Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Mable: The Journey

by tripleVisionGames - Compo Entry

Mable is the story of a girl who is trying to save the forest from the demons who are draining it of colour. Unfortunately, her magical sword was made by a crazy wizard/blacksmith chap who decided to make it out of Osmium.

To rid the forest of the evil creatures, you must drop your heavy sword and then recall it to your hand, killing anything that is stood in its way.

-------

WSAD, arrows or GamePad to move.

You can fly up and down as the faerie to line up your shots (this is not obvious in the game)

Lots of other buttons are the fire button, press this to turn into a faerie and press it again to recall your sword.

Faerie form also drains the forest of colour, so try to spend as much time as a human as possible.

-------

EDIT: Fixed the bug that affects switching between fullscreen and windowed
EDIT 2: Sorry about the text behind the trees - I'll be working on a post LD version once the rating is over and I promise I'll fix it then (by getting rid of it and adding a proper tutorial)
EDIT 3: Windows now also available as a standalone executable

N.B: Can't get the switching screensize working on Mac yet so sadly it's stuck on fullscreen for now

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#6Graphics4.63
#22Mood4.10
#26Overall4.10
#48Audio3.90
#80Innovation3.93
#103Theme3.97
#109Fun3.74
#581Humor2.66

Comments

sydan says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:45am

This game is thematically brilliant and beautiful to look at. The pixel art makes me drool. However I'm struggling with the mechanic. I think I understand what I need to do, it's just very difficult to line up the trajectory of the sword with the thing you want to hit.

PaperBlurt says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:24am

Ok so I've borrowed my GF's PC for your sake and this is beyond awesome.
Your talent supply seem to never end!
F*ck yeah!

Insignia says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:53am

It's very impressive that you can put together a game like this in just 2 day. Top notch style and theme.

Switching to window mode gave me display issues, though.

Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:51am

The mood set in that opening menu is beautiful. Nice way of getting the player into the game. The sword and flying mechanic was an interesting twist but did take some getting used to. Overall very impressed with the graphics you were able to do in the 48hrs.

maunovaha says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:13pm

This is impressive and good reminder for me that if you are truly good in game development you can make great games during game jams. Nice limiting of scope to be small enough and pretty graphics. Only "bad" thing which I found were the fact that returning the sword caused slight lag to my computer. But, it was totally minor. Good job! :)

Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:18pm

Oh the slowdown I coded in! Watching too many Vlambeer videos ;)

SilentNight says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:56pm

This game looks gorgeous and is also great thematically. I like the main gimmick though I did struggle with it a bit. I think it'd be really cool to expand more and refine the concept post-compo :D

longshorts says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:01pm

Really enjoyable entry. Gorgeous graphics. The mood is perfect and the action feels very smooth. Great way of incorporating a jump mechanic and a kill mechanic into one button instead of simply jumping on characters heads. I found it a bit tricky to sometimes hit enemies, but other than that it was great.

Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:02pm

At first I spam Space+RightArrow and think that I cheat the game. But then I realize that moving to black forest isn't right final. After that I start playing trying to kill monsters and find out that it is cool new mechanic. Bravo, you made a great game!

ajopart says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:29pm

This game is in the "compo" category ? So ONE man did all this by himself ? Amazing. My favorite so far

Iak says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:58pm

Bit difficult to get into the combat system, but actually really fun once I got it. Also the design is amazing.

Nysten says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:07pm

Very moody game! It took a while to understand the mechanic and how to use it, but I managed. It was fun and the art style is great!

icedvariables says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:59pm

Graphics are awesome. Just a small thing: it was quite difficult to read the text at the start as it was covered by the trees. Over than that though, awesome!

CoRcHoX says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:56pm

Awsome graphics! it´s quite difficult to kill the flaying enemies

monstersauce says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:45am

I was killed by Mike O_O
Very interesting mechanic, not to mention the gorgeous pixel art! Love it :)

Nanolotl says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:01am

One of the more polished entries I have come across. The sword mechanic was fun, but surviving for very long was really difficult. The foreground trees appeared above the the instructional text, which was a little bit annoying.

Adreqi says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:06am

Only thing that bothers me: Text behind trees. Besides, it's an awesome game :D

careless says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:49am

This is Flappy Bird to me! By that I mean I fail quickly but refuse to give up!!!! I die because of my own mistakes so I cannot be mad at the game, just mad!

