Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

The Qi Disciple

by Jerre - Compo Entry

The Qi Disciple
------------------
Play a monk discovering his inner Qi (also known as chi) powers on his quest to become the Qi master.


Controls:
-------------------
Movement: arrow keys.
Using Qi: spacebar.
Controlling the Qi: arrow keys.
Mute: M
Back: escape


EDIT:
===================
Since I get a lot of feedback about the difficulty of level 3, I added a visual guide to the screenshots, which should help a bit. The squares mean a safe spot to stand still if you keep close to the walls.


Explanation:
-------------------
There are four levels (should take max 10 minutes to beat). The game should explain itself, so you if you haven’t played it stop reading here and try it out now.



If you’re still here: the twist is that you can control a ranged weapon (your Qi), but the second twist is that you cannot move anymore if you do so. I have done my best to create interesting levels to showcase the possibilities of this mechanic, and had a lot of fun doing so. Enjoy!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#217Mood3.38
#236Innovation3.59
#242Audio3.25
#282Fun3.38
#295Theme3.66
#333Overall3.41
#570Graphics3.03

Comments

babilounet says ...
Apr 19, 2015 @ 4:00pm

Acees to http://www.jerreav.nl/LD32/ is forbidden

Jerre says ...
Apr 19, 2015 @ 4:14pm

Haha, you're to fast, was still setting up

jshaffer94247 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:14am

Love Zen puzzles. I can't get the last part of this puzzle level, but I'll probably come back to play more. Fun and interesting. Thanks for the game!

Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:54am

I like the mechanic, but your difficulty curve is all over the place. There is a huge spike at level 3

Figglewatts says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:28pm

An interesting concept, but I think it got too difficult at around the third level.

Jerre says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:07pm

Thanks for the feedback all. I added a guide for the third stage that should help a bit.

rantt says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:52pm

Cool, concept. I could only make it to the third level, very challenging. The art was really nice too. Fun game, I enjoyed it :)

dyfer says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:29pm

I like the concept but level 3 is to difficult! I like the front image

FistBumpGames says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:55pm

Nice mechanic but level 3 is gonna break your balls, after the first two levels.
Nice mood and sound, and really liked the theme!

Anti says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:56pm

Good game. Loved the puzzles. I also liked the art style. It really grew on me for some reason. Probably because of the unified look. It was a really fun game to play.

Taldius says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:03pm

The concept is good, it remind me of an attack of Yamcha in Dragon Ball Z. But the game gets hard really fast.
Good job overall!

TheMeorch says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:12pm

Making the player stand still while controlling the projectile creates interesting situations where you have to find ways to shoot without putting your character at risk. I do wish the projectile controller were a little less sensitive, so I could feel more in control of it. The third level does indeed have a huge difficulty spike, but you've definitely got a cool game here -- nice work!

Jerre says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:19am

Thanks for the good words all. That level 3 tho....

Embalaje says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 7:35pm

Its really hard to control the Qi, very, very good gameplay. I´ve enjoyed it very much.

hypp says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 7:36pm

Great idea, but perhaps a little too hard?

adsilcott says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 7:40pm

Great concept and mechanic! Those last few were really hard (but fair)!

SmilingCat says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 7:46pm

Great mood, and good use of the theme. One suggestion I would make would be to have separate keys for controlling the Qi to prevent unintended movement of the character once the Qi hits something.

snesgaard says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 7:54pm

Wow, think this is the most fun I have had with an entry into LD32 so far. I think level 3 and 4 should be swapped as the former is pretty brutal. Also hitboxes seemed to, at times, be larger than the visual model, which was a bit frustrating.
Music and art was very good at building the atmosphere of being a monk that fires autonomous mind bullets :D

jglrxavpok says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 5:27pm

The Qi is hard to control but it's a great idea!
The level 3 is too difficult though

Snicklodocus says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 3:41am

Cool game! I liked the music a lot. The different control schemes for walking and controlling Qi helped mix up gameplay. Good job!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]