Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Holokitten

by vidarn - Compo Entry

Fight your way through the alien-infested beach using your trusty holographic kitten launcher.

Hopefully the game should be pretty self-explanatory, it's basically your standard action plattformer.

There's no music in the game (because of a lack of both time and skill) but feel free to put on some sweet chiptunes in the background (like this for instance: https://inversephase.bandcamp.com/album/chiplust), just don't take it into account when rating ;)

--- HOW TO RUN THE GAME: ---
To run the game, please _drag_and_drop_ the file named go_farm.love on love.exe (on windows) or love.app (on osx)
In other words, do this:
HOLOkitten.love ----> love

--- HOW TO GET THE SOURCE: ---
The file called HOLOkitten.love is a renamed zip-file. Simply rename it to HOLOkitten.zip and unzip it :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#125Graphics3.94
#251Overall3.52
#347Theme3.59
#360Fun3.29
#397Humor3.00
#416Mood3.09
#565Audio2.67
#924Innovation2.52

Comments

Bitterdeath says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:29am

Nice character animation.

Madball says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:48am

This game is too simple. The same weapon, the same terrain, the same enemies, the same throwing angle. But that's pretty much the only major complaint! The game was simple, fun and polished. I experienced no bugs. And, the game made me very emotional! It's too lively.
I like sound effect of the cat. I like graphics. I like the ending, it was so satisfying, though I think I missed 5 coins.

Okay, minor problems time. The character's face seems a bit emotionless. Going left is more difficult than going right because your position is off-center. If you stand right against a platform that's as high as your knees, you can't throw a cat over it.

Overall, it only looks like a beginning of a game. I didn't have enough cat throwing and terrain exploring.

babilounet says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:11pm

Too bad that there no music. However, the game is cool.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:29pm

I will tweet you a video of me playing and reviewing soon.

Novodantis says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:39pm

Slick animation and great humour in this. The controls are tight and the whole thing exudes polish. I agree the levels could use a little more variety and music would be really great, but what's here is all top stuff.

slowfrog says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:26pm

Cannot download without a dropbox account, apparently.

KCrimson says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:33pm

Nice animation, great old school gameplay and I liked how you can map the controls at the start. Wish you could fire in mid air, would have made hitting some of the enemies a little easier.

Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:43pm

Very polished, the graphics, animation, controls, etc. all felt like a finished game. The only thing lacking was content and variety. I would love to see this developed into a full on game, throwing holokittens was fun. Also, nice touch with varying the sounds (like different pitched coin pickups and different meows).

Apr 24, 2015 @ 1:37pm

As a post release, you could add timer and an online leaderboard registering how fast we finish each levels. That could add more fun.

stevenlr says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 1:39pm

Very funny game! Simple but effective. The graphics are very nice and polished and the physics really smooth. I like the controls configuration thing at the beginning. It's a really nice idea to make sure everybody can play without changing their keyboard layout.

kidanger says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 1:39pm

Really nice game! I loved the weapon and the graphics effects.

Apr 24, 2015 @ 8:35pm

chrome deletes the download as harmful (not even with the option to keep the file)

nassi says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 8:49pm

I made it? No, I'm pretty sure you're the one who made it! Finished with 1483 coins and got hit twice.

Very nice musi... Oh, right :P. Well, thanks for the link at least ;).

For some reason it wouldn't let me bind the DPAD of my PS3 controller, but that has happened in AAA games too so it's probably something wrong with my setup. Really solid feeling platformer even if I had to move by using the analog sticks. Key binding really offers a nice amount of flexibility, I'll have to keep that in mind.

The level design was pretty varied with some branches so it was okay too. I think either the player should've been smaller or the enemies bigger, because at the moment it was somewhat silly. A boss would've of course been nice, but the content you had is plenty considering the time limit. The variation when picking up coins was also a nice touch. The camera should've probably moved with turning, so that the player could see equally far in both directions.

sebasRez says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 8:51pm

For some reason when I open it, it says no game.

vidarn says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 9:57pm

@jpdev:
That's weird, I've had that happen with a few LD games as well. I have no idea what's causing it, I'm sorry. :(
I usually download those games using Firefox instead, which works fine.
@sebasRez:
Did you try dragging and dropping HOLOkitten.love to love.exe? It should fix the problem :)

bakpakin says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 7:48am

Could you maybe provide different downloads so I dont have to download a 20mb zip when I only need the .love? Nice graphics, btw. Like the main sprites.

vidarn says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 12:40pm

@bakpakin:
Sure thing, I've added a link to only the .love file now. Thanks for the suggestion :)

jcsirron says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 3:20am

Am... am I throwing cats? This is a crazy cat lady game! Nice!

Tanser says ...
May 9, 2015 @ 7:02am

One of the best games I have played so far. The idea fits perfectly and is executed amazingly. The characters are lovable, the animations very live and the graphics very aesthetically pleasing.

May 20, 2015 @ 4:05pm

I couldnt move around for whatever reason? I included it in part 12 of my Ludum Dare 32 compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/m_vzNeNUn1c

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]