Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

OPERATOR 42

by KilliganIndustries - Jam Entry

Killigan Industries is looking for resourceful, versatile junior operators to fulfill staffing quotas in its Operations Division.

A brighter future can be yours if you meet the following criteria:
- Binary tactile input proficiency (4 years experience)
- Single-axis fulcrum operation (3 years experience)
- Hand-to-hand combat training
- Candidates must be good on the phone

Serious inquiries only.

@TravisChen - Travis Chen
@PeterJavidpour - Peter Javidpour
@MrWimmer - Alex Wimmer

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#8Humor(Jam)4.29
#28Overall(Jam)4.07
#31Audio(Jam)4.10
#53Innovation(Jam)3.99
#58Fun(Jam)3.87
#64Mood(Jam)3.94
#130Graphics(Jam)4.14
#421Theme(Jam)3.48

Comments

diiq says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:56am

Looks cool! But the page doesn't load :(

TravisChen says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:00am

Working on it! Up in a sec :D

Pixel Heart says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:49am

Yo Trevis, good job!

ApocoNypse says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:57am

Looks great but I had to stop playing after a while as it bugged and the phone hang-up noise was playing constantly. Very original though! :)

TravisChen says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:00am

Thanks for your inquiry ApocoNypse. Please call our customer support line at 825-4235. Thank you, your business is important to us.

trenchgames says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:04am

Nice work with the atmosphere.

Hyoga-3D says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:07am

Good entry, very nice scenario too.

Logicon says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:10am

Thought it was funny. Couldn't put out the fire though haha. Good job.

block97 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:11am

Wow! Really nice game, love the tech support humor, in addition to the game's story. Really great, polished game!

huga says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:13am

Way to go, that was hilarious!

GanonsSpirit says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:15am

It seems you can't progress past the fire, but it's a cool game anyway.

OnlySlightly says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:16am

That was awesome. I loved all the audio and voice acting. You have a great style. And awesome mechanic.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:16am

I accidentally pressed 1 instead of 2 when they asked if you were on fire and my phone broke.

Still the best game I've played yet-- totally hilarious and frustrating in the best way possible.

MightyToast says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:19am

You have captured the life of a white collar worker in a terrifying way. I love it! The theme integration is great, the graphics and sound are very cool, voice work is solid, and it's hilariously fun. Awesome work you guys!

rjhelms says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:19am

Beautiful style, funny and interesting take on the theme. Only thing that would make it better would just be if there was more of it!

Bitterdeath says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:20am

Play it and it was pretty fun.

I got an error in the debug window while talking to tech support about a fire on my console.
PhoneMenuFireStation douseplayer "cannot call non final method from an object different thant the this pointer."

ChaosRound says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:22am

very nice graphics.. good interactive painel but the gameplay need more work...

TravisChen says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:22am

Killigan Industry thanks you for your DEBUG SERVICES Bitterdeath. Thank you, your business is important to us.

Chronodrax says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:27am

I had some errors when pressing 0, and ultimately a blocking error when trying to deal with the fire, but it was fun trying to understand what all those buttons do, and the phone calls are great :)

LeftRight92 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:28am

Nothing happens after 'pressing 2 if my workstation is on fire'. Not rating yet in case this is a bug, as I would really like to play the whole thing...

HashTagCake says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:31am

I just spent half an hour playing with this. Very nice environment.

funisfun8 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:32am

Although I sadly got stuck after the fire. I LOVED the game! The humor is brilliant and the gameplay is original!

TravisChen says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:44am

Killigan Industries would like to thank you for your patience. Our fire extinguishing system is now fully operational. Clear cache before your next shift. Thank you, your business is important to us.

LeftRight92 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:41am

Yay, fixed!
Other than the previous bug, I really can't find anything to criticise on this game, a wonderfully thought out piece, great fun.
My only suggestion would be to slightly randomise some of the mechanics to add a tiny amount of replayability.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:35am

Of all the automated customer service lines I had the pleasure of displeasure to interact with, the one in Operator 42 is by far the most efficient and helpful. You'd think aiming, arming and firing a weapon capable of destroying continents and planets would be fairly difficult, but no: Killigan Industries invested top dollar in its customer service lines, and it shows!

I love games like this, experiments that think of a cool idea and just roll with it. It helps that the realization (except for a fairly big bug I encountered after my console caught fire) is great, with appropriate feedback from all of the myriad things you can interact with, great sound quality, and a very clean and clear design for every gameplay element.

