Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Last Clown Standing

by garygreen - Compo Entry

Last Standing Clown - where your only weapon is a toxic balloon animal. Destroy all the other grinning clowns on the screen by positioning your balloon animal with the mouse and left click. Release the balloon with right click. The balloon will always move towards your clown once you release it. Avoid the clowns, horns and guns, or you will end up as limp as a deflated balloon that has been badly let down.

On the title screen either click left mouse to start, or right mouse for instructions. Click left mouse at game over screen to continue.

Created in Processing, with Pixelesque and Paint.net for graphics, Caustic for music and sfxr for sound effects.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#364Humor3.10
#446Theme3.47
#474Audio2.84
#554Mood2.93
#612Fun2.97
#638Innovation2.97
#644Graphics2.91
#763Overall2.94

Comments

Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:09pm

Which file should I open to play? I extracted the jar but can't find the game file...

Muffin says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:53pm

Works for me. You don't have to extract anything, just double click the jarfile. If it doesn't work, make sure you have java installed. I got high score 54, couldnt get past lvl 4 or 5 i think. I'm not sure what I did wrong though, i kept instantly dying after spawning in that level.

daltostronic says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:13pm

Holly shit it is so psychodelic! :D

talecrafter says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:15pm

Lol. Funny game.

slowfrog says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:17pm

Wow! Very clownish indeed. Nice graphics and creepy atmostphere. Short and fun.

kipelovets says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:31pm

That's totally crazy, flying clown heads and guns all over the screen! Pretty fun to play, also

Docjekyll says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:43pm

It took me a few tries to figure out what was going on, but I think I get it now. You're trying to click all the targets while making sure your character doesn't follow your cursor to his own death.

Interesting game mechanic.

PaperBlurt says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 10:07am

Wow It's like Big Top of Fun that I played on my Amiga as child.
Nice work...

SmallPhil says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:33pm

Took me a while to get what was going on, but I figured it out I think :P Nice game !

Apr 23, 2015 @ 10:10pm

The game is quite glitchy but pretty fun! Great work!

KaiseanGames says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 10:10pm

Interesting concept, but it is not clear at first what exactly you have to do.

badlydrawnrod says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 7:49pm

I always wondered why I was scared of clowns.

Catwheel says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 9:21pm

Really neat idea. The controls system felt kind of challenging like I could place a balloon to kill a clown but I had to be careful not to be too slow or I may hit an object. I felt that some of the sound effects were overlapping, which was kind of grating. I think if the main menu played the background song so that the player was already familiar with it when they started a level it would be a lot easier to listen.

garygreen says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 9:39pm

Thanks everyone for the positive feedback so far. :-) It's encouraging me to develop the idea further. Thanks for the feedback about the sound effects & music Catwheel - I'll work on sorting that out.

Tom Rijnbeek says ...
May 2, 2015 @ 8:22pm

Fun little game. It took me a while to understand the game mechanic, it could really use some in-game construction.

I think the mechanics could be refined a bit, but the basic concept is interesting and fun.

The graphics are not very refined, and there is also a bug that when you die you can still hit all the enemies and pass the level. The dying animation is also reset when you hit another hazard, even after you're already that.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]