Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Ice Story ( koori monogatari 氷物語 )

by Christina Antoinette Neofotistou - Jam Entry

A little buggy, but this is the best game I've made. I got lost in the world, I got lost in the mechanics, ideas exploded out of me. I made 10 levels, I only stopped because of time constraints.

So look. This is Nya Koori, an ice mage. She doesn't like to hurt stuff, but when there's an infestation of dinosaurs, what can you do?

Stunning them and throwing them back to their world through a magic portal, that's what.


controls:

* left and right arrows to move, X to jump
* Z to cast freeze spell
* when enemies are fully frozen, Down Arrow performs a Dash that knocks them over
* then you can catch them
* then you throw them at the portal by Z+X at the same time

Repeat until they're all back home.



Obviously inspired by the great bubble bobble, liquid kids, rainbow islands and snow bros. So basically Taito in the 80ies :D


Credits:
Huge thanks to r0j0hound from the Construct 2 community. He didn't help me with anything specifically this time, but every time I search through the forums, he's already answered all my questions.

The rest is me. Pixelart and animation in photoshop CS5, music in FLstudio. This time I used VOPM, a free sega genesis sound chip emulator. Chirp Lab and some FLstudio again for the sfx. Also a surprising use of the screencapture software LiceCap, to which I owe the tutorial replay. It's just a tiny tiny crystal clear gif!

To-do: more levels! Bug fixes, mainly the platform movement. Comb the spaghetti code.

Please let me know what you think. I love LD!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness87%
#34Graphics(Jam)4.54
#42Audio(Jam)4.02
#123Mood(Jam)3.70
#124Overall(Jam)3.77
#187Fun(Jam)3.55
#397Humor(Jam)3.12
#511Innovation(Jam)3.10
#640Theme(Jam)3.18

Comments

Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:02pm

A little buggy, but this is the best game I've made. I got lost in the world, I got lost in the mechanics, ideas exploded out of me. I made 10 levels, I only stopped because of time constraints.

So look. This is Nya Koori, an ice mage. She doesn't like to hurt stuff, but when there's an infestation of dinosaurs, what can you do?

Stunning them and throwing them back to their world through a magic portal, that's what.


controls:

* left and right arrows to move, X to jump
* Z to cast freeze spell
* when enemies are fully frozen, Down Arrow performs a Dash that knocks them over
* then you can catch them
* then you throw them at the portal by Z+X at the same time

Repeat until they're all back home.



Obviously inspired by the great bubble bobble, liquid kids, rainbow islands and snow bros. So basically Taito in the 80ies :D


Credits:
Huge thanks to r0j0hound from the Construct 2 community. He didn't help me with anything specifically this time, but every time I search through the forums, he's already answered all my questions.

The rest is me. Pixelart and animation in photoshop CS5, music in FLstudio. This time I used VOPL, a free sega genesis sound chip emulator. Chirp Lab and some FLstudio again for the sfx.

To-do: more levels! Bug fixes, mainly the platform movement. Comb the spaghetti code.

Please let me know what you think.

TeamEagle says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:24pm

Sweet! Liked the little story. I feel like killing the baddies could feel a little better. It took a bit of practice before I could kill one. Maybe add an easier to kill enemy in the first few levels? To give some time to get used to the different mechanics. Either way, once I got that down, it was fun getting to the next level. The stones that appear after some time also give you this silent pressure to perform efficiently, which I liked.

Amazing art as usual. A complete game as well. I think your best entry yet!

- Fedor

Jared Sartin says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:25pm

Awesome! I love it. Brings me back to bubble bobble!

Fabraz says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:29pm

Wario Land style! :) Love it, fun AND cute. Worth digging into after the jam if you ask me!

Backterria says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:30pm

Very good as always!Love the graphics,audio and the general mood!We need more Taito like games nowadays :)Bravo Christina.

IL_yoshioka says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:31pm

cooool.
very omoshiroi!

mcburrobit says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:33pm

Reminds me of Taito in their hayday. I would pay money for this. Make more levels and release this for $4.99 and I'll buy it the second it comes out. Easily the best game I've played in the jam thus far.

careless says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:34pm

Really cute and fun. Controls took a little while to remember and I found it better to hold Z then press X to throw.

When i got to grips with that which was pretty quickly really enjoyed it.

