Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Lollihop

by Hemuuuli - Jam Entry

Hop around and use the sticky deliciousness of your lollipop!

Xbox controller is HIGHLY recommended.


Controls (also shown in-game):
LEFT STICK / ARROWS: Move
RIGHT STICK / WASD: Camera
RIGHT STICK PRESS / TAB: Zoom
A / Z: Jump
RIGHT BUMPER / X: Run
X / C: Wide Attack
Y / V: Overhead Attack

BACK / R: Reset VR Tracking
PAGE UP / DOWN: Graphics Quality
HOME: Return to Checkpoint
END: Reset Game

Source code & assets: http://tinyurl.com/jvrhqe8

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness69%
#40Graphics(Jam)4.51
#75Audio(Jam)3.86
#170Overall(Jam)3.65
#198Theme(Jam)3.80
#249Mood(Jam)3.44
#258Humor(Jam)3.39
#355Fun(Jam)3.27
#432Innovation(Jam)3.21

Comments

Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:52pm

I like the art style and the integrated tutorial. Also changing the graphics quality straight in the game is something very few do and is much appreciated.

The only thing I didn't like about the game was the weird perspective. I couldn't tell the distance between my player and the other elements. Having a 3rd person camera allowing the player to rotate around the player would fix this issue easily.

Sigrath says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:01pm

The controls were a bit frustrating for a platformer (played on keyboard) and I would recommend adding a simple shadow for the character so that you can see where he is in relation to the ground when jumping (would certainly make the moving platform jumping much less of a pain).

Still a good effort, well done. Really liked the cellshaded graphics.

YM says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:41pm

Great work for the jam, love the aesthetic and music.
Couple small issues for me:

You lose all momentum when you jump off a moving platform. The jumps are all stupendously hard because of it. It's also super hard to tell what you're currently level with.

The camera is really keen to move on from the relevant area, right where you make the first wall jump, I kept missing the target and the camera basically had me off the bottom of the screen. Again where there's a staircase made of the shaky-falling cubes, you're looking at the bottom 15% of the screen max until you're at the top of the staircase.

Hyoga-3D says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:14pm

Controls could be a bit better (I played on keyboard)
Very nice graphics and mood, good use of the theme too.

agilejoshua says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:48pm

Nice style - very difficult to play with keyboard...

JALgames says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:09pm

I really liked the game, especially the really nice graphics. The only thing I found very difficult were the controls: I don't own an xbox controller and the keys I had to use we're all over the keyboard. I think it would have been fairly straighforward to change them to something a little bit more accessible

DarkwindMedia says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:10pm

Love the style and the idea! I like how the "damage" is forgiving, letting the player continue on. I think the controls could be a bit better, as well as the camera, but those are minor details that can be adjusted with more feedback.

Great job!

Borkleby says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:14pm

Wow! Awesome Jam game!! I love the art style and models, reminds me of LoZ Wind Waker! Super cute and innovative weapon design; the only problem I experienced was the Xbox controller which didn't work except for the control stick. I'm using a mac so that might be it.............. I love it!

eott says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:16pm

Gorgeous game, I love the art style.

I know that a controller is recommended, but the game is almost unplayable on a non-QWERTY keyboard layout, so I'd say it is mandatory. The camera, despite the options to look around, could have been at a better angle. It was very difficult to judge distances.

Overall, good work!

DesignerNap says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:20pm

I agree with the above comments. The perspective made the jumps harder than they needed to be and the depth of field blur around the screen made it a bit worse... however.. the game is great. I played to the end and really enjoyed it. Using the lollipop on walls to jump is a nice and original mechanic. It was a delight to discover that. Superb work. Plus bonus points for a random basketball bit :D

dyfer says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:23pm

like it , good idea with the gameplay of the weapon , a lollipop sound a bit stupid normali but the way to use it is very interesting, good job

Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:02pm

Well done!

As others have already commented, there is an issue with loss of momentum and the perspective, but overall the game is quite fun. I enjoyed it and I dig the graphics.

jordinuco says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:08pm

Hard to play... great if it´s what you were looking for.

hexdie says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:03am

Very nice, stylized graphics. The audio was nice as well. The controls were a bit frustrating as you could barely jump and the perspective made it hard to aim jumps.

Awpteamoose says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:33am

It looks nice, but was really hard to play because of the camera.

louis.denizet says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:31pm

Really good work! Nice graphics, cool idea, really good mood, well done =) (a bit tricky with azerty keyboard though :p)

lochmann-apps says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:37pm

Awesome game! Really nice graphics, cool idea and nice complexity!

Cheshyr says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:38pm

love the music and art style. definitely great work for 72 hours. nicely done.

Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:50pm

We really liked the art. Different and beautiful! The game is a little addictive in some way :) Great job!

Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:51pm

Nice music. The graphics are good, too. Having the sheep stick to the lolli is quite funny. The keyboard controls are indeed a bit clunky. All in all very well done.

Taldius says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:00pm

Really nice game, I love the Katamari Damacy thing where the sheep stick to the lollipop. However, I have a little concern about the fact that there is no shadow under the character, it make the whole platforming really hard to handle, I had a lot of difficulties to know if I was falling on a platform or not.
Anyway, the art is really good and I was able to finish the game so it's not a big problem.
Great job!

mockthebear says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:58pm

nice idea! graphics are awesome!

Zarkith says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 2:46pm

This is one of the absolute very few games I've ever played where I can barely figure out where I am in 3D space, and all you needed to avoid this was to give the player a shadow.
I really loved everything else about the game, but that just killed the whole thing for me. :(

coderitual says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 7:11pm

Keyboard controls are really bad. Maybe with gamepad would be better. Otherwise I like graphics you made. Gameplay should be polished imho but other things looks just great. Overall 4+/5

yuigoto says ...
May 1, 2015 @ 7:30pm

Nice work with the art and soundtrack! Environment, characters and the cel-shaded graphics look beautiful! Controls work pretty nicely and playing the game feels pretty nice too!

But the camera angle, sometimes, is a little bit of a let down, even with controls. It's easy to jump in the wrong direction or miss the platforms.

Also, those first two rotating platforms, it took me a while to get how to jump on'em. :P

But a lovely entry, for sure! :3

Anshul Goyal says ...
May 2, 2015 @ 3:47am

full points for graphics. Definitely one of my best looking games.

Its kinda hard to get the jump perspective right. But nonetheless, great game!

Split82 says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 7:47pm

Looks great, but plays a little hard. Small shadow bellow the character might help.

orangemoose says ...
May 7, 2015 @ 4:51am

I loved the art style and the humor of the game! I do think that the perspective was a little weird, though. It was difficult to tell how far away the moving platforms were, and the tutorial signs were hard to read at that angle. I also think it could have benefited from some invincibility frames when the player gets hit by an enemy/sheep. Whenever I got hit, the enemy would keep moving towards me and hitting me over and over until I fell off the level... Still, it was a great entry and very clever use of the theme!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]