Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

The Magical Hat of Usefulness

by randoman - Jam Entry

In this game you control an apprentice wizard who must survive a horde of zombies for as long as he can. To help with that, the Great Wizard left his old hat with his apprentice and anything can come out from it.

So, I'm very happy for creating this game. Different from past Ludum Dares, I worked on my very first idea until the end and managed to create every mechanic I wanted. In this build there are 9 weapons to be randomized. The initial idea was at least 20 weapons, but I ran out of time in the end.
The idea of the hat is based on Presto's, from Dungeons and Dragons TV series :)

I hope you all enjoy it!

Credits:
Sounds generated through AutoTracker and bfxr
Other sound resources downloaded from (soundbible.com)
Grass art by Daniel Cook (Opengameart.org)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness81%
#17Theme(Jam)4.25
#38Humor(Jam)4.00
#248Fun(Jam)3.42
#305Innovation(Jam)3.40
#404Audio(Jam)3.00
#411Overall(Jam)3.35
#431Mood(Jam)3.19
#748Graphics(Jam)2.81

Comments

Sogomn says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:29pm

Really cool but way too hard!
Awesome sound, cool graphics and a great humor.

Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:35pm

Probably my favourite so far! Both challenging, humorous and diverse! My record was a mere 3 days, because damn, some items are hard to use (looking at you, UFO catcher claw).

Adreqi says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:37am

Cool but hard ! But cool ! but hard. but...

Shivur says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:10am

Original idea!

Huo-cuo says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:50pm

This is really a theme-matching game. I had a lot of fun even though I got only to day two. I loved the stinky sandal the most.

Cstudios says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:55pm

Ive got games source code after failing multiple times miserably. COOL! :D

Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:00pm

Hey there, great work! The game is simple but really fun. I couldn't wait to get to know the next unconventional weapon. It didn't even bother me that I lost really, really quick :D.

randoman says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:23pm

Thank you for your comments! And thank you for playing! :)

sbarrio says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:44pm

I love that crisp potato sound! Nice game!

kivano says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:29pm

"Game source code" is over-powered :D Very nice and fun game :)

Backlund says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:58pm

Great game with humor, it was very hard.
Fun idea with the game source code as a weapon.

SimianLogic says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:58pm

Simple little game with lots of variety. I didn't realize I had limited ammo with some of the weapons, but overall pretty entertaining.

BabaJaga says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:01pm

Some weapons like sandal are really underpowered

esayitch says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:01pm

Very difficult. Behavior is weird and interesting, I really wanted to see what every item did xD Cool use of the theme. Graphics were ok, so was sound.

Good luck!

Ershany says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:01pm

Really awesome idea, I did not find it too difficult myself, in face I found it kind of easy. More stuff would have been interesting but still amazing for being made over a weekend!

Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:02pm

Some of the items are WAY more useful than others. I found myself retrying just to see all the weird and unique weapons. Definitely fits the theme. Great job!

Shugor says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:13pm

The weapons you used in this game are all really fun to experiment with. It can be annoying when you get chips all the time, because it's pretty much impossible to clear a wave with it. But with a little more balancing, I think this game could still be challenging but less frustrating. Good work~

b3jh24 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:39am

Cool, but it was pretty difficult. In the several times I played though, I got the same item (Super Glue). Good take on the theme though!

ChuiGum says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:43am

Nice music, it was pretty hard at times but it was fun. I like how original it is too, great job!

nameoftheuser says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:05am

Nice job! You stuck to the theme really well!

wg_phancock says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:08am

The cool guy glasses when you get the "source code" were a nice touch lol.

Great idea, though some of the items are nearly (or maybe completely) impossible to survive with (like the UFO catcher claw). I guess there's gotta be some challenge, but maybe a little too much. You want a game to feel like it's possible to win, even if just very difficult.

SowiHowl says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:40am

Great game with great humor. I just found it a bit hard to play... But really cool !

CliffracerX says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:02am

Interesting use of the theme, this is more like Unconventional Weapon(s). Favorite item: The Game's Source Code. (Would've gotten bonus points if clicking on the word source actually sent you to a Github page for it or something)

A few of the items are somewhat underpowered (fan, Super Glue) and made it incredibly hard to beat.

broknecho says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:07am

Hahah funny idea. I liked how the different weapons were so different. BUT that leads to some balancing issues. Also being able to move in diagonals (all 8 directions in the construct behavior) would have helped the control.

Solid entry. Well done.

PushmePullyu says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:23am

You got the theme down pat :D

xbcw says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:37am

Cool idea but brutally hard.

Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:18am

This is great! Way to go full boar on the theme. The multiple unconventional weapons was great. Good job.

And of course, like what everyone else said, it's too hard..

yuigoto says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:58am

I open up the game, click "Play!" and I just see "You Got the Game Source Code!", awesome! :)

It's humorous, fun and well thought! Also, the graphics fit the style of the game well. :D

A little bit too hard for some weapons (didn't see that Tomato has an item limit). "Game Source Code", though, it's on my favorite weapon list!

Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:03am

I've got the source code HAHAHA... Turn down for what... Really fun theme. The gameplay is a little hard, but it seems that's to be played more then a few times to se all the funny stuffs. Great game!

lody says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 10:36am

its very fun! my favourite weapon is the tomato! it's very hard to get by with chips! good game :3!

BIZM says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 5:55pm

Zi from team BIZM here! This game had me screaming in rage, but I couldn't stop playing! CURSE YOU, STINKY SANDALS! This game was very clever and fun, but SO HARD! Good job! :D

fixitteam says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:45pm

hahaha ... funny graphics and gameplay.
too bad the game ends so fast and you cant throw chips into zombies all day long :))
you probably had a lot of fun making this :)

gnx says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 8:38pm

Nice game with diverse weapon options. It was fun retrying the game just to try out all the weapons :) Graphics are nice and music & sfx are clearly thought out for the game, so good job on that too.

Apr 24, 2015 @ 9:36pm

Nice game ! Really liked the concept, it's an addictive gameplay and fits the theme very well. Great job rando'

RyanNielson says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 6:54pm

Solid game with some ideas that could be expanded upon.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]