Sounds where great, would really make a nice hand held game or be better with a controller maybe.

As always out standing pixel art, animations and run smooth.

<3 scored highly for me!

DarkwindMedia says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:34pm

Nice job! Very charming creative direction, the music goes well with the artistic theme. The first level was one of the hardest for me, where as some of the later levels were very easy. Either way tons of fun, hope you make more levels :)

Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:35pm

OMG DYNAMITE HEADDY/GUNSTAR HEROES sfx. My type of game! This is totally full of that lovely old Taito stuff, really reminds moe of Bubble Bobble which is fantastic! The pixel art, the sounds, everything is super awesome! Well done indeed! ^__^

dyfer says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:36pm

very interesting game , with more work it coud became something very good

gjvonn says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:36pm

Definitely a fun game. The mechanic is interesting and it's apparent you wanted to limit the controls to 2 buttons. I feel this makes learning the mechanic a little more stuffy than it should be, though. There were many times where I'd jump while trying to throw a dinosaur.

Besides that, the levels, art, and sound are super great. awesome job!

TailyILoveYou says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:36pm

Nice little game, with a funny little story :P Mechanics seem a little hard to grasp though, it would've been nicer to have jump on the up arrow instead. Not bad though :D

Jungle says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:37pm

Very great! I dont know if fits the theme. Graphics are simply AWESOME, I love it! Controls are good but its is a bit difficult. Menus and scenery are perfect! Beautiful!!

Xgor says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:39pm

Really awesome aesthetics, really nailed the arcade aesthetic. Quite messy how to kill them though, and it's feels weird that the first level is one of the harder one due to there is tons of enemies in it.

RyanNielson says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:47pm

Great game, I love the art and sound, they suit the type of game it is perfectly. The gameplay is solid as well, and I could see this expanded with puzzles or different enemy types or elements. Well done!

Drauthius says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:58pm

Wow! I would really like to know how it would have turned out if you had more time!

Azurency says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:10pm

Great game, even though the controls are a little hard to remember, I had fun playing it !

sandrohaag says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:22pm

Amazing art style

local minimum says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:22pm

Cute retro styled game with simple enough mechanics but quite challenging, at least for me. I had a hard time hitting the throwing back through the portal thing when carrying the dinos so I died a couple of times. The area around the portal should probably have much larger area where throwing is possible. It also happened that I jumped when trying to use throw through the portal. But as you said, there were some bugs to work out. It was a really nice game though. I would have liked some warning about the rocks (like hanging on top of screen or a shadow on the ground where they'll hit). Maybe the rocks should dazzle the dinos also, but only very shortly...

Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:37pm

Such a gorgeous game!

markusfisch says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:49pm

Great! Enjoyed it very much! Really good graphics and really good music.

GFM says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:05pm

This game is so cute. *-*
When I was a kid, I mostly played sega genesis... put I can totally feel the arcade style you went for. You got it really well! :)

Keep up the great work!!

Ellian says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:10pm

It's super reminiscent of old Taito games <3

It's just annoying that the controls (mostly the Z+X throwing thing that is really hard to pull off) are wonky :(
Anyway really nice <3

Squeka says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:46pm

Great art and game mechanics.
Also, it reminds me of Snow Bros when freezing the enemy.

graebor says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:09am

Awesome, your art is just beautiful! I found the controls a little bit awkward and was fumbling the keys fairly often, but the game is super charming and has a good amount of polish, great job!

SteveSalmond says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:37am

Super cute! You really nailed the retro vibe :) Found the control set up a little confusing at first, but acclimatised soon enough.

Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:12pm

Cute!

monika says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:22pm

Lovely! It does a really good job capturing that look and feel of the old Taito games. The art is amazing and the gaameplay is fun and reasonably responsive.

I had trouble consistently hitting x and z at the same time, and would often jump or cast ice when trying to throw, but that also felt authentic because controllers at the time had trouble with multiple key input. :)

Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:59pm

superrad! bubble bobble solidarity!

herniewise says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:02pm

Amazing overall work! :)

MasterOfNaN says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:02pm

Fantastic graphics and audio! That definitely took me back to playing Bubble Bobble on the C64 :) Great work.

