Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Vacuum Hero

by Evgiz - Compo Entry

-


Description
--------------
Be a hero! You couldn't find a sword, unfortunately, but a vacuum cleaner will probably do, right? Vacuum Hero is an action and puzzle game. Use your vacuum cleaner to suck up enemies, bullets and whatever else you may find, and launch them wherever you please. Do not try at home!


Tools used
--------------
IntelliJ IDEA
Pixen
Tiled
Audacity
LibGDX


If you find any bugs etc, I would appreciate a heads up on twitter (@Evgiz).
Some computers seem to struggle with HTML5 version (especially with the audio) so if you have any trouble I recommend downloading the desktop version instead.

Thank you for playing!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness73%
#11Theme4.38
#34Overall4.05
#52Graphics4.20
#97Fun3.77
#137Innovation3.77
#181Mood3.47
#202Audio3.36
#220Humor3.39

Comments

Flygamer101 says ...
Apr 19, 2015 @ 8:42pm

Very Nice Game!

siryakko says ...
Apr 19, 2015 @ 8:49pm

Cool game concept :D

Ouro17 says ...
Apr 19, 2015 @ 8:59pm

Nice game, with a great start, cool graphics and good music loop. How can I open the purple door?

louki0101 says ...
Apr 19, 2015 @ 9:04pm

Amazing you finished that in 48h! Congratz dude!

Evgiz says ...
Apr 19, 2015 @ 9:51pm

Thank you! Ouro17: You open the purple door by putting rocks on the square buttons, there is also one of these in the entrance of the level.

Dan Norder says ...
Apr 19, 2015 @ 11:56pm

Very cool. Weird that I can't vote yet. Will have to remember to come back and do it later.

SmallPhil says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:29am

This is such a great idea :P The visuals are awesome and the game is very polished. Good job !

0x0961h says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:13am

Oooooh, I like it! These sprites are adorable and the core mechanic is great. Nice job!

handkor says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:14am

Very complete. The pixel graphics are pleasing and it control well.

FireSlash says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:15am

Love this. The execution is wonderful and it's well polished as well.

ironleonem says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:16am

Very well executed title!

PaperBlurt says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:21am

I wanna be able to stuff like this too god dammit!

Naphier says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:27am

Really quite good. Controls are good. Level design is nice. I enjoy the puzzle aspect and the vacuum zoom in!

noxuma says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:46am

Very polished, love it, 29:33 min to beat.

sanojian says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:52am

Intro music was really great. I like the powerful vacuum effects when you use it. Nice job!

Armanky says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:11am

Cool idea! I like how the camera zooms in when you're sucking. Overall, I'd say this game really sucks. ;)

MRvanderPants says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:12am

Love the graphics! It's a really cool take on the vacuum games.

Ossi says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:12am

This is incredibly well executed and it has a good challenge to it without being too frustrating. Great job on the graphics and good use of the theme! Great job!

shyupuff says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:14am

Really polished, well designed. I got a bug where I couldnt fire anything out of my vacuum, Great job!

Modoc73 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:29am

Very awesome. Love the idea of the vacuum, love the graphics. Well done!

GAFBlizzard says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:34am

I liked the player-friendly mute option and restart counter. Nice graphics and lots of content. The low vision range was a bit restrictive though. I liked the zoom for the vacuum.

Unfortunately, infinitely-respawning enemies is one of my host hated game mechanics. :'( Having to walk up the really slow stairs for the boss every time was also saddifying.

I probably killed myself many times by getting locked into the wrong direction. It would be neat if you could change directions while holding the vacuum. I finished it though.

How did you reproduce the AIM noise or whatever so accurately? That sound effect is spot-on. Also the music is nice, but one tiny extension at the end could make it loop more seamlessly I think.

Evgiz says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:42am

Thank you for a thorough comment!

By aim noise, do you mean the sucking/vacuum noise? I made that with my mouth and edited it slightly in Audacity. I actually made most sounds that way, I just recorded them on my phone then edited them. The music was hard to get to loop properly, yes. I tried for quite a while then just gave up and decided to work on more content instead.

I made the vacuum stay in its direction while using it so that you can move backwards from an enemy and still protect yourself, it would've made certain parts of the game (the boss!) more difficult if you couldn't.

Thank you for your feedback!

OneL3gend says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:21am

Very awesome idea, was quite fun to play

DragonXVI says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:59pm

Nifty little idea, could do with the suction being a bit higher, specially when trying to grab enemies. Love the visuals too!

retrophantom says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:44pm

nice love it

Cerberus says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:51pm

I really liked the game, it was slow and with good design, the controls are easy and smooth, the gameplay is fun. i admired alot the graphics, wow. Overall Excellent Job!

Headmade says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:24pm

Very nice game! Nice graphics, nice gameplay, nice sounds, everything is really polished. Well done.

My only gripe is that while the weapon is unconventional, the enemies are not. I would have like something more creative than a slime.

I did not finish the game as I just couldn't beat the room where the guns are introduced. Either I'm too stupid or you have a bit of a difficulty spike there. Maybe introduce the guns, without throwing infinitely respawning enemies at the player?
Still a great game though!

esayitch says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:20pm

Great, solid entry. Everything from the graphics, to the music, to the gameplay. I dig the usage of the theme because it affects gameplay.

Good luck!

GTA LUDUM V says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:33am

Some task feels too repetitive and cumbersome (the stones thing). Overall I had fun playing this game, even though I can't beat the boss, only managed to damage him twice. Great job!

SteveSalmond says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:12am

Super cool dude! You and I have a pretty similar interpretation of the theme - great minds and all that, eh :) Loved the zoom-in effect when you start hoovering.

Nysten says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:20pm

Pretty cool game, I really like the feel of it!

suppi says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:58pm

fantastic! great graphics, very nice polish, fun gameplay and a really nice idea.
I think the audio could be somewhat improved. it was a bit gloomy and repetitive.

nonetheless says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:03pm

Great entry, nice audio, graphics work, I love the Vacuum Zooom :). neat idea and nice execution, hell of a work dude :)

Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:30am

Pretty inventive, very nice idea!

agirreb says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 11:08am

Love it.

Apr 24, 2015 @ 7:01pm

Really enjoyed this, very polished entry. Good graphics and music.

Somnium says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 10:13am

Excellent game! It feels very polished, and I really enjoyed the graphics, as well as the interesting take on the theme :-)

It is a bit annoying with infinite spawning enemies in the "puzzle-heavy" sections though, since you have to start over when dying.

Anshul Goyal says ...
May 2, 2015 @ 1:20am

awesome sire, quite unique! love the ambience in the game that you put together.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]