Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Daygore Bunko

by SonnyBone - Jam Entry

-----
Use the guitar on your back and the fire in your heart to fight through a procedurally generated dungeon.
-----

NOTE: This game is NOT perma-death. When you die, you restart the current floor and keep all upgrades and saved gold from previous floors.

--------
CONTROLS
--------

MOVEMENT - WASD
MELEE - SPACE
TRANSFORM - ENTER
SHOOT (AFTER TRANSFORM) - ARROW KEYS
MOUSE TO USE MENUS
R to restart a level (if you get stuck)

--------
Can you find the easter egg???
#LDFBL

www.PhantomGreen.com

V1.0.1 - first version
v1.0.2 - removed save/load and compressed audio stream
v1.0.3 - Debug keys removed (thanks tijmentio!)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#8Audio(Jam)4.35
#33Mood(Jam)4.10
#69Overall(Jam)3.91
#147Graphics(Jam)4.09
#191Fun(Jam)3.54
#495Theme(Jam)3.38
#567Innovation(Jam)3.02

Comments

Lacaranian says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:38am

Hitting "StarT" sent us back to the opening cinematic, and hitting "How to Play" quit out of the game. Bug?

Hopscotch says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:13am

Same here

Tanser says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:47pm

The graphics are stunning and create lovely atmosphere. The music fits nicely and the gameplay is good.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:49pm

Works fine for me! I like the aesthetic - simple, but cool. Awesome audio too, like the music a lot and the sound effects are cool. The damage dealing / receiving could do with a bit of tweaking, but overall I like it!

Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:52pm

Oooo, I like the transforming bit too, adds a nice twist :)

sydan says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:55pm

This is an awesome game. I loved the audio, definitely the best part but the art is good too and the gameplay is solid in all directions. So surprised to see a 'level up' choice screen and so happy about it too! Played this for way too long. My only issue was that I thought I was invincible when I transformed :(

TijmenTio says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:21pm

Okay so, first of all the music and sound effects are just fucking great. Love. It.
Then the thing is disliked the most what that the range of your guitar was so sooo short that I found it to be really really hard to hit the skellies. But oh well I did get the hang of out after some time. Another issue I had is a bit unfair, but there seem to be a lot of dev-related hotkeys i think :p for example pressing the right mouse button spawned more skellies O.o and at some point I think i accidentally pressen a button that respawned every monster... So I died a lot, which would be fine i suppose except that if you die - aside from the super cool end screen with the sublime guitar which I listened to for about 10 minutes lol - the game didn't restart for me. Even after a desperate attempt at effectively moving of my hand on the keyboard to hit all keys. So I had to shut down and restart.
So yeah of course this is all meta stuff, but it did became a bit tedious because I died a lot, sometimes due to accidentally pressing hotkeys, and then I had to shut down and restart, see the intro again.
So much for dislikes! Still want to make sure that you know I think the game is wonderful, audio superb, graphics super neat. Love the mechanic of transforming and gives a short-term reward for the main-mechanic (killing baddies) whichs adds up very well to the fun of it all!

Managore says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:17am

It's great to see what you could do in 72 hours, taking on a rand gen dungeon with an upgrade system and multiple modes (normal/super) is a pretty damn massive task, so obviously huge props for that!! And then throw on the audio and the astounding graphics and it's crazy that you did all that by yourself.

But there's a few things I would have loved to see that would have taken the game much further. I imagine you know this already but I'll mention it anyway because that's what feedback usually comes down to. I just want to reiterate though that expecting any of this stuff on top of everything else you did is just wanting more icing on my cake. So. Firstly, it would have been cool to see more than one enemy type. With just melee enemies the best strategy seems to come down to funneling them into a line and mashing away at the space bar, which isn't bad, but doesn't have the same level of depth as enemies that charge you, or fly over terrain, or shoot at you, or blink behind you, or any of a number of other possibilities. Secondly, I think the game needs to ramp up in some way so that it slowly gets harder and eventually nearly impossible. I only upgraded my melee damage and it alone was enough to take on any number of enemies. Thirdly, I kept forgetting to use the arrow keys to shoot, which is probably just me being an idiot but I think space bar to shoot in the direction you're facing might have been a reasonable compromise.