Pinpickle says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:08pm

The whole environment is awesome, sounds and graphics. The gameplay is simple but it works! It's quite difficult as picking up the enemies after dashing can get hard. The Z+X was also not very consistent. I found that you had to make sure that you pressed Z before you pressed X

sbarrio says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:08pm

Superb spritework! You have truly captured the 16bit charm and style (that waving background on the Game Over screen is awesome).

Great entry!

Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:11pm

Absolutely fantastic game

aquisenberry says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:13pm

Interesting game, a bit unintuitive to me as far as controls. I kept getting the jump and shoot buttons mixed up

Ithildin says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:14pm

Lovely, colourful art and cute music, you did a great job with the homage to Taito classics. Gameplay is promising as well, but the sometimes frustrating way to kill an enemy mar it a bit.

Great entry! :)

SonnyBone says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:16pm

Wow, you totally nailed the Taito feel. This game took me back to my childhood instantly. I love the pixel art, the feel-good music, and the characters. I feel like I could get attached to this character with some more cutscenes / backstory / etc. It's just a really fun little world.

I'm not a fan of using Z+X to throw, but that's really my only complaint in an otherwise solid entry. The only thing holding this back are the limits that were placed on you by the jam time limit, which is ultimately what you want to end up with. Great job!

And yeah, this is your best LD game yet so congrats to that!

OrangeeZ says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:24pm

The art is just awesome! The game is a bit too hardcore, I think; grabbing enemies does not work occasionally, and maybe it'd be better to map throw action on a separate button.

Other than that this looks like a pretty complete small game - awesome work!

reiknight says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:43pm

Nice job! I <3 the graphics and at first sight it reminded me Bubble Bobble ^^. The pixel art is just awesome. The only complain I have is about the controls, it's kinda difficult to throw the enemies but maybe it's just me. It's incredible you made all this by yourself, keep going!

Split82 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:47pm

Totally awesome :) Great job

Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:00pm

At first was a little bit frustrating beacause i didn't understand the controls, but when i learned how to play, i actually had a lot of fun playing it.

Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:00pm

Nice art, music and SFX :)

sararyCow says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:04pm

A pretty solid entry. Definitely there a lot of 8-bit influence here :). The bad part is trying to imitate the d-pad + 2 buttons controller, the control becomes to complex.

But the balance gets positive with this lovely pixel art and nice music :).

Solifuge says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:13pm

Sheesh, seems like every LD you manage to make something I love. Any critiques I can offer feel like nit-picks. The only bump I encountered in gameplay was getting stuck between the walls on the terrain-destruction level, with the last dino outside, and no way to escape but awaiting merciful rocky oblivion from above. Doesn't feel right to dock points for that, though.

I really enjoyed the synths and the bouncy tunes; I have this absurd little soft spot for the Sega Genesis sound chip, so I can't thank you enough for citing that Yamaha emulator in your Post Mortem. The style of the title logo and terrain, bright colors, and cute sprites were charming and wonderful (though I maaaybe was a bit fonder of Nya's Big Hair phase <_< >_>). To top it all off, the gameplay was solid, simple platforming fun, with a clever set of mechanics and a well-executed difficulty curve. And it's refreshing to see a hero who isn't some Kick-In-The-Door-And-Wreck-'Em-All type too; gal just wants her peace and quiet. I can appreciate that.

Also, can I gush briefly about the ritual -feeling- of the dino-banishing ritual? The short string of game actions needed to banish the enemies? Brilliant work creating gameplay behaviors and mechanics that feel like and mirror the narrative. That's a rare quality in games, and a delight every time it happens.

This really was a fantastic entry, and I think it's going to place really well. Please do consider continuing to work on this; maybe add in some dino varieties with different movement types, some static hazards or terrain interaction, maybe even local cooperative mode with Nya's rival, and put it up on Steam or something. It'd totally be worth it.

Thanks again, and I'm looking forward to seeing your future work!

@Dahold

Mase says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:23pm

This game is nicely polished & coherent. The graphics are pleasant.
But I think the gameplay could be adjusted a bit to be more fun.

The controls seem overly complex.
I could never seem to press Z+X simultaneously; I instead pressed Z slightly before X. It would’ve been simpler/better to just use the Z key for throwing I think. This kind of arcade game’s challenge shouldn’t come from its controls.
Also, picking up multiple dinosaurs and throwing them one at a time is confusing.
More visual cues about how soon the dinosaurs are going to wake up after being thrown would be good.

