

Controls (Game Pad)
-------------------
Digital pad - Move player
X - Use Tuba
A - Jump
Back - Exit game

As always, constructive feedback is encouraged. I have enabled anonymous feedback, but I would ask you don't use it, even if being critical so that I can respond and discuss (I can take it, really).

Update 1:
---------
- Fixed three game breaking bugs:
- As reported by SuperPokeunicorn the window would open with the title bar above the screen and the window partial obscured. It looks to be cause by high DPI screens. I have corrected the window position and sizing.
- There was a place on the map where you could fall through.
- I found in Parallel's desktop that the ALT and CTRL buttons wouldn't send key presses until the keys were released making it impossible to play. I added Z and X as input as an option to fix this.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#36Overall4.00
#66Fun3.85
#104Graphics4.00
#112Audio3.62
#116Theme3.95
#126Mood3.59
#175Humor3.50
#556Innovation3.10
#1856Coolness35%

Comments

Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:35am

Fantastic. Neat, original mechanic. One thing to note is that the window defaulted to a position where part of it was off screen and I could not move it because the title bar was off screen too(https://imgur.com/ZlcIuPJ). This was annoying, but I did not take off points for it. It would be greatly appreciated if this bug could be fixed. Otherwise, amazing entry.

dalbinblue says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:34am

@SuperPokeunicorn. This has been fixed.

gillenew says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:56am

I played for a long time, a lot of fun, but the controls need to be adjusted to be smoothed.

Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:24pm

Very consistent art style and good idea =D. The controls could use some adjustments, but it's compo and, due to the circunstances, it's not a problem at all. Great job!

Jakob37 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:04pm

Very nice! Definitely one of my favourites this far. The graphics, sound and gameplay went together very well, and the mechanics felt polished.

Tijn says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:02pm

Oooo, this looks great! I wish I could play it, but I'm on Mac OS X :'(

maunovaha says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:19pm

Cool game! .. I really liked the retro feel of it. :) good job.

Kitch says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:24am

Ok... so that's like a really, like really... good take on the theme... but answer me this...
How could you feature a sousaphone and not have some sort of oom-pah music as a front runner for the soundtrack? I mean... really... c'mon...

But seriously... the theme, art and music (with it's blatant disregard for oom-pahness) was spot on and really worked. Loved the suck in/blow out mechanic. One of my favorites thus far.

If I had to name a complaint, the controls were a little off from my usual for this sort of game, I kept blowing and sucking when I meant to jump... but that's my own left handed "different strokes" problem...

Good job! Thanks!

scorched says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:03pm

Enjoyed this game, though the idea seems to be stolen from Kirby's Adventure :-) 5 stars for all except innovation

mortus says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:11pm

Awesome! Reminds me of so many great arcades! The only thing I dislike about this game is the colors of the background. I've noted your progress post during the event and noted it as a perfect example of good theme use, turns out the game is fun and addicting to play too! Too bad there's not much levels. Great work!

SonnyBone says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:47pm

Wow I loved all the music references and the music-based enemies. I only wish the sound effects would've been more musical, too.

Once again you nailed that retro feeling and hit another homerun with a unique cast of characters. That boss fight was especially memorable.

I appreciate having numerous checkpoints as the jump was a little touchy and that one section with the spikes and the lizards shooting ... UGH I DIED SO MUCH! But in the end it was all worth it to fight that boss. I'm glad it wasn't just the typical 'hit 3 times to win' battle, either. I kept wondering how many it would take to finally kill him.

Loved the tuba blow sound effect, too. It's kind of goofy like it should be. Also the line at the end about the tired shoulders.. heh.

I only found 1 of 3 treasures thus far but I hope to go back and find the rest.

Another good entry!

EthanWebster says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 8:59pm

I agree controls need some adjustments, but it's a fun game and I enjoyed it ;)

Exeneva says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 8:08am

Very fun entry, great polish.

ViKing Games says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 11:09pm

Good use of the theme, and nice music. I loved the pixel art, and the tiles disappearing once they were out of the frame was a nice touch (if intentional). However, the jumping could be strange sometimes, and made the game a bit annoying.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]