Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Me+Ewe

by Mink - Jam Entry

Wolves are moving in close to your town, much to your sheep girlfriend's intense irritation. Meeting a wolf, you try to diffuse the situation except, wow, this wolf is kind of a jerk. Maybe you should put her in her place.

A short rpg-ish game made in Renpy.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2469Coolness0%

Comments

zacaj says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:51pm

nice, good music. Needs more than two options for attacking, but like the opacity

pikmin4000 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:00pm

What, why don't you have a category for graphics, I liked the vector style!

Anyways, this game was a lot of fun to me, who wants to get into visual novels. The fight scene could use more interactive depth, I ended up just smacking her with my 'weapon' until she knocked out.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:40pm

I just finished your VN and it was very funny XD. It took me some time to realize the characters were a shepherd, a sheep and a wolf though!

I wish there would be some kind of introduction to these characters though. I'm sure it'd be interesting.

Anyway, congratulations on finishing your game ;)

nassi says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 11:16pm

The art style was indeed lovely. Even if I can't rate it I can at least comment on it :P.

Very light on the story side, but I guess it gets the job done. Don't know what other options there could've been at the fight scene, but it felt a bit dull to be honest.

Solid game nonetheless.

yuigoto says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 4:21pm

Nice work with this Visual Novel + RPG mashup! A little bit too short, but it's fun to play, fun to watch and the "weapon" is...well...really unconventional! Would be nice to have some different attacks, though :P

The artwork is just adorable, shame it's not on the ratings, and it works really well with the dialogues and setting you've written.

The soundtrack you've chosen really fits the game also on all scenes, specially in battle. :)

An expanded edition of this would be nice! 'Cause now I'm REALLY curious about how this will turn out. :P

Mink says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 9:30am

@zacaj: Yeah, I'd have admittedly used something different, if I had had the time D8

@pikmin4000: Mainly because the background wasn't made by me, so I left it off. Thanks, though!

@Traumendes_Madchen: Thanks! And yeah, it could've stood to have more of an intro. I'll remember that if I do more with it

@nassi: Thank you! And I do agree there could've been more story, but I had to unfortunately cut a lot to save time, since I was doing it alone. >_>;

@Thanks for playing! And I'll say 'maybe' to an expanded version; there was originally more to it, so it'd be nice to put that it

Mink says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 9:31am

Oop, that last one should say @yuigoto

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]