Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Downbeat

by AgentParsec - Compo Entry

Music is your weapon!

WASD to move, Arrow Keys to match the patterns

The more accurate your rhythm, the stronger the attacks are! Reach the goal to win!

(Note: The enemy spawning is very randomized, and as a result, once and a while the game has a LOT of enemies in it, while other times it's possible to make it to the exit without seeing a single enemy. Try playing again if it seems too easy or too difficult.)

(*EDIT* Decided not to embed it here. For some reason it tends to freeze the browser, but not if you load it separately from the LD page.)

(*EDIT* There's been some confusion about what to do for the center position in patterns; that means not to press any note. Since it's always 100% accurate as long as you don't touch anything, the note's strength is determined by the strongest of the other notes.)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#12Audio4.33
#28Innovation4.15
#65Theme4.08
#129Overall3.72
#201Fun3.54
#309Mood3.23
#741Graphics2.73
#770Humor2.30

Comments

ManicMiner says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:41am

Says it is an invalid web file?

Havacore says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:42am

I love rhythm games, and the concept of this is really awesome. It mentions that your attacks get stronger the more patterns you match, but I don't notice any sort of attacks.

I do like the idea of trying to keep a rhythm while paying attention to something else at the same time, really neat

AgentParsec says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:45am

@Havacore: Not at the more patterns you match, but how accurate your rhythm is. Green is perfect, blue is good, yellow is poor, and red is bad. The notes last longer and move faster, as well as do more damage, the better you hit the notes directly on-beat.

ZQMony says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:57am

Really unique concept. I enjoyed the game a lot.

ViKing Games says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:00am

The weapon in the game is fun, fits the theme well, AND does a good job in the audio department. The multitasking needed for the game was pretty cool, and surprisingly addictive.

Birke says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:00am

Novel idea but I would remove the center (or do nothing) direction. It was quite confusing to figure out it meant to not press anything and was hard to time to get right. I would suggest to also place the arrows as an overlay on the actual game so you can keep your eyes both on the notes you need to match and the enemies you need to flee from.

zzForrest says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:00pm

I suck at rhythm games so I didn't get to see very much. I like the art, but simply put having good music in your game wins me over pretty much instantly. That's amazing. Music notes as a weapon? Pretty cool! Although it was pretty hard to get the rhythm down as sometimes my piano started going off immediately, making me miss the first note.

Riccardo says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:06pm

I found the game very cool, and I particularly like the way your game uses the classic rhythm game-like gameplay. The only problem I had was that I initially did not understand how I could "match" the center command, in my opinion it could be stated better in the game description. Good job!

AgentParsec says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:08pm

@Birke & @Riccardo: Yeah, it's too late to change it in-game but I can at least update the instructions on the entry page.

ObscenelyTrue says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:09pm

Your fighting rythm game is nicely done.

berkano says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:36pm

Incredible! Such a creative idea. Took a while to get the hang of it, then was in the groove. Bit weird playing on PC where I had to press ENTER for the middle button. Nice job!!

AgentParsec says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:48pm

@berkano: You don't have to press anything for the middle button, it plays by itself as long as you're not pressing any arrow keys.

maunovaha says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:57pm

Fun concept. Would like to see how much better this could be if you could have more time to make graphics? I also suffered with similar problem :B

UltraRat says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:58pm

Fun, and the procedural rooms work well for the game.

Wish I had usb dance pad controller like Crypt of the Necrodancer demo videos.

hypp says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:59pm

I really liked this one. Great idea and well executed!

rantt says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:08pm

Cool concept, once you knew where the notes were it got a lot easier to move around and repeat the rhythm. Fun game, I enjoyed it :)

Zener says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:35pm

The idea is very good. At first it is a bit difficult to sync movement and pattern matching. Music is great!

SmilingCat says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 5:54pm

Very nice! Great use of music as a weapon, and pretty awesome music too.

lamogui says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 5:56pm

Another Music compo, IMPRESSIVE AND AMAZING !, Very cool !

Andrea says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 8:59pm

The game could use a better UI but the idea is great and I can't wait to see what comes out of it if there's further development!
Great job!

Apr 24, 2015 @ 9:34pm

Really neat game! Great entry. I included it in part 5 of my Ludum Dare 32 compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/esXlcAnzqGA

Gunzil says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 6:09am

A bit too hard to get the hang of, with too many things to track. There are three different points on the screen that require focus at the same time! Overlaying the directions to copy over gameplay would have helped a lot.

Moving freely while also pressing buttons to copy beats is still a lot of things to do at once, though. Limiting your available inputs when doing a rhythm game is a good idea because it lets the user focus more on their timing. Crypt of the Necrodancer does a good job with only having movement available, which occurs on the beat, forcing the user to make decisions on the beat.

But beside that, this is a nice prototype, and it's always great to see people experimenting with rhythm games! :)

SimianLogic says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 8:14pm

I'm not musically inclined, so I had to watch the simon prompts visually instead of listening for them. Keeping an eye on the prompts and moving around the space is really challenging, though I was able to survive for quite awhile.

I have no idea what the "center" tone was for -- there are only 4 arrow keys. After reading the comments here I realize it was "do nothing for a beat" -- but I never would've figured that out from the game.

Plustech says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 7:09pm

Really nice idea dude. Really enjoyed it. I struggle a little bit though, the center sound is not that intuitive, at first glance I thought I didnt have enough keys to play it. The dungeon was a little too much I believe. Maybe focusing in a small room with less options could make the exp of the music better. A personal opinion. Nonetheless, great compo entry.
Cheers

Omiya Games says ...
May 1, 2015 @ 3:16am

Very hectic that required a lot of concentration. While the game felt fair with its difficulty, I thought that the UI was implemented poorly. It was really hard to concentrate on two things at once, and I thing serious improvements can be made on the musical notes. Also add some juice (explosions, particle effects, camera shakes, etc.)!

Alistesios says ...
May 9, 2015 @ 9:45pm

Outstanding.
Really, one of the best games i've played so far in this LD. The game and its idea are really interesting, however the game is really hard.
Well done !

sorlok says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 11:13pm

Neat take on the theme! Really enjoyed this, although tracking the tune and the screen movement was tough. Cool concept!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]