Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

S-LAYER

by Ryusui - Jam Entry

In the distant future, humanity threatens to be consumed by an enormous malevolent organic mass - a sentient tumor with an undying hatred of its unwitting creators. You have been converted into the S-LAYER, a biomechanical warrior which can take the fight to the very core of the monstrosity: armed with a baton which can absorb your foes' attacks and wrest control of them from their master, you are the world's last hope.

XBox 360 gamepad supported.

S-LAYER's unconventional combat abilities require power to use. Power is accumulated gradually over time or by catching enemy shots with your baton, which points behind you as you move.

Press Shift/B to lock your baton's rotation (requires at least 12% energy).

Press Ctrl/A to swing your baton and absorb all incoming bullets (requires at least 25% energy).

Press Ctrl/A while holding Shift/B to fire your baton and dominate your enemies (requires at least 50% energy). A dominated enemy will follow you and fire its weapon when you press Shift/B. Different enemies have different attack behaviors. Press Ctrl/A while an enemy is dominated to order it to self-destruct and regain control of your baton. Dominating an enemy consumes energy; if you reach 0% while an enemy is dominated, the enemy will automatically self-destruct.

You have five lives; make good use of them. Checkpoints are scattered throughout your descent into the heart of the nightmare.

Good luck!

Update: Changed the Windows download to a 32-bit version for broader compatibility.

***POST-COMPO RELEASE***

Version 1.2 has a huge number of changes and improvements over the original 1.0 release:

- Splash and title screens!
- Instructions!
- High scores!
- A pause menu!
- A final boss that no longer dies in three hits (sorry!)
- Actual(?) music!
- Revamped gameplay!
- And more!

Check out the in-game instructions for more info on the gameplay changes. (And as always, be sure to base your ratings on the 1.0 version!)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#308Graphics(Jam)3.70
#352Theme(Jam)3.59
#375Innovation(Jam)3.30
#454Fun(Jam)3.15
#465Overall(Jam)3.29
#478Mood(Jam)3.13
#492Audio(Jam)2.81
#764Humor(Jam)2.35

Comments

popcorn897 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:48am

I'd love to play but
I can't start the game!!

Ryusui says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:27pm

Try it again. Turned out I had the wrong DLLs in the Windows package.

Awpteamoose says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:56pm

Can't play it on Windows, seems like you've missed msvc 2012 runtime dll.

Ryusui says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:05pm

Ahhhhh dangit. Try again. >_<#

Tommislav says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:12pm

I liked this game a lot, although it was very very difficult! I also had to read the instructions on this page several times before I managed to dominate my first enemy. Instruction in game would have helped a lot. Still, well done!

esayitch says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:06pm

Great game! I really liked the graphics and concept of the unconventional weapon. Very cool and stylish realization. It's fairly hard, I'll grant that. I reached the two big popping eyes twice, died there twice and then rage quit xD

Great entry, good luck!

Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:19pm

Trying to play this with keyboard and mouse was really difficult, but it definitely benefits a lot from controller support. It's a lot of fun once I got into it, with a lot of cool stuff going on. I think an indication of when you've hit a checkpoint would be nice, however.

Ryusui says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:34pm

I'll admit there's no visual feedback because most of the classic shooters don't tell you when you've hit a checkpoint, though I'll agree I should probably have put that in there. ^_^;

That said, the checkpoints are after each set of eye blocks, if it helps. ;)

popcorn897 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:07am

Cool idea!

this game is difficult as it is fun to look at, which is very. But it became more fun after I realized how to play.

-Sirmi: Team Toast

Jellyhard says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:51am

I liked this a lot. I love these entries that present very simple and yet very fun and promising concepts.

Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:47pm

Pretty hard at the higher levels, but fun to play and the controls feel good.
The only problem is that the levels are all too similar between them.

Ryusui says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:01pm

Yeah. I was originally planning on ten different enemies but I ended up only implementing the five you see here. Six if you count the eye blocks. Oh, and the end boss.

I wonder if anyone's ever gotten that far. I just noticed I accidentally left his HP at 3 for testing purposes...^_^;

fixitteam says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:54pm

the graphics are awesome :)
and what is also awesome is the fact that you used love2D :D
good job.

Tortoise says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 2:47am

Fun game once you figure out the controls. I would of liked the baton fire attack to be its own key. Felt like a solid 2D scrolling shooter with a twist and I had the impression of Metroid for some reason.

lucentbeam says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 6:41am

Really hard!

Apr 26, 2015 @ 5:20am

It's hard, but interesting

TheWzzard says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 8:39pm

Needs music!

Os_Reboot says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 1:27pm

Fun game! This is the first LD game I used my 360 controller on. It handles very well, the game has a unique flow to it. Nice job!

herniewise says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 1:58am

Hard to master but great little game.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]