Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Love Hurts

by koredozo - Compo Entry

Evil cherubim are trying to kill you, the sole angel who remains righteous and uncorrupted! You can do no harm, even to those beyond redemption, but there are ways to defeat them with the power of love.

Use WASD or Arrow Keys to move. You can only fly for a few moments before resting!
Press Space or Left Click to fire Cupid's arrows.
Press M to smite the annoying music with the fury of the LORD. (Ezekiel 7:9)
Or to raise it from the dead.

Cause your foes to be consumed with lust above the bottomless pit, or to forget about the sharp weapons in their hands as they passionately embrace!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#216Humor3.40
#261Audio3.23
#315Innovation3.45
#352Theme3.58
#381Mood3.13
#536Overall3.19
#612Fun2.97
#724Graphics2.77

Comments

micahcowan says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:06am

This game has no gorram right to be as fun as it is.

Would be nice to have a scoring system, or something to make it feel like progress (and compare how much longer you've lasted than your friends).

koredozo says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:29am

I actually had a score counter implemented, but dynamic text display doesn't seem to work in either of Unity's web platforms.

OadT says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:12am

Great work. You had a similar idea as me, interesting to see a completely different game. Audio is great and I like the movements of the lovers :D

Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:13am

overall really nice, but the controls could be much smoother.

OadT says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:14am

Fun fact: we played our games at the same time :D

ShIxtan says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:16am

This was great! awesome mechanic :)

Jordan says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:18am

The music really sets a good mood for the game, and I really like
the center hitboxes for the enemies; Adds a fun challenge.

lamphj says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:22am

Wow this one was a surprise. This game eventually turned into how many angels could I get into a single relationship before they broke up with out anyone getting stabbed as a result of it. I'll just say that 5-some didn't last long. The angel graphics are charming and actually have more detail in them then i was expecting. Great job! It was a really fun game.

morazor says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:22am

Fun theme and unique mechanics, I like it :D

micahcowan says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:11pm

Another web game with a similar theme:

http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-32/?action=preview&uid=38974

Domicuc says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:36am

Nice, love hurts. Yeah based on reality XD
Also check my game please! x)

plams says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:40am

I have now seen cherubim hump each other. I got stuck outside the screen a couple of times. Fun concept!

Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:44am

Interesting mechanic, simple and well implemented, thought about a similar kind of concept as well.

Tortoise says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 5:03am

Cool mechanic was fun to see how many I could line up. As others have said, score display would be nice.

ndebruyn says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 5:05am

Funny

winmac32 says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 5:15am

Love is a battlefield, as they say. :P

Agreeing with other people here, in that a score would be nice. However, if it was out of your control, I understand.

zwartraider says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 12:26pm

I like the mechanic of turning the enemies against each other! The game did give me a few errors through the console though :O

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]