I made it to level 9. The game-over is punishing; it’s not interesting to play through the easy levels again and again. Consider at least giving extra lives for collecting bonus items. (maybe that already happens… if so, consider lowering the threshold).

Perhaps the ice build-up takes too long & is too button-mashy. Also, the ice-projectile could be more visually exciting.

The connection between the tree-house and the library setting is not clear.

Pardon me for complaining so much. Very nice work!

sputnik says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 12:34am

Superb graphics, mechanics are kinda complex but really interesting. Good job fellow construct gamedev!

Apr 23, 2015 @ 1:00am

No Source

acro says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 1:01am

Amazing style, polish and coherent overall presentation. Loved the story cutscene; never played the Taito games you mention but it put me in mind of Super Mario World's little vignettes and Wario Land, as someone else mentioned.

I disagree with everyone who said Z+X was odd/difficult - I can see this working amazingly on a NES controller.

Only had a few tiny issues: I wasn't aware of any time limit in the levels so was a little confused by the 'Hurry Up' messages, and didn't get that they related to the rocks.
I managed to get a dino stuck on the left hand side of one of the levels - can't remember which, maybe 3 or 4 - and the collision detection wouldn't let my ice hit him there. Other than that, some wibbly clipping when using the down dash, but I mean...

is this honestly a jam game? How in the... even... what the... it's astonishingly impressive, and kawaii.

Now to admit my total stupidity: I clicked on what I thought was the main thing, thinking you'd embedded the game in the page. I spent over a minute pressing Z and X to start, wondering why the web play didn't seem to be working, and why it kept looping, but nonetheless impressed that there was a rolling play demo. I was thinking 'the frame rate seems a little bit choppy...'. Then I realised I was watching a .gif, not the game itself.
*ahem*, so, thanks for that, as well.

iSamurai says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 1:07am

Nice idea! Great pixel art and nice music! The gameplay is fun. But pressing z+x at the same time doesn't quite work for me :(

Apr 23, 2015 @ 1:08am

This game is really similar to mine, actually, with the arcade feel and the ice weapon.

I definitely like the routine of firing the enemy into the portal, although I found pressing Z and X at the same time to be very frustrating, and I didn't like losing a life from running into enemies when I did the dash attack. I also feel like the first level is a lot harder than the ones that come after it.

But this is all little stuff-- this game is charming and polished, and totally worthy of love.

Lancelot Gao says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 1:15am

Super amazing & polished!

Yword says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:04am

Impressive!!! The graphics and music are perfect, and the overall mood is very good too! Maybe you can simplify the controls. Well Done!

dydx says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:16am

I have a lot of trouble hitting Z+X at the same time. Besides that, this game is perfect! Very impressive.

mildmojo says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 7:12am

So this is gorgeous. I'm a long-time Bubble Bobble fan and this hit the spot. =) The music was cute and the sound effects were great. The little floating "HURRY UP" animation was lovely. And a million points for having a tutorial intro. You packed a lot into 72 hours.

I think the stunned dinos recovered a little too quickly and their collision boxes were a little too small. I died a lot trying to get to them before they recovered, and it felt like Nya's sprite was on top of them when they flipped back to life and killed her.

I don't know why, but my brain *really* wanted Z to be jump and X to be fire. Like others, I found that holding Z and pressing X worked way better than trying to hit them together. Something to note in the future: on AZERTY keyboard layouts (Europe?), the Z and W keys are swapped which makes Z/X tough to use. It's worth also binding W or using X/C.

I'm not sure if it's a configuration option with Construct 2, but the game didn't properly capture the Z key, so it kept popping open my typeahead find box and taking focus away. The X key was captured fine. Maybe there's someplace you have to tell it which keys the game uses?

Anyway, nice work! Really polished!

Benjamin says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:19am

Your pixels are awesomes. I was also thinking that the bubble-bobble-like games were the right track for this theme, but I was unable to find a good/original weapon mechanic so I had to change my idea.
Apart from the z+x for launch which is a bit tricky, everything else is work fine. I think that just use the z to launch would have been ok, but maybe you want people to stack more dinosaurs on their head ?
The freeze / unfreeze animation really remind me snowbros and the sound design fit in perfectly.

