Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Gravity

by Pinpickle - Compo Entry

-- If you are having any trouble with clicking or getting the mouse to move, try the "no overlay link". --
-- Working on an Android build but technology of choice (OpenFL) is not behaving --

You are controlling very precise reactions with your gravity robot. Move the mouse and hold down click to manipulate gravity and pull particles towards it.

I would have liked to include an interactive tutorial, but a little bit of explanation will have to do.

The player is the thing in the middle

You want to collect green circles
Purple squares want to go in the square holes
Red triangles want to be smashed together

Smashing a red triangle with anything other than another one (including the robot) is bad
Smashing purple squares together is bad
Letting anything fall off the screen, or into one of the holes (that isn't a square) is bad

Press M to mute

Changelog: Fixed font embedding

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness80%
#184Audio3.39
#321Mood3.21
#344Innovation3.41
#416Graphics3.26
#469Overall3.26
#728Fun2.85
#900Theme2.82

Comments

Os_Reboot says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:20am

Fun challenge, takes practice. Sound effects are awesome xD

madhoe says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:21am

Pretty interesting concept. I like how precise my actions are when playing! Yeah, I wish it was easier to understand. I also like the minimalism.

Possible suggestion: To support the linking of the shapes more, you can make use of color highlighting: Make the larger square holes have purple outlines, make the main thing in the center have a green outline.

Otherwise: A simple way to teach the player is to just show arrows pointing things.

Also, I wish you had an outline around the radius of the main thing to show where you can move around -- The first time I played it, I didn't realize there was a constrained mouse movement, and after a bit, it was in the bottom right, and I thought it was a bug where my mouse was stuck.

Anyways, had fun with it!

tininsteelian says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:23am

Really fun, this is my favorite game so far! The minimalistic graphics work really well for this game.

Tselmek says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:48pm

Very nice concept, it is very challenging to both win the game or get used to the controls. It is true that a little tutorial would have been nice but I can't blame you knowing the time restrictions.

Good luck!

dyfer says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:49am

Wow Graphic and Game design are super clean. Rules are not obvious but super fun after I got it !

Ossi says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:50am

Great sound effects, it really sets the atmosphere. It took a while to get use to how the gravity works but it's a really cool idea. Great use of the theme, well done!

esayitch says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:55am

Requires a lot of skill (accuracy and speed). Pretty challenging, but very cool as well. SFX were great, and the graphics were not out of place and were very coherent. Liked it!

Good luck :)

seraphki says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:13am

I really love this entry =D
I've played it longer than any of the other games so far. Only managed 370, and have no idea if that's any good. But I'm going to pretend it is.

Only complaint is that the cursor seemed to stick to things. I'm not sure if that's part of the design - I noticed that the cursor could only go so far away from the player which I makes sense as design, but if the cursor has an intentional gravity or stickiness to it, I don't think its necessary.

Maybe my mouse just blows.

pixzleone says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:33am

Couldn´t find anything to interact with.Very nice audio though!

bradur says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:37am

Very stylistic. Quite impossible at first, but once you learn the mechanics it it gets easier.

phi says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:29am

Very interesting mechanics! A little bit confusing at the beginning, but it becomes more and more clear when playing. The minimalistic graphics and audio are highly effective and create a great mood. Awesome stuff!

Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:31am

very cool concept, but its a little hard to move. the sound and visuals are very nice together

ElectroYak says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:32am

Good game. It takes a little time to get used to but once you have figured that out it starts to get fun

gillyadrien says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:33am

Very challenging, but extremely fun. Awesome work, definitely a great entry!

PaperBlurt says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:31pm

Design wise it's soo good looking.
Fun gameplay too.

Matt Tuttle says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:12am

Love the audio effects! The gameplay was simple yet challenging.

I agree with madhoe that color highlighting would help. It may also help to present each shape one at a time. Also, I was expecting at some point the circles would increase my "health" in the game since they merged with the player object.

LukeZaz says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:52am

Fun game. Definitely could use an in-game tutorial as you mentioned, but once I figured it out it was great.

shcromlet says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:58pm

Pretty difficult! Took me a while to get the controls down, but I liked the minimalist style.

francoisvn says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:53pm

Interesting idea. I think the core design issue is that it kinda starts easy and then gets progressively more difficult if you make any mistakes, i.e. a downwards spiral. Maybe if moving around was more fun and you had to from the start it would be better. I'd like to see where you take this :)

MiniBobbo says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 2:01am

I agree with the previous comments that this game has a high learning curve, but once you get the hang of it it is a fun little game. I love the SFX and the mood you conveyed.

Foxarya says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 12:03pm

Is hard to get the controls but i like it

Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:42pm

Really fun, challenging game. Took me a while to learn what to do with each shape but once I did I enjoyed it.

Bendev says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 5:29am

Great atmosphere with the graphics and the sound effects.
I don't think tutorials are necessary, just matching colors on the shapes and an outline around the player to show the range of the cursor.

6DownStudios says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 7:24am

This is excellent! Innovative and intuitive gameplay, simple but elegant artwork and superb sound design. Hard to get the hand of but quite fun once you do. Bravo!

lucidsheep says ...
May 1, 2015 @ 10:59pm

awesome concept! would love to see a more gradual progression and teaching

MrShoestore says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 10:42pm

challenging, but super clever, and the atmosphere is great.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]