Again, fantastic game, it was a real pleasure to play!

louis.denizet says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:45pm

Really great great mood, loved the music and ambiance but damn it's hard! :p

commodoreKid says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:59pm

I think only thing that could be better is AI which you probably couldn't do better. Very good entry. I played it quite long, cause it deserves! :)

acro says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:29pm

Really nice consistent graphic style, and brilliant sound. Love the guitar starting in, and the wee play-animation on the title screen, and the mood of the game-over screen vocals :)

I would carry on playing this to get more than a few levels in and increase stats, but the health pickups are so rare and the hitboxes seem... somehow stacked in the enemies' favour.

Was this all a solo effort? Very, very impressive.

Liked it so much, in fact, that I'm gonna nitpick small but annoying things that aren't really to do with gameplay. ;)

No quit key? I tried returning to title screen with Escape but seemed stuck in game. Also can't pause.

Initial startup: I conscientiously read the controls on the website. I thoroughly read the "how to play" essay/screen. I started the game, and instantly forgot what the controls had said. Couldn't figure out how to attack. I knew WASD, and recalled something about having to charge the guitar and transform, and arrow keys attacking. I hit keys at random. Skeletons hit me. I got annoyed.
Weirdly, it didn't occur to me to hit spacebar. Enter seems an odd mapping as well, here. In any case: please consider having the control explanation inside the gameplay.

Speaking of annoying, I went to start the game a second time and: there's no way to skip your logo and get straight in. For shame! After I sat through it appreciatively the first time?!
On a similar note, after pressing start to begin the game, the little guy walking up the screen takes far too long. The same on game over: waiting for the broken guitar head to fall - it's just a long unskippable animation and I just want to get back in the game, so it's kinda punishing me for wanting to play again.

anyhow, these are all really tiny nitpicks because I've nothing real to criticise about the game. great job, I'll be playing this more after judging etc. I'm curious about that easter egg.

Boing! Nice avatar!

ekun says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:52pm

I can definitely see why you went for the jam! Well worth it I think.

At times I wanted to be able to hit two melee guys at once with my weapon, but it wasn't quite possible as the melee range is quite narrow. I had to play rather carefully in order to progress without dying.

While the transformation's attack was strong, it would've been nice to become more resilient to damage along with it. I died in both of my far runs while transformed, as a result of being too aggressive and thinking I was invincible.

I think the music and sound effects were the best part of it all. Hitting enemies felt satisfying, and the music was spot on. Oh and the varied/unique game over music was a nice touch!

Fun game, with lot's of potential.

Hambone says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 5:44am

Very neat!

retr0verse says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 6:03am

Cool Game! interesting idea, although it would have been nice if you could click or use space to shoot when transformed. (liked the art a lot)

blob says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:22am

You always make the best games.
Love the intro, sounds and the general mood. Seems easier to hit ennemies from the side than vertically.
Only one ennemy type?
I kinda want this character in nuclear throne :p

careless says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:29am

Solid entry, smooth animations, a great tileset and lots of fun. Have a feeling similar games inspired yourself as they did me to make a random dungeon, love these type of games.

The attack distance is quite unforgiving but that may be intentional? Was quite tough.

Really enjoyed it well done

Kardamom says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 1:42pm

Great atmosphere. The audio is gorgeous. I didn't really understand the transform mechanic (what is the shoot option?) but the game was great.

kabutakogames says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 2:41pm

I like how the character plays music over the interstitial scenes!

lebrokholic says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 2:42pm

The mix of such a beautiful graphical and such an outstanding audio components make me fall in love with the game. I hope that there will be more games from you with such a quality!

jtpup0 says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:00pm

Awesome idea using an instrument as a weapon, I wasn't able to transform for some reason but bashing the skeletons with the guitar was fun!

ProjectX593 says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 2:30am

Very fun and polished game! A bit of a shame there isn't slightly more variety in the dungeons but the presentation was still very good.

richiebranson says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 2:31am

Some of the most well-done pixel art i've seen in the competition so far. Very well-done! Combat felt just right as well.

