Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Eye Rush

by asobi tech - Jam Entry

Created in 12 hours, changed from Comp to Jam as I used open source music.
You are a cluster of Eyeballs in space, attacking with your eyes the advancing rotating Squares.

You have 1 minute to get the highest score possible.
Bar at the top shows how much time there is left.
Score chain broken if a Square gets past you.

WASD/Cursor keys to move around, Spacebar to fire.
Gamepad supported.

I have gone for a Gameboy look and feel, with 160x144 pixel resolution and 4 shades of grey/green.
Coded in GLBasic
Graphics created with Graphics Gale
Sound fx is are with trusty SFXR.
Music - http://opengameart.org/content/space-boss-battle-theme

Current HiScore in comments from Embalaje - 54340
-
http://asobitech.com
@asobitech

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#42Fun3.93
#70Audio3.78
#117Overall3.75
#192Graphics3.73
#279Innovation3.50
#543Theme3.35

Comments

Kitch says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:33am

Wow... that was a lot of fun. Everything looked great, sound was awesome, and that mechanic was really novel, fun and easy to learn and work with. Really good job.

Thanks!

Techblogogy says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:35pm

This game has really nice looking art and it's really fun to play! Great job

maunovaha says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:48am

fun to play, and unconventional eye.. :D... solid work. :>

Muffin says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:46pm

This is good! Very juicy, nice amount of polish for such a short development time! I expected to have to "catch" my eyes when they came back, arkanoid style, but didn't have to. TBH I think that would be a cool addition. Or maybe I just didn't get far enough, I'm not very good at this.

Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:58am

Simple, fun, and a really slick presentation. Great sound, music, and chunky graphics. I tend to be a fan of arcadey experience like this. Nice work.

Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:49am

Very fun! The game looked very polished and perform very well. Great job!

Bardikus says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:50am

Why did you opt out of Graphics? 5/5 from me, nice idea, fun gameplay, well executed retro design. Thumbs up from me!

animanegra says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:55am

Fucking cool man. The efects, the musicm the sprites, the game are really good.
Really good job. I love old style games. :D

simon.parzer says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:59am

This game is great! Kind of minimalistic, but fun and challenging at the same time. The chain mechanic is interesting, it would be nice to have some kind of indicator, a bar maybe, to indicate when and why the chain is breaking.

danmcgrath says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:05am

Awesome stuff! Loved it :)

Pixel Heart says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:16am

The art style is really original!

Awpteamoose says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:23am

Gameboy forever!

Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:27am

Non-stop action just I like it!

KirbiKaka says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:28am

This game is really fun! I really like the mechanic of the eyeballs bouncing back and returning to you as ammo. The game is really smooth and plays really cleanly!

I think the visuals do obfuscate the game just a tad bit. With only 4 shades of grey/green, the enemies don't really pop out from the background (especially since they're also just squares) which can be dangerous for the player, especially when the enemies are on the smaller end of their size-change cycles. It can be really easy to miss one that's near you. Also, (and this is a a very minor thing) the font at the beginning of the game is a bit difficult to read as well.

Overall, the game runs really well and is a lot of fun to play! I think you have a pretty good scoring system as well, limiting the game by both time (so you can't just slowly rack up points by avoiding death) and with your chain system (dropping your chain is very detrimental to your score). Not to mention that the game is pretty fun to play both for those who just try to survive and blast things for 1 minute, as well as people trying to maximize their score. In that sense, the game is really balanced for a wide audience! One thing I would have liked to have, though, is a timer to tell me how far into my 1 minute I am. Preferably also counting down, because the first time I died by timer, I was confused because I thought I had accidentally run into a rogue square or something.

Great game, and I'm really impressed that this game was made under Compo restrictions!

shimage says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:29am

Amazing game! I love audio. It went well when I fire rapidly, and got 43990pt.

Zeriver says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:52am

Cool game, interesting gameplay. I like how you can just spam projectiles because you are shooting your own ship/body parts. Art style and music are really nice.
BTW: It's hard to survive 1 full minute :D

jhell says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:56am

Excellent music and effects, simple and rewarding gameplay.

Tuism says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:00am

Well well, it's fun and well polished with a solid core mechanic, lots of juice, chaining is fun (if utterly mysterious, you need to expose that mechanic a bit more)... Just... Lacks any feel of progression I guess :)

marccspro says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:01am

Very cool game ! It's a lot of fun ! Well done !

rgehan says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:06am

Really really great.
At first I thought it was going to be boring, but it's not, absolutely not.
It's really fast-paced, and you really have *this* feeling when you're chain killing dozens of rectangle.

Really liked it, good job :)

Horsed says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:21am

Man, I just love retro pixel explosions and shaking screens! Good job on that! The music is fantastic. Maybe jsut add some variety to enemies and weapons.

louis.denizet says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:21am

Awesome idea, great feeling : perfect job! =)

TeamCalcium says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:39am

Enjoyed it, good job!

petitpois says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:43am

Great fun. Gamepad support great addition. Love the music. Well done!:D

AdamW says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:13am

Simple yet really fun! Great game!

rogberth says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:14am

Nice little game. I like the style.