Ideas if you want to work on a post-compo version :
- launching monster on other monsters stun/freeze them
- stacked monsters are launched one by one
- collecting book improve icing power/speed ( reset on each level )

asobi tech says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 12:40pm

Excellent work.
Beautiful pixel art and animation.
Great sound effects and the music works really well.
Really impressed you had time to implement a tutorial and and intro story :D
The only thing I would say is I found the control a little awkward/non-intuitive.
Mainly having down for dash. Would have changed it to a double tap or the C key.
I would have Z and X swapped around the other way, but that may have just been a personal preference.

rmc says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 6:33pm

Pretty god! It was difficult to kill the first enemy, but once you get it, you can really enjoy it!

Apr 23, 2015 @ 6:38pm

Very polished and cool game. Very Taito. Some of the controls were a bit fiddly, but otherwise very good stuff!

Prowler says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 7:07pm

Great graphics! Moody sound and a neat but challenging gameplay. Good score for this one. Great job! (Did I mentioned I like that pixel art? :D)

Apr 23, 2015 @ 7:39pm

Really cute graphics and good presentation. The game mechanics are a bit hard to pick up though, being told to hurry doesn't help X').

siryakko says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:15pm

Neat graphics, nice music, great game

DNAteamld32 says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:29pm

Really fun and cute. I like the art and music!

rnlf says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 9:05pm

Really good game! I like the graphics and music. The gameplay is great, too.

Whenever I pressed X+Z at the same time though, she would jump instead of throwing, I always had to press Z first, hold, and then X.

I accidentally threw one dinosaur out of the level so that I couldn't reach him anymore. But given the time constraint there are always some bugs of this kind, my own game is plagued by that too :3

This is anyway one of the better games in the Jam and I had a lot of fun! Good Work!

Raiyumi says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 9:40pm

Really cute music and graphics! My only gripe is the Z+X controls, especially when trying to throw. (I got stuck on that for a few mins).

Anyways, great job!

KunoNoOni says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 10:55pm

Your an amazing Pixel Artist and it shows in all of your games. I do agree that you need to work on this Post-LD and put it up on Steam or GOG.com. This game is took me back to the heyday of arcade game :) Thanks for the game and the memories!

barkergames says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 11:10pm

I found the controls extremely confusing at first, but once I understood them the game got fun!
It also feels like an old nes game.
Nice work!

TeamFlare says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 12:45am

Really wonderfull in every regard :)

TEAM-TIGER says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 1:32am

amazing art and music. really liked the theme.

found the controls a little tricky at first, i felt like i wanted to use the the shoot button, to pick up and to throw. and i kept trying to deposit the enemies in the portal with up.

lol maybe i just play too much mario.

but great work. i hope to see more games from you in other jams.

mildmojo says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 1:51am

Checked out your other LD games and I totally remember your LD23 game, Kumiho. I envy your body of work. =)

zatyka says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 3:12am

Obviously the graphics stand out. It's a pretty fun game with an old-school feel. Controls were OK, but could probably be tightened up. Interesting mechanism for the cut scene... I may steal that idea for future Jams :)

Looking forward to seeing a post-jam version.

PushmePullyu says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 9:44am

Well made and well done! I wish the throw dinosaur button was not z+x as sometimes instead of throwing I shoot or jump. Catching dinosaurs can also be tricky times as well.

Tuism says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 9:54am

MAN. I really want to like this, the graphics, the audio, the presentation is top notch. There's even a bit of lead-up story? So good.

BUT. Sorry, gotta do this:

1. Derivative. It's basically Snow Bros and Bubble Bobble.... but...
2. With worse mechanics! The action queue of icing -> dashing -> picking up -> throwing into gate is super frustrating because it doesn't make intrinsic sense, and on top of that...
3. Confusing as hell controls. Why z+x to throw? Why dash to pick up? The flow is unintuitive and thus difficult to pick-up-and-play. I don't think the dash is necessary. The throw isn't even necessary when you can just carry them into the portal. Neither of those ADD to the gameplay at all.
4. The platforming is a bit off. Player character moves too fast, especially over gaps, so it's HARD to go down a level. Compounded with the inability to jump down, makes navigation really hard.
5. The z+x is really hard to press, there's not enough looseness in having to press them at exactly the same time, resulting in my attempts at throwing into the gate making me jump up a level... And getting down a level is hard, so... Endless cycle of frustration.
6. The level timing is a great touch, and offers some push to finish a level, but it's too fast, especially given the frustrating controls, and unexplained/untelegraphed to the player.

