Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Off to the Races

by RyanNielson - Jam Entry

Come one, come all! Test your skill at the amazing and wonderful “Off to the Races”! It’s the world’s latest and greatest fairground attraction! Play by yourself and set the high score, or with your friends to see who can most quickly bring down the enemy fortress! To do this you'll have to use the most unconventional weapon of all time: a rat with dynamite duct taped to its back.

Sprint mode (150 meters):

Try to get the fastest time in this short race. Quickly tap the keys that appear around your rat to make it move down the track. The faster you are, the quicker you will reach the end. Watch out though, the required keys you need to press will switch on you when the alarm sounds.

Marathon mode (1000 meters):

A test of endurance. Quickly tap the keys that appear around your rat to make it move down the track. Your keys will not switch on you in this race.

Controls:

Esc - Open/close menu during game.
Tap displayed keys to move rat.

Music:

Ride of the Valkyries by Richard Wagner
William Tell Overture by Gioachino Rossini

Created by Ryan Nielson and Matthew Stones for Ludum Dare 32.

This game is mainly meant as a local multiplayer experience, but it also has a single player component.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness87%
#113Humor(Jam)3.72
#116Fun(Jam)3.70
#337Overall(Jam)3.42
#407Graphics(Jam)3.52
#414Mood(Jam)3.21
#498Innovation(Jam)3.12
#916Theme(Jam)2.59

Comments

bnhw says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:38am

That was fun, though I'm not sure if my keyboard will last much longer! I didn't even notice the bombs until I came back to vote and saw the screen shots, but it probably fits the theme more than my game!

Pierrec says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:20pm

Must be hilarious with 3 other players. I need to retry this with friends. the sprint mode seems way funnier than the marathon in my opinion.

qapn says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:33pm

I absolutely loved this one! I had no one to play with while testing it but I can imagine with three other people it will be a blast. I've bookmarked it for later. Great stuff.

Volatile Dove says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:34pm

Fun! But a little too repetitive, obviously :p And I didn't test with friends, it must be funnier. The graphics are cute and the music is nicely chosen!

Mizipzor says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:35pm

Trying to squeeze in four players behind the same keyboard to play this will utterly wreck some friendships I reckon.

nopogo says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:49pm

Really loved the overall theme and feel. And I can just see myself bashing on the same keyboards with 3 other idiots ^^ well done!

Sheepolution says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:31pm

Too bad I'm friendless here, because I think it can be quite some fun with more people. I wish it would save the fastest time, so I could beat that. I can still do that with just remembering the highest score, but it's not as satisfying.

jordyadan says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:47pm

Nice game, must be fun to play multiplayer!

DarkMeatGames says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:59pm

Awesome! Great sound design, simple and fun core mechanic. Got stale kind of quickly, maybe more levels, more items, a small 'campaign' would make it more full. Good stuff all around though.

PizzaPortal says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:52pm

I'll definitely try this later with some friends! Graphics are great and the music is fitting. I do feel like this doesn't have anything to do with the "unconventional weapon" theme, though

Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:29pm

Unfortunately I'm playing alone so I can't experience the multiplayer chaos. My fastest time was about 16 seconds and serves as a reminder that I have no idea where anything is on a keyboard when not typing out sentences. Scratch that, I just got 11.67 through sheer luck, pulling C&Y twice in a row. I find the explosion and "Yay!" far too amusing--I can't believe I'm an adult. Nice work.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:54am

Great fun with friends. :)

bpleonvong says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:55am

Game was fun, keyboard power is too intense. Will play once in awhile to upgrade skills in the typerinos.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:02pm

This was a rather fun game! I'm sure everyone around me was wondering what prompted all the noise I was making with my keyboard!

broknecho says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:15pm

Great entry! Graphics are great. Gameplay is simple and awesome. The choice of songs fit it well. Great Job!

CliffracerX says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:58pm

Didn't have a chance to try it in multiplayer, but this seemed fun enough.

Sound was a tad loud though.
Not sure about the whole "unconventional weapon" part of it, but nice work anyway.

terrykim426 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:59pm

This game is pretty fun! I bet it will be chaotic if I have 3 more friends playing on the same keyboard together =D.

sydan says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:19pm

This is really amusing and the sounds effects and overall style made me laugh! Really enjoyed it! If I had to ask for one thing in the future it would be some computer controlled rats to race against I think.

DKoding says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:26pm

Great idea! Unfortunately I was only able to play this single player but I can imagine the mayhem and fun when several players have to share the same keyboard for this. 10/10, best game ever, would play again. No weapon though so no points (well, just 1) for the theme.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:28pm

I didn't enjoy this however I can see that with some friends it could be very fun to play

kyyrma says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:14pm

Very simple but I had a good laugh with it. Little content but what is there is very polished. Reminded me of Track and Field.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:22pm

I will upload a gameplay and review video and tweet you with the url.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:01pm

Simple but fun idea, kind of QWOP mixed with Typing of the Dead, or something? Funny presentation too. I imagine it would be pretty fun with multiple people.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:05pm

Definitely will try this with a friend.

TimBeaudet says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:47pm

Was interesting. At first I thought I was doing something wrong (hitting a wrong key) when the bell rang, so I slowed down drastically and realized pressing wrong key didn't matter at all... :-) Good job!

