Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Home

by Sakuyan - Compo Entry

Controls are up down left right and the rest will be in the game.

Thanks and have fun~

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#31Graphics4.35
#186Mood3.45
#264Overall3.50
#287Audio3.19
#371Fun3.28
#445Humor2.91
#920Innovation2.53
#1037Theme2.41
#1952Coolness32%

Comments

andrewkennedy says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:00am

Bootyful artwork!
Heartwarming story for the whole family.
11/10
Not since FowL Play has a chicken game hit this close to HOME.

PixlWalkr says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:41am

Simple but neat platformer :)

Ossi says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:18pm

The art is so good! I love how cute and simple it looks. The mechanics are pretty standard but I really like floating with the chicken! Theme works well and the small snippet of story at the end was a nice touch. Great job!

Cstudios says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:19pm

I like the idea of the chicken helping you. The artwork is unbelievable beautiful. Nic work!

dcRfj15 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:31pm

Cool platform game, very short, but it had awesome graphics, and a pretty background music.

graebor says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:13am

Cute characters :)

kabutakogames says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:19am

I liked the use of the chicken in platforming - it'd be cool to see a game that expanded on that - otherwise a nice little story!

Headmade says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:52pm

Very nice looking game and it was short and sweet. My only complaint is the walking speed. I wish it was considerably faster. Other than that, good job :)

Apr 24, 2015 @ 7:01am

My dad is from the Phillipines, and when he was a kid, he and his family raised a chicken. His parents were going to kill it so they could feed the family, but my dad ran away with the chicken. He came back the next day. This game reminded me of this story.

Filoox says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 11:11am

Vive les poules !

MikkelLevisen says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 11:13am

Excellent graphics! Awesome title end end screens.
The controls + animations + parallax mad the gameplay feel smooth and polished.
Too short :)

suppi says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 11:41am

love it! great choice of "weapon". really liked the mechanics and artwork. hope you will continue it!

hexagore says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 12:38pm

Lovely art and atmosphere for this. It was only once the game was finished that I realised that the chicken was the 'unconventional weapon' and that it was the source of magic floating/running power :)

Apr 24, 2015 @ 1:39pm

i like it, good job soldier!

louki0101 says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 1:50pm

Artwork is amazing! Good work!

goblin says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 1:54pm

Great job, simple and character of the arcade of 80. Congratulations. Visit my game http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-32/?action=preview&uid=44367

Zeriver says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 7:39pm

Pretty sweet game.

Pilly says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 8:48pm

ADORABLE. The art is amazing, love the character designs, as well as the detail of the starting & finishing screens - nice touch. Gameplay is nice, simple from start to finish.

My main suggestion is to replace the spikes with something else - they're somewhat generic - plus, I hate to think what happens when those cute little characters get impaled.

Nice work!

jackrugile says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 3:37am

Such a sweet game. Made me happy, thank you!

SledKnight says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 5:08pm

Fun little game.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]