Really want this to be a good game, see if issues can be addressed :)

Awpteamoose says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 10:29am

Wish it wasn't as buggy, but it's good fun.

Suhvan4ik says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 10:43am

Really awesome music and graphics

ragnarolis says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 11:15am

Well, after playing for a while and understanding the game, I think I can write a fairly good review.

In general, I liked the game. It had concepts and game mechanics I haven't seen for a while. For a Construct 2 game, it was quite entertaining and well put out. Yes, there were a few bugs and annoying things that got in my way, like how hard it is sometimes to throw the aliens (or whatever I should call them). I often ended up jumping through the floor, losing a healthpoint and the alien dude. That was kindof a bummer.

Another thing I would've liked to see (though it may be not too important), is some transfer to the next level. I just had to wait there, not sure if I was finished or not until I magically went over to the next level.

The level design was awesome.
The graphics were amazing.
Gameplay was way more entertaining then I thought it would be.

The game is very appealing to the eye, even after you've been playing for a while. If you keep going with this idea, even possibly move it to mobile devices (I think it would be great), then this game would definitely be something I could play.

Thanks for a good game! 3,5/5

Apr 24, 2015 @ 11:20am

With a little tuning of the controls, this game could be a really fun addition to the old-school 16-bit genre! Nicely done all around

SojaBird says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 11:50am

Waaaat! How the crap did you make this in such a short time! :D It's freaking amazing! The art is stunning and the sound... I'm in love :D Well done!

allanolivei says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 3:12pm

The game and the art were perfect, so not like the controls.

Jwatt says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 3:57pm

The best audio I've come across so far. FM for life.

Some awkwardness in the controls, I protest against using attack+jump for throwing. And the level complete cooldown is long enough to make you think you've still gotta do something.

But these are just small details, it's quite a complete package as it is. It has a limited pool of mechanics and all of them go well together (like the way you've still got to catch dashed enemies.)

Apr 24, 2015 @ 4:33pm

Felt like a complete game with gorgeous graphics and music that really suited the game style. Did feel it should have probably started easier to let the player get used to the controls more. Great entry.

Dixbit says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 6:02pm

Your game looks fantastic, though I can't finish the first level because mapping the Z+X keys combination to release dinos is the worst idea EVER. I have an AZERTY keyboard and I tested both EU and US settings but it simply doesn't work! (it jumps instead). Mapping "E" key (for example) to this action would have save my life here :)
Please check out this recent post, it sums up everything about this issue : http://ludumdare.com/compo/2015/04/24/why-z-is-a-bad-action-key/

In spite of this, I still gave you a good rating, if only I could play more of your game I would be so happy :)

MonoS says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 6:17pm

Fun game, nothing spectacular, but fun :).

Cool graphics and sounds, love your art style

hypp says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 7:02pm

Well done. Whish I could do graphics like you.

flummox3d says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 7:15pm

Lovely little art style and a cute game overall. :3

vidarn says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 7:59pm

It looked great, sounded great and played great, probably my favorite entry of this LD so far. Kudos!

DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 8:50am

Wooo! You nailed the taito feel. The FM music was perfect, hahaha.

ehtd says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 8:43pm

Extremely well done in almost every aspect. My only complaint is on the controls, it takes some time to get used to them and even them still miss sometimes. With controller support it should be great.

Dir3kt says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 8:48pm

Here is the cutest LD32 game :D

OnlySlightly says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 8:52am

This is the most polished LD32 game I've played. Gave me so much nostalgia. Every bit of this game made me super happy. I loved all the sound effects, music sprites, etc. And the arcade-y vibe. It's beautiful :)

peterfsat says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 11:34am

Hey Christina! Really nice and consistent art style. Loved the extra difficulty of picking up dinosaurs after freezing them, even though I didn't manage to complete the first level :p!

Nice to see a Greek making a great game! Congrats!