The only thing I did not like at all is that the phone model is way too big (it obscures the last digit on the unilateral torsion index), but it's a fairly minor complaint in what I believe is a great entry!

handkor says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:43pm

This is good. Great work, Love the voiceovers and the whole customer support integration.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:37pm

Haha this is very close to real customer support! the graphics are great and the gameplay is fun too. i kinda felt like i was cheating by getting help from the support.

TailyILoveYou says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:00am

Fantastic game, I loved the customer support. I would love to see a bigger game with this in it XD

felipeberquo says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:02am

Great game, although I got stuck at the 2nd aim procedure part lol
Amazing what you guys did in a such short time! Congratulations

Taldius says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:08am

Awesome game, everything was good, the art is simple but effective, the mechanics are good, and the concept is really fun!
Great job!

DeadFragment says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:09am

That was really awesome! Made me laugh a fair bit and it was very enjoyable. Great job!

-Hando

benmcnelly says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:21am

Wow, this is the best game so far. Loved the script, story, acting, mechanics, using the mouse wheel to zoom in and out was a nice surprise.. I just loved everything. No criticism to be found.

anokta says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:35am

this was truly amazing! most possibly the best game i've played so far in this jam. just awesome work!! :)

Flygamer101 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:30pm

Really cool idea, great graphics!

fixitteam says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:35pm

Awesome game. Spent a lot of time trying to figure out what to do.

The audio is annoying after a while, but the gameplay and the graphics are solid.

Nikteddy92 says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 10:48pm

Woa this is great! I'm a little stuck BTW XD

decodersmith says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 3:59am

A really fun game! Reminded me of Zork Grand Inquisitor. Very polished.

lochmann-apps says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 6:46am

Haha felt like Homer Simpsons at work. Nice Game and a very good, out of the box, idea!

goblin says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 11:12am

Very original and funny, Great job!
Check ours too http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-32/?action=preview&uid=44367

hbocao says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 2:15am

This was sooooo cool! Amazing entry, guys. I don't know what to say other than it was a splendid job!

PixelPerfect says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 2:43am

This is a brilliant representation of customer service!

OberynMartell says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 3:03am

Very cool concept! I like how you know what you are doing but you still keep doing it!

uvwar says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 4:24am

Pretty dang good overall! Maybe an actual robot voice or more even voicework would be nice, but I can't really fault you for that in the time allotted time. It was fun!

Apr 25, 2015 @ 4:49am

I usually hate sitting through automated troubleshooting systems but this one was EXTREMELY entertaining! One of the best I've played so far, I would really like to see this with a few other scenarios!

GTA LUDUM V says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 5:52am

nice entry~! very fun game play!

marinalucio says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 8:28am

Omg, such an awesome game! It's just hilarious. I could finish it no problem. Nice touches adding other options on the automated service...i said my body was on fire just for fun. Really awesome work...i have absolutely nothing to complain about. :)

Druid says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 9:06am

Ohmygosh, this is so much fun :D Great idea!

vortex says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 1:02pm

I killed all those people... on a Friday!
Best game I played so far!

nutcrack says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 2:15pm

Most epic entry so far. Well done!

frokes says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 2:48pm

Love it!!! This is a evil-genius/alien problem simulator with it's on automated help service! really nice game.

lucien says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 3:52pm

Looks very cool but I dont know what to do

joppiesaus says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 5:46pm

Awesome. How hilarious. I destroyed the world thanks to the awesome customer service.

lasagnegames says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 9:49pm

That was brilliant! kudos for the voice acting!

pinkrobopanda says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 10:15pm

Amazing! It was really funny and cool. I loved how you put a spin on phone services!

Toby Pinder says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 12:10am

Simply fantastic. There's not much more I can say, really. Maybe after the [INCOMING SPOILERS]





Panel fire is extingushed, you could close the conduit panel? I didn't realise I had met all the requirements, and was trying to mess with that system still. The minorest of issues for an experience that was simply great, regardless of it's 72 hour lifecycle.

mildmojo says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 1:01am

This game has everything. Perfect art, great animation, great voice work, automated voice response satire, fire suppression systems, dials, levers, buttons, wires, gauges, fake corporations, Parisian destruction... Premise and execution are top notch. The voice script was detailed and felt expansive.

I really liked the option to extinguish myself but leave the console afire. That was a highlight.

A couple of the voice segments didn't sound like they had the same band pass filter applied as the others. You probably processed the audio files outside the game? Do try Unity 5's new audio mixing stuff if you haven't already. It lets you do things like high-/low-pass filters this in-engine in real time. I'm using it for a game about managing radio station audio streams and it's great.

A few of the clicking bits had fiddly targets. The grid of 9 buttons liked to double-read single clicks, and the bank of levers often moved the wrong lever when I clicked.

Those are pretty minor complaints, though. This is probably my favorite jam game so far.