The graphics are great, big fan of trees so perfect setting for me. The audio adds a nice tension to the game.

Running on a Mac, runs smoothly but couldn't switch to windowed mode (a non issue tbh)

Great overall game and scored very highly by me

kyyrma says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:34pm

Oh come on, this is beyond sweet! Amazing effort for just 48 hours, especially the graphics.

One thing that put me off was the fact that the game came with an installer. I wonder if there was a reason for not exporting a stand-alone executable from Game Maker? Installing is just that extra bit of hassle that might cause some people to skip this entry, which would be a huge mistake.

sararyCow says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:41pm

Awesome graphics! The game mechanic and music are very nice too!

sandbaydev says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:38pm

First entry I tried this time and it's such a gem :) -- makes it challenging for other entries!

Here's what I most liked about the game:

- the pixel art is awesome. The moving hair is very beatiful. The enemies look great, the forest looks so nice.

- *learning* the combat mechanism. It was new to me and I liked the fact that I needed to learn it. I'm not sure how well the mechanism would work if I'd play this game for 2 hours! Either way, great work.

Good job.

Azurency says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:05pm

Awesome game ! Love the graphics and the mechanic is really interesting.

NAL says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:17pm

Absolutely wonderful! :)

FistBumpGames says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:38pm

Really nice game! Loved the unconventional weapon mechanic and the feel of the game! But also really hard to actually hit the damn demons.

LukeZaz says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:04am

Very nice game. Excellent graphics. A bit difficult however, and the initial text was behind some trees.

Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:50am

Really fun game but I feel like I lack a goal. Graphics look amazing and creative weapon. The fighting mechanic is fun but it can be argued that using a sword differently doesn't mean it is an unusual weapon.

Bensonance says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:33pm

Love the art and sound direction!

The gameplay is great, but some sort of goal would have been pretty cool too! Oh and also, some sort of feedback (sound/screenshake) when the sword hits the ground after being dropped would help a lot in terms of aiming your sword better :).

Cheshyr says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:22pm

this is fantastic. clever mechanic, great visuals and audio. nicely done.

roving-stone says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:04pm

I'm not sure if this is an issue on my end, but the I've tried downloading the mac version multiple times and it says "“Mable.app” is damaged and can’t be opened. You should move it to the Trash."

Unfortunate because it looks beautiful and I want to play!

WetDesertRock says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:15pm

This is a brilliant game, the graphics are well done and the sword effect is very well thought out and is really fun to learn how to use more effectively.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 1:20am

beyond impressive - one of my favorites so far - i really enjoyed the unique gameplay mechanics

NoxNode says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:52am

Amazing game, I really wanna see more of this. My only complain is that there isn't any scoring system or storyline or anything except the gameplay, but the gameplay is friggin amazing.

Horsed says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 9:45am

Virus warning :-(

Apr 23, 2015 @ 10:22am

@Horsed - sorry, I can't stop GameMaker files being seen as viruses :(

@roving-stone - there's an explanation on the itch.io page how to avoid that, it's something to do with needing an Apple Developer license, which I don't have

@everyone else - thanks for the nice things that you're saying, I'm trying to rate as many other games as I can now but I'll definitely be working more on this after the jam is over

phi6 says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 1:53pm

Ahhh man the concept is brilliant - this needs to be a full platformer type thing using the same sword and flying mechanic. I made a Metroidvania for my LD entry and I can imagine your core mechanic to work very well in an open-world setting.

Anyway, with what you have here, graphics, animation, sound and music are top notch!

fndy says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 2:29pm

Amazing game!

DarkwindMedia says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:14pm

The background is so beautiful!

BIZM says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 7:34pm

Beautiful game. Switching between sword carrying and fairy mode felt really good. We liked the personalized enemy names too :D. Great work!

Dreyan says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 10:50pm

Aaaaaaaand best game (overall) so far

richiebranson says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 3:34am

wow....this game left me speechless. Once I caught on with the weapon mechanics, it was a ton of fun. The pixel art was extreeeemely well-done. Love the parallax scrolling of the trees. GREAT job!

