Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Yoyokidz

by Noxlof - Jam Entry

Play as a yoyokid and save the shop!
Defeat the aliens, upgrade your yoyo!

Game by:
@Noxlof: http://twitter.com/Noxlof
@The_TOME: http://twitter.com/The_TOME

(Fixed a small bug)

Thank you everyone for the feedback! <3

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness65%
#37Overall(Jam)4.00
#43Graphics(Jam)4.48
#58Fun(Jam)3.87
#128Mood(Jam)3.69
#204Audio(Jam)3.44
#206Theme(Jam)3.79
#465Humor(Jam)2.97
#468Innovation(Jam)3.17

Comments

scorched says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:56pm

Excellent one! Though sounds are kind poorer than graphics, and diagonal attacks are not easy to perform.

Hectate says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:03pm

Loved it. Great little pixel art game with wonderful charm. I liked how it switches between characters on each life too. The controls are smooth and the upgrades are nifty. Great work!

thumbgarden says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:22pm

Sweet yoyo mechanic. has a nice amount of polish good work!

DrPrettyPatty says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:23pm

Really well polished, great sound, great music :) This was very fun and relaxing to play!

kyyrma says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:24pm

This was fantastic! The graphics, music and gameplay are all super polished. I've seen games of roughly this quality (and worse) beings sold for pennies on the App Store.

Charming and blast to play. Great job guys!

gillenew says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:25pm

Very cool! I like the art, the sound was pleasant, the mechanics was soft and the waves and upgrades were well measured. Congratulations on the game. 9/10

Artylo says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:26pm

Just awesome! I see no flaws in it. Can be a great release on mobile or on flash game sites.

devilright says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:28pm

Lots of great little touches like the parallax clouds and bobbing flowers. The interface for interacting with the shop confused me a bit.

Linus123xbb says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:29pm

Graphics was top notch! I love the gameplay and with some more work this game could pretty addicting! :)

vicious_br says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:29pm

5 stars for all!

Dungeonation says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:30pm

An okay little game. But a yo-yo isn't unconventional because it has been used before as a weapon (Earthbound). The spacebar does the health up upgrade without the need to buy it, so whats the point? Anyway, nice job.

jsmars says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:32pm

I love this game! It's so simple, so well done and so much fun, great job! Maybe could have been a bit harder earlier, after having played to wave 20 on my first try it seemed a bit much to start over again.. if it was more of a challange earlier on it would be more fun to try and beat your own highscore.

AlexDJones says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:34pm

Great entry! Really fun and simple to play, though enemies do tend to get stuck in the bottom right hand corner.

StefanDJagers says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:34pm

The graphics! Oh the graphics! <3
Seriously. Your art is really amazing!!
I'm just blown away by this awesome entry!
A very very very very good job!!

Tselmek says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:35pm

Pretty fun game and cute graphics. The yoyo mechanic is great and the only thing that bugged me a little is the level design which could have been a bit more interesting.

Great job nonetheless, good luck!

Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:36pm

Pretty great game. The controls are really tight, and the graphics are great. There's a lot of attention to detail in this one. :D

From Smiling says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:36pm

Wish there was some more interesting physics with the yoyos. But otherwise, super cute! Even with the simplicity of the game, it was very smooth and fun.

Lukbebalduke says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:37pm

OMG! What an awesome entry!!! I LOVED your game, nice graphics, music, sfx and gameplay! =D

You could make a little invencibility after getting hitbecause I was so fucking happy playing this, and then... suddenly... PUF! I DIED!

5/5 =D

Saymon says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:38pm

Really great, i love it !

Ludipe says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:40pm

Extremely polished game. THe game feeling is pretty awesome and the yoyo mechanic feels rewarding. Graphics and music fit perfectly together.

Great job!

pixzleone says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:42pm

Awesome! Keep it up dude!

stuffedgravy says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:56pm

Great aesthetic and gameplay! I can see this being expanded on to make an awesome game.

The audio was a bit repetitive, and the progression was a *bit* slow; you could have ramped up the difficulty a bit faster at around like wave 8 or so. Grinding for money was also pretty slow, but I guess that's important since you didn't have upgrades increase in cost.
Overall, I played way more rounds than I expected to. The controls are super fun and the upgrades are pretty interesting :)

MJaawa says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:11pm

The best LD32 game I've seen so far, had me absolutely hooked, played until wave 52 and then I decided that my hand can't take it anymore after spamming the S-key for so long! :D Really a great game!

DragonXVI says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:17pm

Pretty cool little game. Love the physics of the yoyo and the art style, very cutely presented!

jprogman says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:33am

Always love a yo-yo as a weapon. :)

DesignerNap says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:47am

Great little game here. Very polished and well done. Only suggestion I would make is that you add a "game over" as when you die, it quickly restarts and it is not immediately clear what has happened. Superb Entry!

Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:08am

Great game! The graphics are beautiful and the yoyo responds well. The key bindings were a little awkward, and I kept hitting jump when I wanted to attack and vice versa. Having different characters when you respawn was a nice touch.

Pibeex says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:22am

Hey, this yoyo reminded me of Earthbound !

flummox3d says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:20am

You will NEVER penetrate my WALL OF YOYOS!
Absolutely great game, loved it ^^

Drauthius says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:49pm

Really like the graphics and the game is fun to play too :) Great work!

rnlf says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 7:48pm

Very cool game! I hote those brats though: Why do they have to kill innocent chicks? Serves them right that I played so bad and they got killed so often. The game seems very well polished, plays smooth, looks good, sounds great. What else do you need :-)

albinobat says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 12:17pm

Probably the longest I've spent on any non-story based game, very addicting

MaesK says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 11:15am

Excellent game! Superb graphics, nice music, and nice round mechanics. A shame that I'm quite bad with the yo-yo, which is slowly becoming a conventional weapon thanks to Smash Bros and your game :D

yuigoto says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 5:21pm

Adorable game! Graphics are cute and animations are really well done. :) Nice work with audio too, soundtrack is really lovely and fits the game perfectly.

Gameplay in general is really nice and the game feels pretty polished enough. Want to see a full version of this! :D

Multiplayer would also be really something if this project gets expanded! :P

Snicklodocus says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 3:57am

Great game! Loved the art. Little touches like switching characters are wonderful. Quite a lot of upgrades and enemy variety too. Good job!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]