Geckoo1337 says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 9:06pm

Awesome! I love it. Reminds me bubble bobble with which I played in the old arcade rooms. A good stuff. Five stars for the mood. Thank you ++

stvr says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 12:02am

Incredible art of course, and a really fun throwback to the kinds of games that inspired you. The first level was harder than all the rest! And the combat was a bit complicated (probably using C would have been better than Z+X) but it was great overall!

seankimdesign says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 12:25am

It definitely has the charm of those Japanese arcade games back from the 90's. It was as if I had discovered an SNES gem. Not only is it beautifully crafted with cute music, it was also quite fun to play. Congrats on creating such a finely polished game!

Jasonsumm says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 7:16am

Really like it! Cool style :)!

phi6 says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 9:32am

Wow, the pixel art is amazing, so inspiring. Good job!

GarethIW says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 10:26am

Amazing art, animation, music and sound effects.

I'm bad at games and I found this especially tricky even after I had got the hang of how to dispatch enemies. I'd suggest a longer pause before thawing, and a longer stun time after dashing.

Still, a really solid entry! Good luck!

TheCams says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 12:21pm

Great graphics and nice sounds effects/music. The controls are a bit weird tho, not sure how it would have been better but the z+x failed on me many times. Excellent work anyway.

gillenew says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 5:13pm

The game art was very beautiful, very well done in the artistic aspect. The gameplay was cool and took some bugs that bothered a bit, but the game in general was pretty cool, it would be good if you continue investing some improvements on it :)

renatopp says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 9:37pm

The control was really bad for, but does not influence my ratings, the game is great and sound is awesome. Congratulations for you game.

Apr 28, 2015 @ 6:36am

Beautiful art and I love the mechanics. The music is great! I'm definitely going to check out VOPL so thanks for the tip.

rubna says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 10:23am

awesome! nice pixel art and cool mechanic, too! The one gripe i had with this is that the control scheme seems more complicated than necessary. i really had to think about what to press, and even then it was pretty hard to do, especially in the beginning. but otherwise, stellar!
good job!

diegomachado says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 5:04pm

I love Snow Brothers, so I love your game.
You did an amazing job with graphics, sounds and overall polish, congrats!

OddballDave says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 6:20pm

Great art and music. The controls were a little clunky. Very interesting idea though. Good stuff.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 12:02am

great art - great music - controls gave me some trouble - great game - one of my faves

decodersmith says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 5:17am

Very well executed. The art and music is spot on. With 99 more levels, 25 years ago this would've been a huge hit.

Apr 30, 2015 @ 11:18am

This is a great mix of ideas! I really like the attention to detail and presentation. The whole game just FEELS right and that's quite hard to do at the best of times.

BIZM says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 8:56pm

This was a really awesome game. The mechanics were interesting and the art and audio were ka-razy! Way too hard for myself, but still loved it. Fantastic work!

May 1, 2015 @ 5:53am

Beautiful art, of course, and a very complete experience. Probably my favourite (completed) entry of your so far. :D

WastedMeerkat says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 3:46pm

First Impressions:
- My first thought was the weird controls. Z+X? Why?
- Also, why am I throwing these dinosaurs into this otherworld portal? I mean it seems interesting enough though, so I guess that doesn't really matter.
- I got used to everything pretty quickly after dying a few times and being really confused and frustrated about how to actually send a frozen dinosaur skyward; watching the tutorial over again after actually playing helped me understand, though.
- Kind of a neat idea, hiding the tutorial in the main menu.

General Compliments:
- The art and music (when it plays) are pretty nice. I can tell you put a lot of work into this area.
- The strategy involved with the dash mechanic is pretty cool. You have to make sure there are no unfrozen enemies in the direction you're charging or you'll hit them and die, and you also have to be careful about knocking enemies up onto platforms where other unfrozen enemies are. Requires you to put a bit of thought into the order you do things.

General Gripes:

Also, it might seem trivial, but it's something I feel was missing: a victory prompt. After I beat the first level I was like "...did the game break? ... OH, ok, next level, I guess."

