Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Monster Detective Agency

by OddballDave - Jam Entry

** IMPOTANT: If the game is running slow press 'q' to cycle through the quality settings

There are four murderers on the loose in Monster City. To track them down you must use the best weapon at your disposal, your powers of deduction. But that's not all! Organising these murders is the mysterious Mr Big, and it's your job to take him down too.

INSTRUCTIONS
WASD - Move
MOUSE - Look around
Left Mouse Button - Arrest suspect
To question monsters approach them.
Q - Cycles through the quality settings. Use this if the game runs slow for you.

WHAT'S MISSING
I ran out of time so didn't get to add sound effects. I also wanted more unique monsters for various set pieces. I also wanted to add a lot more detail, especially in the market and homes.

CREDITS
Everything - David Williamson

TOOLS
Unity
ProBuilder
ProGrids
FireAlpaca

SOURCES
Pixar128 Library - Pixar CC-BY-NC
GHOST I - Nine Inch Nails CC-NC-SA

INSPIRATIONS
Bernband - For anyone who has played Bernband this inspiration is probably clear. For those that haven't played it go play it, it's awesome.
Eye of the Beholder, Dungeon Master - Or real any of those early dungeon crawlers.

CHANGE LOG
Fixed a bug that meant murders sometimes didn't appear. Oops!
Added a quality setting so hopefully people on slower machines can play too.
Optimised it as much as I can. Hopefully it'll run comfortably on the lowest quality setting for most people now.

Enjoy!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness72%
#40Mood(Jam)4.05
#199Audio(Jam)3.46
#215Overall(Jam)3.59
#300Innovation(Jam)3.41
#337Graphics(Jam)3.66
#371Humor(Jam)3.16
#509Fun(Jam)3.07
#834Theme(Jam)2.85

Comments

Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:35am

Was a fun concept. I eventually felt like it was more like finding a needle in a haystack though. That being said though I did still have fun with it and thought it was a good game. Bigger complaints were I didn't really understand the controls right away and jailed everyone I saw, and then I didn't see the point in a jump.

OddballDave says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:53am

Thanks. I totally agree with all those points. The game mechanics are meant to be just an excuse to explore an interesting space. Given more time I'd have put in a lot more interesting interactions and events. The jump is need to find some of the secrets.

Bananaft says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:42am

Well, that's a gem! You sure hit me right in the mood.

Minor complains: It sometimes launches at 4x3, and evidence list is not entirely visible in that aspect ratio. And I wish fps to be higher. Will try on better machine later.

Keep up, great work!

Todd Luke says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:47pm

i dig the atmosphere and vertical level design. my fps was taking a hit and the mouse wasn't locking to the screen, so it was kind of difficult to navigate. very similar in concept to a jam game i made a while ago that i'm now expanding on, called 24 Killers

TomBoogaart says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:53pm

runs very slow on my laptop :- (

OddballDave says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:38am

The FPS issue is due to me running out of time before I could optimise things. I'll get round to fixing that in the next few days. I think I can do that within the rules.

@Tom & Todd - Bernband was a big inspiration for this game, and I had 24 Killers in mind whilst making this too. So thanks for playing guys. :)

DarkwindMedia says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:52pm

A fun concept, but I have difficulty to understand the controls

kyyrma says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:55pm

Finding the perp ended up being too difficult for me, but I really enjoyed the mood and ambience. It did feel a bit like an imitation of Bernband, but that isn't at all a bad thing.

Also the performance seems to be pretty bad like you mentioned. The second mode (Hitting Q twice) seems to work best, and I'm saying this on a pretty beefy PC.

Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:52pm

Aww, I like the idea, the monster thing sounds original...but it's really difficult to navigate and understand the controls X). Too bad because it's an interesting game!

nuprahtor says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:08pm

"I'm sorry, T.J. I accidentally jailed you a couple of times and haven't even realise it"
I can see this as a big project. For such short amount of time this is a really fascinating prototype. The graphics and the audio are just great.

Chris Olsen says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 9:03am

The fps made things a bit difficult to get around and the cursor kept drifting out of the window space but I did dig the ominous mood and the music.

xplicitone says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 9:14pm

Well done! Love the graphics and audio. Concept was great and so was the mood!

trappytrap92 says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 9:24pm

Nice concept, I like the detective style you've got here. I don't see a problem in the fps but maybe if you remove like 1000k mobs the game should be less frustrating and you should have more fps instead. I really like the graphics, nice work

TheMeorch says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 9:26pm

Beautiful music, and a really cool art style! The main mechanic is really neat and unique.

Having SO many characters in the game ends up hurting it in 2 ways, I think. (1) They very quickly all start "having no clue", since there are so many more characters than clues to get. (2) Finding the murderer eventually becomes a bit of a tedious search.

That said, with some tweaks to the clue-finding and character placement, this could be even more enjoyable than it already is. I hope you'll continue to work on it, thanks for sharing it!

kunzbe says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 9:54pm

Really an atmospheric entry. The beautiful music and the alternative graphical style set a good mood.
The gameplay itself wasn't really interesting after a while.

ChronusZ says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 4:58pm

Great attention to detail with the level design, but I would have liked more "logical" placement of the criminals. I was thinking to myself that they had to be hiding in the most crowded spot, the bar. But then they weren't (I think...) :-(

Apr 25, 2015 @ 6:42pm

Interesting little game. I enjoyed hunting down the first suspect, but the basic nature of crossing off identifying features doesn't lead itself to much replay value. Still, I did enjoy myself.

funisfun8 says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 7:13pm

Not bad! Couldn't find Mr. Big so I just arrested T.J. :P I feel like the game world might have been a bit too big for the mechanics. It also would've been nice if gathering information involved a bit more than walk up and walk away. Overall though, good experience, good mood, and a solid game.

Mase says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 10:43pm

The environment is wonderful. I love the all the superfluous detail.
The detective work does get boring after the first arrest; I found everything except the secret passage before then.
I arrested Mr. Big... I suppose that's the end?

Great work.

Nanolotl says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 12:09pm

What a great game. Cool idea and executed well with a really strong atmosphere. I really enjoyed wondering around this world you made. Well done.

phi6 says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 5:26pm

This is ridiculous, one second I thought I had questioned everyone, step into a room and boom about 200 more mobs to search through! Haha :P

Love the graphics and atmosphere, pretty creepy stuff. The level was much bigger than I first imagined. I think I got the first perp - is there anything that tells you you were successful?

Either way really enjoyed this mate! Top marks from me :)

Apr 27, 2015 @ 11:04pm

Liked all the little details like the rats and little stuff in the corners, was determined to solve the case... And i did

igoramendola says ...
May 2, 2015 @ 4:56pm

Yeah! Our entries have a similar concept and was a pleasant surprise for me too. I enjoyed playing yours :)) I've finished the both versions, Jam and Post-Jam. Your entry has some things that I wanted to do, but I hadn't enough time hehehe (like different rooms). I liked your entry, it has good details. Very nice job! :D

Crowbeak says ...
May 7, 2015 @ 10:23am

It's a good idea... but there were waaaaaaaaaaay too many monsters and when I saw how many more places there were to search on the second murder I just closed the game.

dyfer says ...
May 9, 2015 @ 12:20am

like the atmosphere

Xanjos says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 6:47pm

Interesting concept (I think you should try and port this as a VR game) but there's probably too many monsters to profile and I wish there was a way of knowing if you got the right suspect (like an audio cue of some sort).

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]