Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

The AFK47

by crockid5 - Compo Entry

AFK47 is a rifle with special properties, it does not fire bullets, it instead fires random objects ranging from carrots to computer monitors. An intense action packed, stealth game where you must sabotage the enemy by hacking all of the laptops full of intel scattered around the secret underground laboratory.

I Didn't get as much work as I'd have liked but I'm pretty impressed considering I spent half the time asleep.

How to Play:

WASD - Move
Hold E - Hack Laptops
Press E - Toggle Doors
W - Go Up Ladders
Left Click - Fire

Known Bugs :/

* Enemies randomly dissapear on game start
* Not actually tested if the game is completeable, but it's quite long so don't worry
* Bullet through paper with bullets
* Tile Collision off a bit
* All Achievements are Implemented
* Random get the crush achievement

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness61%
#295Humor3.23
#552Theme3.33
#658Overall3.06
#662Audio2.42
#662Mood2.80
#713Graphics2.79
#742Innovation2.82
#755Fun2.82

Comments

jacketsj says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:19am

"The account's public links have been generating too much traffic and have been disabled." You may want to fix that.

Psyho says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:19am

I got "Error (429)
This account's public links are generating too much traffic and have been temporarily disabled!" From your dropbox :)

Kalkatos says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:19am

Dropbox link has an error...

ViliX64 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:22am

Pls check your links, I'm getting an error :/

Fanttum says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:23am

Same error, plz fix

crockid5 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:27am

Error should be fixed.

nurabsal says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:37am

"a java exception has occured"

UserAnon says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:38am

Lots of white and lots of walking :( Although the loads of random items that come out are really awesome.

Stairs really suck, and the scale of the level is nowhere near what it should be for the rate that you move at

koredozo says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:40am

The concept is interesting, but I had a lot of issues that made it hard to enjoy the game and didn't play for very long.

* The game runs at about 5 FPS for me
* Often when you walk up to a door, you'll collide with it and stop at too far away a distance to actually open the door
* Climbing ladders is very slow and takes upwards of 30 seconds
* AI seems buggy, the second guard ignored me and would only walk into the wall opposite me

Boodog says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:42am

Pretty good! The player moves a bit too slow for my liking, though. Good job!

ErikU says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:44am

Haha fun little game. Pretty unforgiving too! A few mistakes and it's right back to the beginning. I like your interpretation of the theme, and landing the fedora on the head was a nice touch. Lots of polish and content here, well done.

Croze says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:48am

Very cool! I absolutely loved climbing around on the ceilings, and the achievements were hilarious!

Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:48am

Haha I got a moonwalk achievement.
Nice work!

Junber says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:24pm

Nice game. Liked the achievements. Walking is a bit slow though.

stevenlr says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:45pm

The physics of the objects launched by the weapon is a bit off sometimes but the objects you throw are quite funny. I was a bit annoyed when I saw that I couldn't come back from the last room to get the laptop I had skipped, so I couldn't finish the game unfortunately. :(
However climbing on the ceiling was really fun!
Pretty good game overall.

crockid5 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:20pm

You can get back, cling to the ceiling above the door and then move right while holding space and you'll jump up to the ladder again :P

Hatsome says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:26pm

The achievements were a nice touch

Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:26pm

Cool. Like the idea and the sound effects are niiiiice

Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:42pm

Nice! Made it to 8/11 but then got stuck in a ceiling :( Some more bugs too: the enemies would shoot over my head, or would randomly get stuck. Too bad that the projectiles are too small to be really recognizable, but the sounds help a little :)

Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:55pm

Graphics and audio were good. Lateral movement speed was much too slow for the level size, it just felt drawn out to get anywhere. The parts with some gameplay were alright though.

eddynardo says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:58pm

Fun game.Really innovative.Very good gameplay i liked the idea of Grabbing from the ceiling .The graphics are simple but the character is really good looking.The Achievement unlock is a great idea.Congratulations really nice game,especially for a compo entry!

reiknight says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:42pm

I installed JRE8 for playing this game, my advice if you develop games in java is to support at least java 6 or 7.

I tried to die, but... soldiers didn't kill me, it seems a bug.

By the way, nice idea and keep working on it.

shrapx says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 9:03pm

lots of intricate features, but the gun doing no damage seems to make it impossible to get anywhere. The guy is a bit slow and the levels are a bit big in comparison D: It reminds me of impossible mission with the hacking, the guy had a goofy walk and an even goofier ceiling climb. fun ideas

dcRfj15 says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 9:14pm

I loved the achievements (my favorite was Rabbit Stew), and I thought that the concept of the game was fun and creative. The mechanic of climbing on the ceiling was awesome, and I really liked the way the mouse controlled the camera.

It was hard to tell what items you were shooting out of your gun because they were so tiny, and I thought that walking became tedious after a while, and there were some bugs with the guards not shooting at the player, either because they were shooting the wrong direction, or because they were shooting too high.

Good job overall though :D

Os_Reboot says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 1:33pm

Walk speed could be a little faster, but other than that fun game!

2R says ...
May 9, 2015 @ 11:28am

Good job! Well done:)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]