Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Space Worder

by ponk - Jam Entry

[description]
Only letters can save us from papers.
[/description]

[reference]
Space Harrier
[/reference]

[sorry]
I started when the cooldown was at 10 hours before submission.
I did not work enough on this project.
I dit submit post dead-line. (is that normal that I could do it?)
[/sorry]

[warning]
Unfinished content.
There is no game ending.
There is no score.
There is no nothing but mecanics and effects.
[/warning]

[hope]
I will finish this project.
[/hope]

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2240Coolness20%

Comments

frondeus says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:08pm

Not so bad but sadly unfinished

Mekuri says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:55pm

You should've finished it. A bit of sound and some score and you might have had an addictive game :P Right now it just feels.. weird :P

ponk says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:55pm

Hi! Thanks!
Since This is not really a game, I removed rating checkboxes.
I won't be able to develop the game until at least a week.
So I don't want you to rate an unfinished game.
Sorry if I messed with the rating system.
It's okay if this entry get kicked by admin.

Apr 24, 2015 @ 8:29pm

the idea with the "fake" 3d is nicely done!
Score and somewhat more feedback when something is hit and this could be a fun little game.

snapman_GT says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 11:01pm

I really do like the speed lines effect. Very curious how it chooses what color to sample and draw with. I hope you finish it someday! :-)

Nidar says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 6:24pm

I LOVE IT

May 2, 2015 @ 10:09am

Nice game, reminds me of the old space harrier game in style. Liked the art and just wish it was more finished.

TeamFlare says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 11:48am

Please finish that, I loved space harrier :)

May 3, 2015 @ 12:40pm

I like how the letters stick to the hit objects :)
Also, those "speed lines" look quite convincing!

blubberquark says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 1:34pm

Your Hand drawn graphics are a nice break from all the 3d and pixel art

gnx says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 2:04pm

Engine is not bad :)

kunzbe says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 2:09pm

even with only ten hours you worked on, it looks interesting.

PinkIndian says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 3:44pm

Great start, just lacks the purpose/goal. But I am glad you posted this anyway. I enjoyed it.

Exeneva says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 7:52am

So sorry that you weren't able to finish! The simulated 3D is actually well-captured though!

MrShoestore says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 1:15pm

its a nifty idea. hope you keep working on it

binarycoder says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 11:55pm

Art was good!

May 7, 2015 @ 3:56am

The visuals are really cool

myachin says ...
May 7, 2015 @ 4:06am

make post-compo version!

yuigoto says ...
May 7, 2015 @ 5:29am

Nice idea and nice work! "You should have finished it", as people said. :P

Hope you keep working and improving on this idea. :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]