Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

JOHN CENA'S WRESTLEQUEST 2015

by Kortuga - Compo Entry

I made this in like 4 hours because I had to take the ACT today and don't have any time to work tomorrow.

PROVE YOUR WRESTLING SKILLZ IN JOHN CENA'S WRESTLEQUEST 2015! WRESTLE YOUR WAY THROUGH MYSTICAL TRIALS TO FIND THE HIDDEN PICTURES OF JOHN CENA BEFORE IT'S TOO LATE. BECOME A PRO WRESTLER JUST LIKE JOHN!

So the premise is that you ARE the weapon. Pretty unconventional, yeah? Yeah. Anyway, hold down left click to charge up your Wrestling Wrage, then release it to fly forth in a burst of fury.

WASD to move, walk over objects to pick them up. Wrestle Posers to KO them. Optimal settings are 1360 x 1024 windowed.

Yes, I made all the music. No, I did not make John Cena. Cut me some slack.

Find all 5 pictures of John for a secret surprise...

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness69%
#36Humor4.03
#113Audio3.61
#367Mood3.15
#402Fun3.23
#469Overall3.26
#493Innovation3.18
#590Theme3.30
#936Graphics2.37

Comments

NAL says ...
Apr 19, 2015 @ 10:37am

I'm not entirely sure why, but I played it to the end and enjoyed it! The Raw bean was a pain in the ass, but at least now I can envelop in his muscular glory. :)

factorial says ...
Apr 19, 2015 @ 1:30pm

I loved the music and FX but shit was too hard to keep trying to find all the pictures.

SadSmile says ...
Apr 19, 2015 @ 5:29pm

Best Music. 11/10 - Would WRESTLE again - IGN

Mindcake says ...
Apr 19, 2015 @ 8:59pm

Great game m8
Love the music
it has bean a great game so far... xD

nurabsal says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:53am

an instance classic. oozing in both style and substance. the magna carta of video games. the casablanco of movies

Ted Brown says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:51am

Got the wrestle key in the wrestle forest, then tried to suplex the bottom of the world and died.

6/5

Jaloko says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:51am

Worked for me in chrome. Pretty funny game.

decodersmith says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:52am

The music was amazing. The game was very hard. I was laughing within seconds.

ruthiepee says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:53am

Uh, I think I'm missing something here... Anyway, the game is an absolute blast, mostly due to the unconventional sound effects and music. The buildup and movement of the character is really fun but gets frustrating after a while since I kept falling down and the camera was kind of making me dizzy. I couldn't find all the pictures; I got attacked in the forest...

Sorak86 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:59am

Hahahha. 5 Music.
Camera was too dizzy, I couldnt complete the game : /
Well done anyway!

jacketsj says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:00am

Those were the most amazing sound effects I've ever heard. I ended up getting stuck in corners a lot though.

Garris says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:01am

I really enjoyed this, but I can't quite say why. Couldn't stop laughing, and the whole "fall over whenever you attack" thing was pretty interesting.

Cheshyr says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:01am

i am so confused, but it played it for a bit anyway, and it was entertaining. :-p

Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:01am

Disorienting but really fun!

EwChap says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:05am

Funny and interesting. Love the music.

ShIxtan says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:08am

I had to mute because of the scream when you throw yourself, but it was definitely fun.

Leandrus says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:11am

Hahahahaha the music. the music :D Hahahahahaha
Dude. good game. thanks for sharing.

vini60 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:15am

The deafult unity cylinders are the best xD. music is 10/10

jshaffer94247 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:17am

Fun. Took a while for me to figure out how to use that charged up power, but then suddenly there were red blobs all over the floor. Fun. Only found 1 poster. Was it inside the wrestle guy?? Couldn't get up on a platforms so ran out of guys to wrestle and got stuck.

Modoc73 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:19am

Hahaha. Good work! When I heard that music LOL! Just throwing yourself around. Nice!

Kortuga says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:21am

Thought I'd just point out FWIW that you throw yourself to wherever you're facing. So if you gotta get up on a platform, just look up at it and unleash your Wrage. WAHHH

Kortuga says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:25am

Also, if this game gets #1 in audio I will make a sequel.

Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:47am

Very entertaining. I'm glad you made this.

PaperBlurt says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:27am

So funny.
And Cena is a great game character.

Havacore says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:36am

That was... something for sure.
Sound effects were pretty hilarious

Kortuga says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:04am

Also, if this game gets #1 in audio I will make a sequel.

Fanttum says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:40pm

Hahaha, what a weird but interesting game. I had fun, even if the audio got kinda annoying really quick.

elpaulo says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:56pm

Damn that music ! Awesome !
Very nice level design too.

dydx says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:49am

I can't say I loved the gameplay, but that ending was incredible. Props for that. Nice use of the theme too!

joppiesaus says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:06pm

Hilarious. The humor is great, and it's mainly fun because it's hilarious. It's hilarious.
It has audio, which is nice. The graphics are neat-ish. Mechanics are innovative. They make people dizzy, which is a good thing...? Music is great.
However, you borrowed some assets from the internet, which is against the rules. Upload it for the jam instead. That said, these are very few, but they're at the same time the only real textures made. So I criticize that.

Apr 23, 2015 @ 1:11am

Pretty ridiculous, but lots of fun.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]