Suhvan4ik says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 5:47am

Nice work! Feels very polished!

phi6 says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 6:32am

Love it, audio, graphics, animation, gameplay everything. You basically created Nuclear Throne mechanics in 72 hours but with a nice twist. I wish you'd focused more on the shooting aspect of it, the transformation is much too short and I felt the game was the most fun in that mode. Melee was rather tedious whereas the shooting was totally badass. That said, it's just balancing issues and really the potential is fantastic here. Great job!

Apr 24, 2015 @ 5:06pm

How nice art, mood and audio! Pretty good Pixel Art!
The gameplay is solid and good too, congratulations for the entry! ^^

puppetmaster says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 9:40pm

What a beautiful music, love your minimal style.
Check out mine, also shooting with a guitar!! :-)

01010111 says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 10:48pm

Very fun entry. Love beating the crap out of the spooky dudes, the gameover audio is so good I never skip it. Like I mentioned, the genre-agnostic BGM is stellar!

I would love to see more elbow grease put into the graphics, but on the whole it looks ok.

Enemy and background variation could add a lot more to replayability. Also I feel like the gameover/levelup/intro "worlds" feel disconnected from the levels. It'd been cool to walk away from the fire into the level somehow, and I feel like it would tie it all together well.

vandriver says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 3:25pm

Man, the range and hitboxes were rough, but I think the only real problem I have with combat was how the enemies would bounce off of each other and walls right onto you. If they were guaranteed to just be knocked back, the combat would feel a ton more fair (and this would allow you to make the mobs more varied and difficult.) You could make, like, slime blobs that keep the bounciness for later levels.

I'll echo some of the other issues: the unskippable parts at startup were too long. I didn't mind the other unskippable parts because they sounded so damn good while running. The fucking level-up menu music is my favorite. Putting up the soundtrack anywhere?

Speaking of leveling up, the orbs are far too rare. Instead of increasing the amount spawned, you could just get a free one for completing each level. Seems like a fair balance and would not make beating a level feel so pointless when none spawned.

Doesn't need to be said, but I will anyway because it's great to hear compliments: the music and sound effects are fucking perfect. The guitar weapon is so satisfying to hit things with just for the noise.

Hyoga-3D says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 8:31pm

haha nice game, graphics are nice and the gameplay is very good too, good job.

Dege says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 8:49pm

One of the best games I tried. Hard and unforgiving, but you get better every re-play. Neat and cool graphics, I liked audio effects too, so "sdeng!". First time I managed to transform it was amazing, really! I only hopes it lasted longer. Also, enemies should drop more health :)

Snicklodocus says ...
May 2, 2015 @ 2:59am

Great art and music. Really created a good mood. For me, the controls were a bit strange, but I did get used to them. It's a bit petty, but I wished I could skip the cutscenes after a while, though they are beautiful! Good job.

Alex Rose says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 1:57pm

First of all: This is fucking awesome, I love it, I want to see you do something with this. The graphics are gorgeous, I love your image effects like the smoke, you do it to perfection, especially on the game over screen and start screen. I think the main character could be drawn more distinctively but the concept behind him is very cool. The audio is fucking fantastic as well, masterpiece, you don’t need me to tell you that. I played the game until I upgraded all the bars and then one more round.

Secondly: You know yourself the game needs an ending/boss etc. and you probably know it could do with more enemies/more meaningful combat.

Here’s my thorough feedback otherwise:

- The game over screen is beautiful, but it should be possible to skip past it quickly.

- Enemies can be invisible in crevices when there’s a wall above and below them, which leads to some damage that feels unfair.

- I think the hitboxes are a problem. I found if I attacked down I got absolutely hammered, but if I attacked sideways I could just tap spacebar over and over and not get hit.

- Likewise, with my super form, if I’m on the top edge of a wall I can’t fire sideways or it hits the wall.
- The enemies bounce a fair bit, which can lead to problems when there’s a big bunch of them and one of them can get super speed suddenly.

- At the beginning it felt a bit mean not having regular intervals with orbs, e.g. one on every floor or every other floor, and at the end it was strange encountering 2 orbs on one floor.