Deal Breakers:
- I think there needs to be more gravity or maybe just more solid (pun intended) platform collision. It feels weird walking into a gap and then popping back up on the next platform. This also makes it kinda hard to get back down from a platform when there's only a tiny gap to go through; consider adding down+x jumping ability.
- Sometimes after you knock an enemy into the air and miss catching them, you can't knock them into the air anymore; you just go right through them, and sometimes die.
- I mean I know it's a Ludum Dare entry, but collision doesn't work consistently, and sometimes jumping doesn't get you to your full jump height. I understand completely how hard creating a good platforming character controller can be though; I've done it myself, and it took MONTHS, so you're kinda excused on that front. Having this kind of thing already coded up before the competition starts can be a big help, though.
- When I get hit and turn invisible forever... UGGGGGHHHHH!

Closing Comments:
The bugs kinda render it unplayable for me.
People on this page keep calling it polished and stuff, but I feel like their idea of polished is quite different than mine.
I mean the art and music are good, yeah, but, imo the mechanics and collision need a lot of work.
And it's probably more important to spend time on that before spiffing it up art-wise, especially as a one man team.
Although, I do get that some people draw more inspiration and drive from creating art rather than spending time coding, and maybe that was a factor.
Just, in the future, keep in mind that spending a little extra time squashing bugs can go a long way in improving the user experience.

psychonull says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 5:28pm

Great game. Everything was very well done: the presentation, tutorial, game-play, graphics, sounds. Congratulations!

Pat Kemp says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 8:43pm

I love the super cute pixel art! The game itself is fun, although the controls are a little wonky at times. It also seems like kind of an elaborate process to defeat the baddies. Really charming though. Great job!

Terry says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 9:02pm

Love the graphics!

krzymsky says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 9:19pm

Pretty fun game, I really enjoyed playing it.

Skiddings says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 9:22pm

It looks and sounds great and is a cool idea. It's tricky to play though and I kept falling out of the level.

renanlindner says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 9:51pm

Well done!!! Can you share the source/capx?

tmpxyz says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 3:52am

well polished work!

greytram says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 9:49am

Very nice graphics and sound! Controls are a bit difficult to learn at first but well done overall!

May 6, 2015 @ 10:13am

It's a very nice game, and reminds me a lot the Rod-Land Amiga game. Controls are a bit unintuitive though, I'd preferred to map the jump on the arrow up key.

May 6, 2015 @ 4:08pm

Fun game, really well done. I had trouble with throwing the enemies, but overall was impressed. This was better than most the NES games I played back in the day =P

Xanjos says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 7:02pm

I loved the Bubble Bobble inspired gameplay as well as the retro graphics and audio. My only gripe is that throwing is a bit awkward as I have to hold down the Z key first before pressing the X key (since pressing X makes the character jump).

Omiya Games says ...
May 8, 2015 @ 3:12am

Pretty beautiful game, with a very relaxed music. I thought there were a lot to juggle at once. In particular, I wasn't fond of the freeze time to be so small, and the dashing taking up the entire width of the screen to be fair. I found that holding Z, then X would allow me to throw the enemy, but pressing both at the same time did not. The level loading took some time, which made me confused after chucking the last enemy into the portal. Would have been nice if a dashed-into enemy remained stunned and unharmful for a brief time.

23 says ...
May 9, 2015 @ 6:56am

Fun and cute! Lovely music and art. I had trouble with Z+X too though.

hissssssssss says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 10:53am

I'm a huge Bubble Bobble fan, so I loved the idea behind this right away. I think only one real execution problem mars it, and that's the process of picking up the frozen dinos. As others have mentioned, it's difficult to get around the levels vertically. The dash carries you across the entire screen, and the dinos are stunned for a very short amount of time, meaning often even after you stun them, it's tricky to pick them up before they're back to normal.
Aside from that, I like the multi-step process of taking care of the enemies. The graphics and sound are both fantastic, and you really made this feel like a complete, polished game. Awesome job.

Plustech says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 7:31pm

Superb graphics. Im in love with the Arcade feel on this one. I didn't understood how to throw the little birdies tho, had to watch the tutorial after playing it XD. Great entry nonetheless.

May 12, 2015 @ 1:06am

Very, very nice! The pixel graphics are lovely, and the music is the best GameBoy-style loop (loops?) I have ever heard. The gameplay was pretty cool, although it took me a little while to get used to the controls. Ice-balls aren't really an unconventional weapon IMHO, but that doesn't really matter, as the game is absolutely lovely. 5/5 overall!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]