Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Orbital Ion Cannon versus Conservation Of Charge

by PTSnoop - Compo Entry

The Orbital Ion Cannon. Able to fire tightly-collimated proton beams at any point on the Earth's surface. Perfect for all your giant-death-ray-related needs!

Or at least, that was how they pitched it to the budget committee. Sadly none of the engineers stopped to think, if the Ion Cannon is constantly creating positive ions and firing them at high speed towards the Earth's surface - where's all the negative charge supposed to go?

So now, as the AI in control of the newly-launched Orbital Ion Cannon, it's your job to deal with all those pesky charged particles. Make sure the beam stream keeps firing - and make sure those ions don't become unionised.

---

Controls: Mouse. Hold the mouse button down to charge it up, release to push particles around.
Once the countdown counts down, the cannon will fire and only if there is a hydrogen ion, with no electrons, in the firing chamber (the rectangle at the bottom). Three successive failed shots = game over. Good luck!

---

This game was made in 24 hours, at the Manchester MadLab meetup.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#99Innovation3.88
#416Theme3.50
#512Overall3.21
#580Fun3.00
#640Graphics2.92
#695Mood2.75
#748Humor2.35
#1601Coolness42%

Comments

Secret_Tunnel says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:58pm

Pretty neat little physics game! The mechanics still seem really rough and early, but I bet if you experimented with them more you could find something really cool!

Jadernak says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:04pm

The idea is funny and I thought it smart as well. The gameplay was not my cup of tea, a worse version of pinball.

benjih says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:08pm

A fantastic concept done well, especially considering only half the time was allowed. Great mechanic that is fun to play and rewards the player the harder it gets.

The colouring of H+ and e- throw me off a little and I initially suspected the red ones to be bad.

Awpteamoose says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:10pm

Should be nice to play on mobiles.

nassi says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:15pm

Almost got to 8 but one damn electron sneaked into the firing chamber at the last second. Didn't manage to ventilate the extra supply fast enough so it always got quite packed after 6 or so shots.

Neat little game and a cool unconventional weapon.

Reccy says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:37pm

Cool idea, but the gameplay was pretty frustrating. There is no real skill, it's kinda down to luck. The graphics and the game are both well polished though.

Bastienre4 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:41pm

Ha, I really like the idea! I made a few hydride ions (H-) along the way :3

remiv says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:42pm

A great idea, but control are difficults.

Techblogogy says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 1:34pm

Nice game, idea is really good.

Tortoise says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 8:51pm

I was doubtful reading the description at first but playing it turned my thoughts around. I liked the concept with having to separate to make ions and it was fun juggling them around until I could blast the -e out the top. too bad there was no audio. No perceived sound in space right? Didn't really see the theme though.

FeniX says ...
May 2, 2015 @ 12:24pm

Nice idea. It would be much cooler with some sound effects.

frnknstn says ...
May 9, 2015 @ 12:43pm

This game is surprisingly compelling. With sound it would be amazing, but I made do by making "ba-CHOOOW" noises with my mouth while playing.

Smirnov48 says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 8:59am

Great and difficult game!

John Vanis says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 9:59am

Nice game but control...

uber says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 10:46am

An interesting and fun idea, even if occasionally it does get a little bit frustrating if you're running low on luck.

JonathanG says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 12:44pm

This is pretty fun but it is very luck-based, it's really hard to get them bouncing where you want them. I guess all my ions joined the trade union (became unionised)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]