Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Underload

by Taldius - Jam Entry

You didn't ask what the diversion was for, you didn't ask for a good teamate and ammo too... But the fate of the world depends on you (well... you think)
Survive as long as you can, fight for your life, and don't forget to get the pieces of your truck back after tossing them.

Your tank shoots really bad without his canon... and you cannot drive without wheels...

Credits:
- Aubry Grieger & Antoine Semblat
- Musics by MachinimaSounds

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#48Humor(Jam)3.96
#191Fun(Jam)3.54
#273Overall(Jam)3.51
#274Innovation(Jam)3.47
#274Audio(Jam)3.29
#303Graphics(Jam)3.71
#417Theme(Jam)3.49

Comments

plokdev says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:02pm

The game is hilarious, and that alone means it deserves a good rating. The vehicular damage is a cool touch, and the allure of a high score gives it potentially great replay value.

Havacore says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:42am

Really well done, and quite challenging. I like the graphics, and the damage your vehicle takes is neat, though it took a while to figure out. I enjoyed it

funisfun8 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:45am

I didn't really understand the game at first but the idea of firing your wheel at them is interesting. The random messages were kinda funny. Good job overall.

LeftRight92 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:47am

Really enjoyable game, not much in the way of constructive criticism other than the fact I got stuck on the floor occasionally (even with all wheels etc)

Taldius says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:55am

You can fire your wheels, reactor, canon, and what you collect. You also can jump with some object collected under the Aliens, it will throw them too.

sentendo says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:52pm

haha hilarious! :D

nov1kk says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:59pm

Nice work!, hard challenging. Good joob!!!!

rogberth says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:00pm

Impresive work done here! Love the stickers in the truck haha.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:50pm

Kept getting stuck and unable to move -- better to stick with kinematic bodies for character control; dynamic bodies are too futsy/error-prone.

Huo-cuo says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:53pm

Very funny and unconventional.

danec020 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:55pm

Interesting concept. Seems like you shoot parts of your vehicle too often but other than that I think it is an excellent jam entry! One of the better ones I have played. :)

DaGamesta says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:04pm

This one's a keeper!

terrykim426 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:17pm

Haha this is great! I like how my "cannon" and wheels got shot down and I have to go back and pick them up.

After playing a round of the game, I understood the title immediately XD.

DKoding says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:40pm

Unable to get the WebGL version to work, jumping did not work at all, my tank just keeled over and then I died. I could aim though. Unity web player worked a lot better though, and the game was really fun! Loved that you had to pick up your gun, wheels etc when you were hit. Liked the humor. 3D graphics were simple but effective, 2D was great. That said, weapon was not too unconventional.

pixzleone says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:53pm

LOOOOL

daredevildave says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:54pm

Hilarious, I laughed. And then I got stuck with no wheels and I cried. Very good.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:19pm

Pretty funny take on the theme. Neat graphics too. Took me a few goes to understand what was going on but after that, was fun stuff.

pikmin4000 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:10pm

the despair i get for driving with no wheels is insane

AtomicVikings says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:59pm

Nice voice work m8 ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)
Would love to see more from you guys!

Conk says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:11pm

Very funny and very enjoyable game play :D

Robber says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:04pm

instant cult hit, aslo cool characters -> love the vocal work guys

Bemmu says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:44pm

Amazing voice acting talent!

Pixel_Reaper says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:47pm

Had a good laugh, well done. how does a cannon shoot itself? :P

rmc says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:26pm

When I understood the game, I could not stop laughing, hilarius.
Very nice concept, the graphics are very cool too. Good job.

novadream says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 12:13am

Lol, that was great! :D
I loved the concept of losing bits of yourself when you got hit and being able to basically chuck all of yourself at the aliens.

Apr 23, 2015 @ 12:30am

Like the idea of an ammo limit driven by the parts of your car. Did a good job for the jam, would explore more scenarios where you could utilize this mechanic for a full game.

Apr 23, 2015 @ 4:11pm

Funny game, awesome idea. Shooting the cannon with your cannon... yeah!

Dorgam says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 12:45am

Funny little game, though so hard!
You should made it a little easier at least fo the beginning.
UNDERLORD!

Omiya Games says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 2:02am

An interesting on a 2D shooter formula. While the controls are solid, the resource management is not. Frequently had a hard time understanding why certain parts will be shot, vs cargo in the truck itself. Knowing the mechanic behind that may have helped the experience significantly.

Cliff Lee(CL) says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 3:07am

Great entry! good in all ways :)

runvs says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 3:38pm

Oh my god. At first I didn't understand where my cannon went...

Very nice game and great humor. :D

Apr 24, 2015 @ 4:50pm

Funny game. Good job guys.

Druid says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 4:51pm

Wow, pretty good entry! Smooth controls, losts of fun and is really good optimized! (I played lots of uglier unity games with 10-15 fps :D )

Krunoslav says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 5:16pm

Fun game, i like the difficul level, not so easy, not too much frustrating :)

Yoon says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 5:39pm

Excellent characters and fun gameplay. The badass title screen always makes me wanna play again.
Plus I'll never get enough of those voices.

French accent ? ;)

Once you throw the canon, the game is basically lost though. And to me it needs greater reach.

Taldius says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 6:48pm

Yes, french accent :D

hadesfury says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 8:29pm

Nicely executed. The controls work quite well.

Apr 24, 2015 @ 8:48pm

this is a super funny game with nice graphics !
too bad that i've lost the 4 wheel ........
az faur your frinche accente, maïne iz worz zan yours !

Anshul Goyal says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 2:05am

Awesome man!

The game kinda bugged for me in second try. I could move but couldn't shoot. There was no crosshair on the screen. I clicked inside the viewport multiple times.

dos says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 5:10pm

Those little dialog lines <3

Lyje says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 5:41pm

The gun that fires anything is great, and I like the idea of losing parts from your vehicle when you get shot - but in practice it means that basically once you get hit it's super hard to come back from! But overall, really fun :)

strong99 says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 12:03pm

An hilarious game! Too bad I often shoot wheels and the gun instead of the cargo. But joy nontheless.

May 1, 2015 @ 4:09pm

Fun game, liked going around grabbing the boxes and then trying to play the game without losing all the boxes.

JenniNexus says ...
May 2, 2015 @ 9:21am

Great fun times!! :-) Song was dance-able & cool voice acting too!

Saker Games says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 5:48am

Cool game. I like that it's challenging, and makes you try it again and again. The voice acting isn't the best. :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]