Jan Marcano says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:00pm

Brought a friend and had way too much fun :D

great job!

UannaFF says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:04pm

It is simple but really fun to play!

block97 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:28pm

Cool game,simple but very fun! congrats.

LadyEnigma says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:40pm

I just did single player, I'm sure it's much more fun to play with others. I like the visuals and sound.

Dorgam says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:50pm

Nice game however the single player mode isn't as fun as the multiplayer.

dos says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:49pm

Have to save this one for some parties :)

balom says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:06am

Great idea, I could see this being a blast with 4 people! Didn't have enough to play it as such, but I can definitely see where it's going!

Jwatt says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:26am

I chuckled at this, it uses audiovisual effects for humor effectively.

Bonus points for multiplayer, definitely improves the experience and goes well with the lolworthy nature of the game. (I guess it wouldn't have been too hard to add a moderately paced AI just to make single player more of a race, though.)

Crowbeak says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:19am

I also tested this solo, as many other commenters did, but since the key generation seems to be random, I can imagine it being a hectic fight for keyboard space.

Adreqi says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:49am

This might be the most epic thing ever in multiplayer o/
you didn't choose the best quality for the music though :/

DarkwindMedia says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:47pm

Played 4 players. Laughed a lot. Great idea, well done :)

MaddeMichael says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:14pm

Foof! Finally played it, and now my hands are tired, especially after the marathon :P.
Anyway, very fun, graphics are nice, and who doesn't like Ride of the Valkyries?
Very good submission

plams says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:20pm

Seems like the sprint mode would be great fun at parties, like a keyboard version of twister or something :) Good job!

Lynx says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 1:43am

This game was a ton of fun! Reminds me of the old Atari game Decathlon (one of my favorites btw) Everything about this screams Carnival Game and I love it! Can't what to report back with my multiplayer experiences. Well Done!

Chris Olsen says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 9:58am

Great work my man! Wish I had some buddies to play with. I guess you have to plug in a load of keyboards? I guess it may be fun actually with just one :)

DeadFragment says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 4:25pm

This game is like playing twister with your fingers, if you play it multiplayer that is! It's a really fun game! and runs really well. Definitely a fun little minigame I'd love to play with friends.

-Neith

Omiya Games says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 2:55am

The hilarious audio made it for me, even though I was solo. I can see this being a great minigame for friends to play. Rather shallow as a game, but hey, it's Ludum Dare: makes sense for it to be polished on a simple concept.

hexdie says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 6:12pm

I played this solo, so it wasn't too interesting. However, I could see this being pretty fun and a bit of a clusterfuck (in a good way) with multiple people. Very nice art as well!

TheMeorch says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 6:17pm

Creating a sort of Twister situation on the keyboard with multiple players is pretty ingenious. Great execution on a novel idea!

May 3, 2015 @ 7:49pm

This was so stupid! It was amazing!

Xanjos says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 5:48pm

I love the look of this entry. Reminds me a lot of those fairground games at the seaside. I was playtesting this on my own but I can imagine how frantic it can get in multiplayer especially since everyone's on the same keyboard (plus the whole key switching mechanic).

pythong says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 9:40pm

nice entry. i know it can be hard to create a realistic computer enemy, but what you could do / could have done was recording one users taps (P1), uploading them onto a server, and when a different player (P2) plays, download the previously recorded taps of P1 and let P2 race against him. For a start, it's more than sufficient if you record yourself 3 times.

Druid says ...
May 8, 2015 @ 3:02pm

Lol, really solid entry! I almost broke my fingers :D Graphics is really pretty too.

LukeZaz says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 6:03pm

Fun little game. Couldn't play it with two people before judging ends unfortunately, so I don't really have any suggestions.

jhell says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 1:46pm

A simple idea that's pretty well done :). I think the full potential is indeed in MP though so I might play this again when I get home tonight. The gameplay might lack a bit of strategy though, maybe for examples different types of terrain with different optimal tapping "rythms" would have been cool!

ruerob says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 2:16pm

Nice little game! My hand feels a little bit sluggish after doing the marathon mode in 114,71 sec, but it was worth it.

I don't know what you could have made better on this game. Music, graphic style, humor and mood are fitting together to a hell of a fun game.

Thank you for that entry!

elpaulo says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 3:07pm

Damn, i need to play this with friends :-)

May 11, 2015 @ 5:23pm

Lazarus-omin (from Creative Sectors):
Finger-numbing button masher, with cutesy art-work, charming humour, and a pretty simple, but very effective concept. It's definitely fun, but of course with multiple players. Good job! :)

HotBoxGames says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 7:31pm

Nice! Just spent a good 20 minutes playing this with the whole team - simple concept but it's actually very fun! :D Extremely frantic when having to switch keys :') Audio and graphics fit nicely. My quickest time was 14.85 - good job guys!

May 11, 2015 @ 11:49pm

Very fun game! Bookmarking to verse friends, great work!

calavera says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 11:54pm

fun! i love the v/o's

May 12, 2015 @ 12:25am

Haha, so much fun with this game! Must try with friends now :)

May 12, 2015 @ 12:57am

This is so funny!!! I've never had so much fun button mashing. i really wish i had more players, the single player is stressful enough!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]