TwiiK says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:15am

You left out the categories I wanted to score you the highest in. :/ The graphics were really nice and so was the sound as well. I gave you an extra point on overall instead. :p

Overall solid game. I don't agree with your opinion on the theme though. :p It falls in the same category as every other game where you shoot bullets except your bullets are something else. You need to make the look of the projectiles actually affect the game mechanics in my opinion.

jeremyfa says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:21am

Very fun to play. A good retro looking game focus on the essentials ;)

Acrimiens says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:22am

So good, love the old style ^^.

albinobat says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:40pm

I love these simple yet addictive games

Embalaje says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:48pm

Great! Just Great!
I love this aesthetics and the music.
Adictive. It has teleported me directly in to the game.
Score:54340!!

jukben says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:05pm

Nice idea! Old-school and catchy!

bernardery says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:10pm

Holy CRAP that was excellent.

jakub.gemrot says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:42pm

Fun fun! Cheers!

kyyrma says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:17pm

Very solid and polished. Good use of the GB palette and resolution, although I'd appreciate the possibility of playing in a less scaled window. Nice touch with the BG-inspired icon.

Xanjos says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:49pm

This was really fun to play. I liked the retro Gameboy style and I loved experimenting with the eyeball mechanics (I was actually playing this with an arcade stick plugged into my pc for that extra retro feel).

Bensonance says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:49pm

Hey guy, awesome entry. This game has so much nostalgia, not just because of the limited use of color and pixels but also because the game play feels finely tweaked and fun. This has been one of my favorite entries.

font is slightly illegible though. Nevertheless excellent work

elpaulo says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:31pm

Sound and general feedback of your actions are really nicely made.

retr0verse says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:54pm

Cool Game! great art!

Robotic-Brain says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:35am

Good game! I liked the "force feedback", even dying was fun :)

GarethIW says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 9:18am

REALLY nice gamefeel on this one. Quite challenging, but also very rewarding when you get a chain going. Bonus innovation points for using GLBasic D:

Jezzamon says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 11:23am

Nice game! I think music made the most difference to the whole polish of the game here... good choice! (I contacted you about music by others not being allowed for the compo, so we're good there)

I kinda wish the theme impacted on the game a little more, though. The only difference as far as mechanics between a regular shmup is that you have 5 bullets at most, and have to use them a little sparingly so you don't wait for them to come back, which is the same limitation lots of shmups (especially older ones) have. Maybe if having less eyes meant you could see less, that could be cool, or something else.

That being said, it's very fun, and very well polished. Good job!

asobi tech says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 12:50pm

@Jezzamon, that's a very excellent idea bout having the less eyes you have the less you could see.
I only spent 12 hours on this entry, so it's all very minimal. I had lots of more ideas I wanted to put in. Different enemies and how the number of eyes effects you.
I used insta-death to mask I didn't have time to implement the original idea of each time you get hit you lose an eye.

sorlok says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 12:39am

Haha, really fun and also humorous! Could you make the central eye look different, so it's easier to tell where you (vs. your projectiles) are? Great game, lots of fun!

crazyrems says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 9:56am

Woah, instant action. Way funnier that it looks. that's really good for 12 hours.

Nikteddy92 says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 8:55am

Hey this is great! I really like the graphic style, so "old"! Well done! :D

Jasonsumm says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 11:14pm

Awesome! Really enjoying the style :D

Knowledge says ...
May 1, 2015 @ 3:22pm

Very fun game. I like the idea. Good game

Omiya Games says ...
May 8, 2015 @ 2:44am

Very polished game, with tight controls and predictable eye-ball movements. Had a lot of fun with it! Too bad it's only a time-attack game, but it did make me replay it a lot.

May 9, 2015 @ 12:45am

Hey, Asobi! This is Taunia. :)

Your game development is certainly getting stronger, and you've done a lot better in terms of comfort, control schemes and movement associated with gameplay. You've both simplified and complicated strategy with this one -- you really need to move your eyeball cluster around in order to do the most damage, and that in and of itself is a challenge.

The only thing you really need to work on is graphics. I know that they are not your strong point -- and that's okay! You've gotten a good foothold here with the Gameboy-styled pixel art but your text needs to be easily readable from your peripheral vision -- make that your new rule of thumb. You also need more contrast in terms of your enemies as they're flipping around, especially when you're going to have moving stars in the background.

For a shooter, that is naturally moving quite quickly for what it is, you need to keep aware of what parts of the game are moving and which are not -- the eye can only easily track so much at once, and you don't want to overwhelm players with too much movement with similarly-colored objects.

All in all, it was very comfortable to play and I felt it fit the theme very well. Something about shooting eyeballs in space was also very funny to me, so I enjoyed that too. :)

You did REALLY well this round. Do more games in this style. Perfect it. You have a knack for it.

rjhelms says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 3:23am

Great job. As one fan of authentic retro graphics to another, I really like the job you did with the authentic retro graphics.

JonathanG says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 10:01pm

Even with very simple graphics, you've made something which feels great to play! My high score is 57,060 ;)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]