Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Q.T. Feline Disruptor

by GAFBlizzard - Compo Entry

Instructions:

WASD or arrow keys - Move
G - Toggle FPS
Left mouse - Target Q.T. device
Space - Switch control

Please read the poll below before commenting, opinions wanted.




Opinion poll:

The theme was one of my favorites, yet I didn't even get to sound effects or music, let alone
the additional basic puzzles and mechnics I had planned. It seemed like a cute idea in my head, but
I spent a fair bit of time just getting the Pokemon-style tiles and movement working, resulting
in an extremely trivial, generic game that takes less than a minute to run through.

However, the concept still makes me feel like something more entertaining could be done with
decent art, graphics, and mechanics. If you were at all amused by the idea, I would appreciate
a comment with one of the four options below, should I get around to making a full game:

A: Secret agent with quantum cat, more puzzles/mechanics etc., 2D engine.
B: Secret agent with quantum cat, more puzzles/mechanics etc., 3D engine.
C: Stupid human with cat that has to protect them (keep them out of manholes, traffic, etc.), 2D engine.
D: Stupid human with cat that has to protect them (keep them out of manholes, traffic, etc.), 3D engine.

If you have no desire to see such a game, no need to vote on an option. I'm not offended and
thanks for your time!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness91%
#504Innovation3.17
#590Theme3.30
#730Humor2.38
#739Overall2.96
#800Fun2.77
#818Mood2.60
#876Graphics2.49

Comments

pegno304 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:19am

Option A. C/D would be humorous but I like the idea of Option A better. I loved the "aww it's a kitty" guard. Great diversion technique.

nurabsal says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:50am

would have liked to see it more complete

qapn says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:35am

Option A! I played before reading the text below and my thought was "there's something interesting here that just needs more time".

As you say, with some additional mechanics, you could have a really solid platform for a puzzle game.

amras0000 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:59am

A sounds great, can't get enough grid-based puzzle games

Evgiz says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:57am

Nice little game! Would've liked some music though. Gameplay is good, feels fairly innovative with the cat and all. Graphics are okay. Keep up the good work!

Interface says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:06am

Option A. Adding music would allow you to really set a great mood.

Dir3kt says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:25pm

A game with a kitty: auto 5/5!!

On a more serious note I quite liked the core mechanic but obviously the game was too short. What I didn't liked is the permadeath. Restarting and doing the same puzzles again was boring.

As far as your poll goes. 2d/3d doesn't matter much but as the gameplay is in 2D I would stick to 2D as this is much simpler to make. About story again both would do. All that matter is how you but the story in place and execute your wall game.

Good luck with your game!

Dir3kt says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:27pm

Arg can't edit :/

" All that matter is how you put the story in place and execute your game. "

glenaskey says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:15am

Option B, but I think 3D is more fun to make ;)

lucien says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:34am

funny idea

IndieST says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:48am

Option A. Stick to the 2D engine you are using and focus on the level design. Hope to see more of your idea!

HellBlazer says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:26pm

Nice concept, I would definitely be interested in playing a more evolved version. I would pick option A (B would probably be fine too, but it seems a lot more complex).

tummyache says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 6:04am

I would go with option A. I like the idea, but yea there should be more there. Looking forward to the finished thing if you continue to work on it.

Apr 23, 2015 @ 6:11am

Cute cat. Best Ludum feline puzzle game of the year.

No need to change the formula when the existing game works well - keep at it! I think more mechanics and obstacles to the completion of the levels could break up the labyrinthine feel of the map, which doesn't pose much of a challenge in its current form. Still, great effort!

gillyadrien says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 6:15am

Pretty fun game, too bad it doesn't have more levels!
Great work!

Robotic-Brain says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 6:21am

Nice concept and execution :)
But to be honest, I never liked the strange, tile based movement of Pokemon... (subjective opinion of course!)

For the Poll: definitely A or B!
You could of course combine both ideas in a special level...
e.g.: the main game uses A/B, but in one chapter the Agent gets drugged by the villain, so the quantum cat has to take over and find a cure.

cdgugler says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 2:07am

I really like the concept for both the story and the game mecanics. I'd play Option A.

uvwar says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 11:08pm

Another for option A!

6DownStudios says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 6:16am

Really neat concept! The art is simple but I like the skifree vibe sprites (although I'd offset the wall image so you don't have a 1px brick.
I'd certainly like to see Option B made into a game. C's my second choice; would likely be simpler, and could be quite funny.

Ludonaut says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 8:07pm

A or C, definitely.

bossmojoman says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 12:54am

I like option B - In a 3d environment this could be a cool take on the stealth genre. Good job.

LeftRight92 says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 6:45pm

More than a prototype than a finished game, but shows promise and is entertaining none the less. I look forward to a fleshed out (option A!) version.

KaiseanGames says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 4:10am

Nice game! I was a bit annoyed by the fact that I had to replay the first two levels only because I just wanted to handshake with the guy, but it's ok.

The game has much potential if expanded upon, so Option A :)

GAFBlizzard says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 5:42am

Sorry about the entire game restart when you die. I think I submitted pretty close to the deadline and did not even implement level restart checkpoints. On the bright side I think a complete game run takes under 60 seconds at least. :P

Apr 28, 2015 @ 5:47am

Option A for me. Solid stuff here; would be eager to play more!

arhpositive says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 9:36pm

Graphics are definitely the high point for this game and the idea is decent. It has room for improvement and I'd love to see a more fleshed out version of this.

IDidGame says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 6:32pm

cool idea that fits the theme
would have liked some more since level design is what carries this kind of game imo
Op. A

Yword says ...
May 2, 2015 @ 9:35am

Really clever and interesting mechanics! And I just completed it. I would vote for option A. Well done!

pixelballoon says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 10:33am

I would have liked to see some variation on the mechanics, or some puzzles implemented, but a good start to a nice idea.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]