Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Gravitron

by Zener - Compo Entry

Gravitron is the weapon of choice of every space adventurer. It allows you to levitate any kind of objects.

Story: "Alarms ringing! Beep beep beep
You wake up abruply from hibernation.
Something struck the ship and
caused a fuel leak.

Now te only option is to get into
an unknow space station,
grab some power cells and
escape before anyone notices
your presence."

Controls:
-Use cursor keys or pad.
-Up or Space to jump
-Left control key to fire gravitron.

Tools Used:
-Unity3D & monodevelop for code
-PaintShopPro for gfx
-Tilestudio to edit the levels
-Sfxr for the soundFX
-Music generated with MIDI Random Trance Music Generator. (http://www.anticulture.net/MusicGenerators.php)
-Music edited with Audacity

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#49Overall3.96
#134Fun3.68
#137Audio3.52
#141Mood3.56
#162Graphics3.80
#165Innovation3.72
#608Theme3.28
#1436Coolness46%

Comments

AgentParsec says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:41am

Unconventional, yes, although I wouldn't call it a 'weapon' since it's not being used to attack anything. Still fun.

Leandrus says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:23am

Nice game. I think the same as AgentParsec.
It can't be call it a 'weapon' since it's not attacking anything. But you can see the potential in the game. Adding some enemies and maybe they get destroyed by getting hit with the boxes falling over them.

sydan says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:11am

I really enjoyed this. I played all the levels and finally got the hang of the mechanic. It took me a while to work out that I needed to use my body to change the oscillation of some of the boxes but once I got that it was really fun! I love the short little story and the art and music is pleasing!

urkel76 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:03pm

Amazing!!! Game design is superb, but level design is even better. It's extremely hard in these jams to find games you want to complete, this is one in a hundred. Particle effects marvelous, music fantastic. On the top of that it's one man's works!!!

Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:12pm

Nice one!
I got stuck on the dark level.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:56pm

Nice game! I was able to beat all the levels and really enjoyed them. Good job!

Nysten says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:01pm

Didn't really follow the theme, but the game itself is good. I liked the concept. The feel of the gameplay is a bit awkward and would need some tuning. Good submit still.

Anshul Goyal says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:02am

very interesting mechanic. right on theme. Congrats!

Got the Guts says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:56am

Very nice game! I really liked the atmosphere!

Zener says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:04pm

Many thanks for your good comments. The idea was to have some enemies in the game but at the end I couldn't put them on time.

Hyoga-3D says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 8:01pm

I had some trouble with walking, because sometimes my char walk even if I'm not pressing the buttons.
But nice game, especial the way you used the theme.

Geckoo1337 says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 5:36pm

Really nice entry. The physics are amazing. maybe there is a little proble with some colliders, but it's good enough. One of my favorites for this LD32. Thumbs up ++

GAFBlizzard says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 8:05pm

One huge issue for me, the momentum while running is kind of like trying to stop on ice. Less momentum would make a puzzle game more fun, I think.

The physics for the player also feel very physics-game-ish and glitchy (think QWOP) instead of tight, and the completely dark level was frustrating. I wanted to use the awesome puzzle mechanics instead of sitting close to the screen and staring, looking for black spaces. :(

Jumping was difficult because of the physics and landing momentum. Perhaps some of that was intended to let you squeeze between blocks, but I feel avoiding squeezing between blocks might be best, even if it takes a bit of redesign.

That said, I beat the game. Great concept (even if not really fitting for this theme), great potential, good graphics. I really like that even distant blocks highlight when you levitate them.

2R says ...
May 2, 2015 @ 7:48am

Nice gameplay and really cool graphic:)

Frozen Stick says ...
May 2, 2015 @ 8:22am

Very nice interface and music is eggcellent.

AxeTheory says ...
May 2, 2015 @ 6:47pm

`3

alyphen says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 2:03am

It's atmospheric, the music was pretty good and the graphical style was nice. The puzzling mechanic is fairly unique, although I'd like to be able to control it a little more, perhaps gravitate certain regions of blocks? Sometimes it feels like I'm only getting through because physics works in weird ways.
Other than collisions being a little off, I'd say it's quite polished.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]