- Obviously it’s jam AI, but also obvs that could be improved. Particularly with the use of breadcrumbs. If you kept a list of the player’s previous coordinates for the past couple of seconds, the enemies could do some calculation like.. if they can’t see the player, they can iterate through the list until they can see one of those breadcrumbs, at which point they can home in on that. I understand though that with timeframes like this it makes sense that they just walk at you.

- When I upgrade max hp, I don’t have fully maxed out health in my next round. I don’t know if this was a bug or design choice, but it felt a little mean that every other upgrade instantly applies some benefit to me but this one only helps if I go kill enemies for hp.

- It’d be nice if my super bar carried over between lives so I could conserve it at the end.

- Perhaps consider putting fade times on coins so that it encourages people to go Rambo a bit more when they’ve just killed a bunch of enemies rather than hiding in corridors the whole time. This might become an obsolete point if the combat is changed.

- The last melee damage and ranged damage upgrades are pointless in this version of the game as you can already 1 hit kill things without them.

- Coins should go faster than me regardless of my move speed if I’m collecting them.

- I should be able to detransform (even if I lose my whole bar from it, or perhaps the initial transform burst should instantly remove quarter of the bar and then the rest is extended a bit so that you can’t just keep transforming, hit one thing, transform to get the initial burst bonus), especially after I’ve killed all the enemies. By the end I felt trapped in my super mode.

- The top upgrade of transform time on the bar was interesting, it goes from halfway to full way? Is that intentional to give the player superpowers for the last upgrade?

- There is very little incentive at the beginning to upgrade your super form when really health and damage are the main things. Especially since you can one hit kill things eventually, since it’s not that dangerous to just stand sideways spamming space the super form is just a bonus, and besides it’s safer to upgrade the form that allows you to access your super form than to upgrade your super form.

- One last thing is just a bug. I found a bug where I would go invisible underneath the floor, as would the enemies, and some of the wall decals weren’t spawning. I took screenshots if you’re interested but I think you may well know about this already?

It’s a fucking great game. I would love to see more of this. Probably my favourite game of yours so far just because the presentation’s fantastic and it’s really my kind of game. Amazing for your first roguelike.

May 6, 2015 @ 5:04am

Really like the random dungeon generation. Graphics are smooth. Audio is really cool. Didn't like the slow death sequence that kept me from replaying more quickly.

Smirnov48 says ...
May 9, 2015 @ 3:40pm

Good game, good graphics, wonderful mood, generator of levels! and so little gold... You need give more coins, else player must waiting update are so long time. Thank you, you did a great job!

Atmospherium says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 2:07am

I love the contrast between the acoustic sounds and the darker electronic stuff during the dungeons. In spite of there not being any exposition, there seems to be a whole lot of story ideas communicated about the character through those sound choices as well as through the art design. The presentation makes it seem as though fighting is something the hero excels at but would rather avoid at all cost.

Gameplay was great. Enemies weren't too difficult on their own but were dangerous in groups, which I tend to like in games like this - gaining an advantage through positioning over gaining advantage through attack strength feels more satisfying to me. That being said, some contrast in enemy types would have been helpful. I like the powerup, especially visually, but the attack strength from it seemed less useful. I enjoyed the speed increase, but then I would be teleported back to where I first triggered the powerup, which made the faster progress less valuable.

All those things considered, I enjoyed beating up skeletons with a guitar.

caranha says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 2:34am

Whoa, very nice! At first I was: "Hey, hitting the enemies gives me tunes!" and then I was "Hey! The enemies bounce against each other, this is awesome!" and then I realized the very satisfying SQUISH noise that the enemies made when they died, and I was very happy with that!"

Bong, Bong, Bounce, Bong, SQUISH!

Yeah, playing this game made me a happy man. One thing that confused me is that the transformation form took damage. I mean, of course, it takes damage, but when I used it for the first time, I thought it was some sort of spiritual invisible projection of power, when it is more like a super powered twin.

Also, one time when I went up a level, I did not regenerate HP, but all other times when I finished a level I regenerated HP, and this also confused the hell out of me.

But these confusing times were soon forgotten when I got back to squishing enemies again!