Mr. Jif says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 4:11am

Beautiful game and interesting mechanic. I suck at it though... But it's fun enough that I want to keep playing and getting better! Very well done

hexagore says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 10:08am

Simply gorgeous. Outrageously difficult, yeah, but when you do manage to kill something it's very satisfying.

tajger says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 12:27pm

Hard to win for the first three days of trying. The dark forest is very beautiful and I do not feel lost in it. ;)

Yword says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 3:32pm

Wow, the slash action is incredibly cool! The graphics and music are very good too! I like it very much.

yuigoto says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 4:46pm

Nice work with the pixel art and all the parallaxing! And the idea is pretty solid for a compo entry. Soundtrack's really good too!

The controls are simple but, together with the difficulty level, makes it not that simple to play. Having some problems with flying and jumping enemies. :P

Nice work on this! :)

dyfer says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 10:55pm

Your game is challenging, super nice and brilliant ! Good job!

Snicklodocus says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 2:53am

One of my favorites so far! Wonderful art and sound. The gameplay is quick and polished. When I first started, I expected the "fire" button to actually fire a bullet or something, so I was a little confused. I quickly figured it out and had a blast though!

Great job!

Apr 25, 2015 @ 3:59am

Excellent game. Love the mechanics and they really match the theme. The foreground trees really inhibit lining things up sometimes though. Not sure if there is an end in this version, but if so I haven't got there yet.

hexdie says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 4:02am

I'm not sure what else to say besides the fact that the art is great, music is awesome, the mechanic is original, and it's really fun to play! This is an awesome entry. Fantastic work!

GTA LUDUM V says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 4:31am

the art is super cool~! really enjoy the game, well done~!

Azlen says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 4:57am

Such a great mechanic.
My main problem with it is that it was difficult for me, so I ended up dying a lot.

Beautiful game though, I enjoyed it a lot. I would love to see what happens to this after Ludum Dare.

lucentbeam says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 6:34am

Very stylish!

jhrrsn says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 7:32am

Hey, on my Mac (rMBP 13") the game loads but won't progress past the title screen. I can hear that I'm controlling the character, but nothing is shown on the screen. Please let me know if you manage to fix this, as this game looks great! Cheers.

Apr 25, 2015 @ 10:54am

@jhrrsn - I'll ask around my Mac buddies and see if they know what this is or how to fix it, sorry!

Apr 25, 2015 @ 7:03pm

Super entry, one of my favs in the compo category so far ! Love graphics and especially mood, it's also really fun to play. Good job overall

johnnwfs says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 7:10pm

Great Game. I echo the text behind the trees was a bit annoying. That one thing was nothing though when compared to the art. Awesome lighting, little wind effects. The mechanic did frustrate me as it felt random for the flying dudes when I could take them out. Still an outstanding entry and I rated it pretty high in most categories!

coderitual says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 8:04pm

I still have a lot to learn about creating games. Especially for the competitions. I'm impressed.

bnhw says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 8:33pm

A novel idea, but it feels like the implementation is a bit unforgiving. I'd drop the sword and quickly fly up to kill a charging bull, but the sword would miss them. I think the sword floats a bit when you turn into the fairy? Probably worth exploring and polishing further.

Nikteddy92 says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 9:25pm

THIS IS GREAT! The graphic style of this game, plus the gameplay are awesome! Great entry!

geekdrums says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 9:41am

This is super cool. I love that sword controling action, I really love that. But I'm afraid I'm not good at this kind of action. I really want to play well. Any advice?

rogueNoodle says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 2:10pm

Amazing entry - art, sound and mechanics are all incredible. Difficulty feels a little punishing for a game that doesn't seem to be about highscores, but definitely interested in seeing where this goes post-jam

Apr 26, 2015 @ 3:28pm

Thanks everyone!

@geekdrums - I've just uploaded an 'easy' mode version. If you die as the faerie you respawn at the sword now - and the hitboxes are a little fairer.

dvdfu says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 5:23pm

New favourite! The mechanics are simple and fun, the game is presented beautifully. Difficulty is hard but you can get really good at the mechanics in a short time. Overall lovely!

Jasonsumm says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 7:02pm

lovely graphics! mechanic could be polished. :)

Apr 28, 2015 @ 11:37pm

Very very cool. The instructions were kind of unclear, but luckily the penalty for death was not an over long wait time. Loved the graphics and sound and the inventiveness and quickness of the kill. Great work.

Pajama-Llama says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 4:15pm

Cool game, I liked the graphics and the music.
A bit harder than I expected it to be. At first I didn't really get how to battle the enemies, but it worked out.