Squarlboy says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 1:08am

That funny little experience c:

steboots says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 1:18pm

Ohhhh, I can't get past second aiming. Spent so much time on this game, this one is my favorite so far. 5 stars all around.

Suvidriel says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 11:42am

Haha this was totally amazing :D

GarethIW says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 11:49am

Alright, this was fucking amazing. I think the logic might have gone a bit screwy on the launch panel part (after the fire), but I still managed to get the launch light green and win. Super, super cool entry.

boateye says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 2:30am

This game is perfect! don't change a thing!

Borkleby says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 4:18am

Awesome, hilarious, and somewhat reminiscent of Here and There Along the Echo. I love it!

TeamQuadratic says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 4:36am

Amazing game. Great graphics, presentation, humor. All around great!

matt beckett says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 4:41am

So good!

Saker Games says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 5:54am

This game is brilliant! Cool audio and models. 5 stars! :)

jsmars says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 6:42am

Wow! Top notch entry! Really awesome job guys.. Really entertaining and fun, feels like a bit like the stanley parable :)

jk5000 says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 7:42am

The only flaw in this game, is that customer service actually does work.

th4t says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 10:21am

Great game !
Took me a while to figure out I had to call the hotline for help. Was trying to figure out the puzzles on my on. I even got one step of the arming procedure right :D
Really innovative game concept. Good work !

KaiseanGames says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 6:19pm

This was the best laid out game on this LD for me (for now, at least). Well done, guys.

Sytech says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 6:22pm

Great game! I really like the mood of it.

diiq says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 12:06am

Super spectacular. Great voiceover work; fun game; would have been even more fun if the puzzles were a tiny bit harder and more frustrating.

Stylish look and feel, and groovy credit music. Great job!

lucidsheep says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 12:41am

very funny and imaginative. The only part I gave low marks on was fun, because what kind of sick men think that navigating automated phone systems is fun?!?! lol. but, no, great job, I played it all the way through.

MrShoestore says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 1:38pm

the number one thing about this is the fact that you stick to it. support line, "tell us how we're doing" the website address. brilliant.

Timm638 says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 2:05pm

Epic!

Jasonsumm says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 11:06pm

Nice work! Awesome feel to it :)

SledKnight says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 12:38am

Hilarious. Was fun blowing up Paris! ;)

Apr 30, 2015 @ 4:55am

It was a fun experience.

Boberro says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 7:05am

Ok, looking at the quality of your work, I'm starting to think that maybe, just maybe, we need another jam category for group work :P
Gosh, this game is fantastic! (even though orbital laser cannon is not so unconventional in video games) Graphics, sound, idea... You already know that and you're darn well proud of yourselves.

My only problem (I'm sure that's not the word I was looking for) is that * is a button for skipping recorded message, not repeating it :)

aCondor says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 7:54am

So much fun and very creative!

NightShadow0 says ...
May 2, 2015 @ 7:46pm

Haha i don't know how you managed to make just following orders fun, but it really works. Loved it!

DesignerNap says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 2:33pm

Can't tell you how much this made me laugh. Excellent dialogue, love the gameplay and atmosphere. You guys nailed this.

asobi tech says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 3:03pm

Well done on conveying the tedium and frustration of an automated phone system. Extremely funny and great voice acting.

Robber says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 3:45pm

great experience, very polished game!

May 3, 2015 @ 7:16pm

Very cool game! I love the feel and atmosphere :)

RyanNielson says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 7:26pm

Great idea! Love the writing!

justthestudio says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 9:29pm

You could work on design a little, but it's freakin' good and we laughed like hell on Skype rating your game, so great job!

Fabraz says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 9:49pm

Awesome job!

This was very entertaining, played through the whole thing.

Loved the graphics and the mood, thought the humor was really great.

Only flaw in the audio is some mumbled lines and issues with fluctuating volume (which is always a problem with such little time) and that it was not possible to complete some of the puzzles without listening to the hotline.

I like the idea of the hotline more as a hidden or optional path, and I was thoroughly enjoying the VO, but I would have loved a chance to figure out all the puzzles without it, at least on a first attempt.

Great job!

Crowbeak says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 10:33am

It took me far longer than it should have to call the help line. xD Not your error, though, totally mine. I enjoyed this.

flyingbear says ...
May 8, 2015 @ 12:05am

oh man, that was brilliant! Totally captured the feeling of going through technical support when the company couldn't be bothered to put a live person on the phone with you. I enjoyed this entry immensely =)

freeholdgames says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 5:11pm

Wonderful. Just like real life.

Menesetsu says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 3:13pm

Oh my god, this game has customer support! So rad :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]