Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

AquaphobiCats

by Elemental Zeal Games Studios - Jam Entry

*Update* Small Bug Fix for web versions, only change was setting height text to best fit as it was not showing for the web version otherwise.


*Note* We attempted to make an WebGL build with Unity, but it was about 10 times slower than the normal Web build and was extremely unplayable.


Introducing AquaphobiCats, our 11th Ludum Dare Jam Entry!


Warning: Graphically intensive. Windows build recommended, which also includes anti-aliasing and stylized noise.


Made by our team of two. All assets and code were made during the 72 hour jam. Audio was made with Audacity. 3D models were made with Blender. Coding was done with C# in Unity 5.


In this game, use the unconventional weapon of a spray bottle, to battle with cats in a volcano, while they use the unconventional weapon of giant yarn balls. Your spray will also help to keep you above the advancing lava!

In Game Description:

"You are an Alien!
You have come to earth bearing the gifts of your people
for our planet's most intelligent creatures.

You quickly introduce yourself to the cats of the planet.

Worried that they will lose their comfortable
lifestyle if you share their secrets, they throw you into
a volcano to destroy you with your one weakness, lava.

Use your Spray Bottle to stay alive as long as you
can by jumping and launching yourself to rocky platforms,
battling cats and their yarn balls as you go. "




Best played with a 360 controller.

Keyboard Controls:
- A/D to Move, W to Jump,
- Left Click to use your spray bottle.
- P to Pause
- M to Mute
- R to Restart

Xbox 360 Controller Controls:
- Left Stick to Move, A to Jump,
- Right Stick to use your spray bottle.
- Start to Pause
- Back to Mute
- B to Restart
- Start to Progress through Menus


Hope you enjoy our game, and best of luck to everyone who entered a game this time. :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness54%
#358Mood(Jam)3.29
#385Humor(Jam)3.14
#391Graphics(Jam)3.55
#532Audio(Jam)2.70
#537Innovation(Jam)3.06
#684Theme(Jam)3.13
#768Fun(Jam)2.68
#875Overall(Jam)2.77

Comments

johnnwfs says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:00am

I liked the color scheme and the little models for the alien and cats were cute. I wasn't able to last very long and at first thought I should be able to go higher and higher but I think you have the one room to play in? Interesting product and might be a good one to expand on... maybe a volcano escape?

Geckoo1337 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:03am

I like the aesthetic and mood, but it seems to me confusing. I didn't understand what I were supposed to do - except shot. Thank you for this solid entry ++

marinalucio says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:20am

I love the cats, my mom has 3 of them, so it's a very touching theme for me. The controls can be improved, i want to use the water jetpack to fly. But, i can't. Great entry...awesome graphics and sfx.

Tommyno222 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:29am

Perfect physics, wonderful audiovisual and great gameplay! It's even fun to jump down after you get high enough :) I'd appreciate if the game has some height meter.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:39pm

Bizarre and awesome. Managed to somehow get up over 200 plus before I died!

zakchaos says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:51pm

Great use of mood, I did not find it fun personally, but it looked really nice, sounds were a bit grating.

goadrich says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:42am

Nice game! The lava graphics are beautiful! The water spray is hard for me to see in context of all the other colors, it feels too subtle. I jumped off the screen to the left and couldn't get back. In the web version, whenever I tried to spray a cat, the frame rate collapsed, and then I died.

Cheshyr says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:11pm

amusing idea, and the audio was well done. nice submission.

andrewkennedy says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 1:16am

The game was pretty confusing - I had a really hard time controlling the character. It seemed to move REALLY fast and then not respond at all. The theme of the game tickled me though and the graphics looked nice. Solid job overall!

efonsecab says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 5:33am

I like the game idea, graphics are good for the game.
I had problems with mechanics at first, did not get them, they are good, just confusing at first. I did not like the sound, at least is not sound for my taste.
Keep working on it, the idea is good and interesting

SamH says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 8:18am

Well, the various graphics, particles, post-process effects, etc. are extremely nice, but the game itself is quite confusing; most of the time I die by exiting the screen on the sides and not being able to come back, which is frustrating. My other gripe is that I don’t get a lot of feedback about what’s hurting me. But it’s quite fun overall.

LeftRight92 says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 6:08pm

I'm absolutely dreadful with games like this, but from what little I was able to see of it before I died horribly it looks really good.
Concept was very fun and graphically it was pretty. Jetpacking!
My only criticism was I lost control too easily, but I think that's more my fault than the game.

SimianLogic says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 8:18pm

seems like you shouldn't be able to go off the edge of the screen

redding says ...
May 1, 2015 @ 3:39pm

The art was really good. However, the controls felt a little awkward.

FistBumpGames says ...
May 9, 2015 @ 1:01pm

Looked and felt very nice and the sounds were pretty funny. The gameplay in itself was a nice concept but could have used a little additional work.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]