Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Gorilla Warfare

by Bemmu - Compo Entry

Use W and S to move up and down. D for a dog attack, C for a cat attack.

Clear all the waves in Tokushima, Nara and Tokyo to win.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness58%
#104Humor3.73
#152Theme3.88
#152Audio3.48
#162Fun3.63
#251Overall3.52
#277Mood3.27
#311Graphics3.47
#562Innovation3.09

Comments

Eigen says ...
Apr 19, 2015 @ 8:08pm

Very nicely done, looks and plays very well. Although the interlace effect really started to hurt my eyes. I didn't get very far yet but I'll definitely try again. Good job!

XDrako says ...
Apr 19, 2015 @ 8:22pm

I like it, I couldn't kill the deer

Ouro17 says ...
Apr 19, 2015 @ 8:43pm

Just finished the game. I like the graphics despite that blood lag my pc so bad sometimes. In my opinion, enemies should give more money, I couldnt afford anything but 3 cats and tons of dogs. I'll have deers nigthmares today.

ALLCAPSON says ...
Apr 19, 2015 @ 9:38pm

Very well done, the background music is nice. I wish the controls were a bit easier to use. qwer would be easier than dcbg. I have to agree and say that it is a bit too harsh with money. I really like the tooltips above the pet shop and in game.

Flygamer101 says ...
Apr 19, 2015 @ 10:56pm

Very nice game, simple, yet fun. Played for while.

Bemmu says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:43am

Thank you Ouro17. There was still time left, so I optimized it to run better.

Pawige says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:47am

Funny, and fun! I liked the goofy animations. Wasn't able to get too far, lost after a few of the deer levels.

Matsuki says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:49am

Nicely done, was a lot of fun and i loved the art.

brennen says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:49am

Nice aesthetic and controls. Not exactly sure what the win/lose condition was when playing.

nicklink483 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:49am

Very well done, though the difficulty ramped up pretty fast!

hissssssssss says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:49am

It was a bit hard to understand how damage was dealt, but your dogs and cats were cute.
Tokushima is a pretty cool place, so props for including it!

rukai says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:26am

This game was absolutely ridiculous in all the best ways!
The randomly generated backstory, the Henro's clacking their hands in time with the music, the protagonist sprite, I loved it all.

Only criticism is, I think it should restart the level on death not the entire game, since the game is already difficult.

OadT says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:36am

Kinda silly but also cool game! The mechanics could be explained a bit better

Sytech says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:59pm

Really fun game! I love the humour in it. Good music and nice graphics.
Well done!

ztiromoritz says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:25pm

Did any one managed to see the gorilla? Very nice game. Fun to play.

Cliff Lee(CL) says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:53am

Can't make it through the final wave... a little hard when money is not enough, I only got ten dogs and three cats.
Love the style and humor in game! but I think the tempo of the game is a little slow.

Interface says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:15am

The deer go fast, that was a quick ramp up all of a sudden. Graphics could use improvement, it's a bit hard on the eyes, but the game is solid and I like the music.

Taldius says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:28pm

I don' know where you live, but it's some seriously big ass cat you have here !
nice job !

nonetheless says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:11pm

Woofality :) I like :)

tikilittle says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 5:50am

I enjoyed it. You might consider putting a cap on how many animals you can have. It was pretty easy when I just bought a lot of dogs.

Apr 26, 2015 @ 5:53am

Really like this game, fun and well executed.

Snicklodocus says ...
May 1, 2015 @ 3:48am

Cool art and sound! I liked the crt effect. Prices were a little steep. I loved how ridiculous the story was! Good job!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]