I'll be following your devlog!

LandoSystems says ...
May 1, 2015 @ 5:11am

Fantastic game! I really love the art style, and the main mechanic is unique and clever. The audio was pretty good as well. Great job!

Park says ...
May 1, 2015 @ 7:59am

Very cool mechanic, the jumping mob gives me the most trouble if I'm going fast. It's satisfying to cover as much ground as possible and get small boosts by recalling the sword regularly. The the "stretching" of the sword sprite when it gets pulled back is super satisfying.

The Devlog looks like it's going in a puzzle / exploration direction instead of a runner. Although I'm a fan of that type of game, I'm not sure if I would enjoy this mechanic as much at a constrained pace. It could be a fun action platformer if the human form has robust combat mechanics, but I was kind of excited for this particular build because there are so many action puzzle platformers already out there. ల(*´= ◡ =`*)

That said, I can't immediately think of tons of features that could be added to an action runner other than running boss creatures. With bosses using dashing, jumping attacks, projectiles, or bullet patterns there is a -decent- amount of gameplay to be explored, but...

Well, I'm not on TIG, but I wanted to drop an opinion in the bucket somehow. (= ̄∇ ̄)ノ

Whichever way it goes, best of luck with future development! I enjoyed your game immensely!

MrShoestore says ...
May 1, 2015 @ 2:10pm

art is fantastic, and I think it is a clever mechanic with the sword.

GameQuester says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 11:46pm

Hey another game with a sword recall mechanic, but with a different approach. I liked that you need your sowrd to kill monsters. In my game you need it to overcome obstacles. Was your intentional idea also to use a conventional weapon, but use it in a unconventioal way? The graphics of your game are beautiful and the mechanics are very well executed.

Fabraz says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 8:11pm

Aesthetically pleasing, mechanically engaging, challenging. I dig it! Great job! Not sure this qualifies for the theme?

Xanjos says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 6:40pm

Amazing visuals and I like the gameplay mechanics a lot plus I love how the enemy you got killed by has a randomly generated game.

surpent says ...
May 7, 2015 @ 3:54am

Great gimmick. Control is difficult, but it feels good when I understand.

stoarch says ...
May 7, 2015 @ 5:01am

Awesome game. Art style is amazing. Game is very difficult but fun.

ehtd says ...
May 9, 2015 @ 5:00pm

The OS X version says its damaged

May 9, 2015 @ 10:08pm

Cool game! Excellent pixel art. Gameplay is a very cool idea and quite satisfying when you get it right. It's a bit tricky to get yourself lined up right, and the enemies charge at you too fast. The tutorial text at the start probably shouldn't be covered up by the trees as well. Otherwise great job.

mathmadlen says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 3:10am

Beautiful and well thought out. I had some trouble with the mechanics, but it's impressive nonetheless!

tmpxyz says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 7:31am

great graphics & sfx/bgm

Ossi says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 2:52am

Even though the sword itself is conventional the method you use to attack isn't, so I really like the way you used the theme. The graphics and the presentation of the title screen really brings up the atmosphere. Really fantastic work!

sorlok says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 3:35am

Really nice; way to take a simple mechanic and run with it! Enjoyed the feel, and the ability to go at my own pace (fast or slow). Very easy to figure out, and neat color-draining mechanic.

Mike Mezhenin says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 10:45am

If this game doesn't win I don't know which one should.

hadesfury says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 11:28am

Hehe, I like the fact that all the monsters have a name!
Useless, but really funny !

May 11, 2015 @ 4:36pm

Flawless victory!
Hehe, really, nice well rounded game.
The mechanic is simple, addictive and polished. The difficulty is just at its right point, you are powerful but your enemies don't give you a break.

My only crictics are:
-The tutorial text keeps appearing when I'm playing, it mixes with the trees and it is confusing.
-I can stay a lot of time in flying form, the color is all sucked up, but for no consequence. I would have expect dying of exhaustion or some kind of penalty.
-Is there any way to win or is it an endless survival? It is not much clear.

NightShadow0 says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 9:10pm

Interesting mechanic, took me a while to get the hang of it but was quite fun when i did. One-hit kills feel particularly punishing with such unorthodox gameplay, though (but i assume that's no longer a valid remark with the easy mode). Amazing graphics, music and overall theme, too, very impressive work!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]