Also, I think there were some traps in some of the levels, but I was not really sure.

Thanks for the game, Sonny!

CowShark says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 5:09pm

Sometimes starts a level with me stuck in a wall. Otherwise, very cool.
Nice audio!

foolmoron says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 8:41pm

The polish on this is RIDICULOUS. The menu and the graphics and the game over sequence and everything is so awesome and detailed. Pixel art and random generation of the levels looks really great. Crazy that you made this in 72 hours. The music is AWESOME and there's so much of it, which is great (and to be expected from an audio wizard such as yourself). The guitar weapon is simple, essentially just a sword, but it feels really great because of the guitar sounds when you swing. Really good use of the theme there I think.

Gameplay itself has a lot of potential, but the core combat ends up faltering. Movement and swinging feels nice, but actually hitting enemies feels terrible because the hit range is so small that it's basically random whether you hit and enemy or whether they hit you. It's made worse by the fact that only 1 enemy in range is hit with each swing, so fighting enemies grouped together (which is very common) is nearly impossible. This makes even the most basic combat really frustrating, which means that the great generated level design and RPG mechanics you put in aren't appreciated at all, since all I can think about is the annoying combat. Building up the bar to transform is super cool though, and was enough to keep me engaged even though I didn't like the combat. But not for too long - I quit after only a couple of levels

MonoS says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 4:16pm

The music and sfx ARE AMAZING, i can't say anything more because wow, they are good.

The game is fun and pretty challenging.

The graphics is average, but it's not bad.

What the game need is more time and contents, i'd like to see further development of this.

The only annoying thing is that when i die and click on the guitar a strange white little creature appear and i'm unable to restart the level, bho, that's strange.

I liked this game a lot :)

Ditto says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 8:57pm

This game was certainly an interesting experience for me. Starting out, there wasn't much I liked at all. The music in the menus seemed better than in the main game, the hitboxes where WAY to small and fighting felt really punishing, there was so little gold awarded I didn't level up until level 3, and by then I had probably died 20 times already..

Then all of a sudden the game just clicked for me.. All of a sudden I could kill these damned skeletons, at least most of the time. The game that I had previously found so damn frustrating was all of a sudden really damn rewarding instead! Every time I got to a new level I sat back and listened to my character strum away for a couple minutes, taking a little breather before going back to bashing in skulls..

I don't really know what happened, maybe I'm just so spoiled with really fast paced arcady games that I'm not used to the more precise controls in this one?

Anyways, dude, you've made a shit tonne of cool shit here! <3 The music is fucking GREAT holy shit, I love that there's different songs for the level up screen? And like, the moody deathscreen with the short song there and stuff, Guuhh<3

I'll just have to give you a bit of shit about the art and how you spin pixels and shit. It may be me personally, but like, you have REALLY solid pixel art, but to me the overall visual appeal goes way down from SEEING that it is just upscaled sprites when they spin around and stuff you know? (And also the way you faded the pixels on the splash/death/level up screen looks like an obvious PS brush and looks a bit .. unprofessional?) .. I don't know, like, it's such small details that I can't really complain, but at the same time it's very small fixes that, for me, would heighten the visual appeal even more!

That said, I played this game for well over an hour, if you take out the parts where I just listened to the music, at some point I realized I wasn't playing a bought "real game" haha, to me that is a VERY good thing to achieve with something you created in 3 days!

Good job. <3

Sheepolution says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 11:06pm

First I thought you had to start all over when you are game over. That you need to put point in your skills all over again. I thought it was too hard.

But then I found out that's not the case, and that you can keep going game over, but you will never lose the points put in skills. Now I thought it was too easy.

Maybe you don't need to punish each death, but punish a certain amount of deaths.

Other than that has mostly already been said. Multiple enemies, and add a little more range to the weapon.

Jezzamon says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 11:18pm

Definitely the best music out of the Ludum Dare games I've played!

I wish the theme had a deeper impact on the game though. It didn't really change the mechanics much from being a regular top-down game with a melee and then range attack.

I wish one of the upgrades was to increase my melee range, as I was bad at hitting those guys before they got me :P

Still the overall vibe and mood definitely earned you a 5 overall!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]